We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food Service Not the Best” 4 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Tampa Bay

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Tampa Bay to your Saves list
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Tampa Bay
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3050 N Rocky Point Dr W, Tampa, FL 33607   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Cruise Transportation
Ranked #41 of 159 Hotels in Tampa
Ft Lauderdale, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Food Service Not the Best”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

The food on site is not the best. There are only three restaurants with 5 minute proximity.Otherwise one had to travel 15-20 minutes. I highly recommend you bring food or go grocery chopping prior to getting to the hotel. Drinks are watered down,

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chellie M, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Tampa Bay, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Good Day Michelle P,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us recently and for providing your comments regarding your stay with us. Based on your overall rating, it seems that for the most part you enjoyed your stay, but we also recognize that we have some opportunity for improvement in the restaurant. We appreciate your evaluation, and we will be sure to review your feedback with our team so that we may continue to make improvements. Thank you again, and we hope to see you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Chellie M.
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

598 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    232
    205
    96
    39
    26
See reviews for
178
149
30
176
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Fl, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

My wife had surgery Wednesday and she had a hard time relaxing because of the kids that stayed... they where loud, out of control, constantly running up and down the halls, playing with the elevators, the last night we stayed they pounded on our door and rang the door bell then ran and hid down the hall way, I confronted them and called the front desk on them. Although we new there was a soccer or hockey game going on that's no excuse for how they were acting, the parents should have been informed and they should have had more control of there kids. Other than that this was a nice place, we hope the next time we stay we don't have this problem again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chellie M, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Tampa Bay, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear John L,

Thank you for providing your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. I am sorry to hear that some of the kids staying with us were bothersome. We aim to preserve the quiet enjoyment of all of our guests' stays, and I am terribly sorry this is what you experienced. This is certainly something we will review with our operations team so we can address this concern more expeditiously in the future. I am happy, however, that you enjoyed the property for the most part, and thank you for giving us another opportunity to show we care. Thank you again for your time and consideration.

Sincerely,

Chellie M.
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St James, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

I loved this hotel. The staff are warm and friendly. The shuttle driver is courteous and safe. The food is fresh and arrives in a matter of minutes. Housekeeping staff is warm and professional. The Gym is rather small (ellipticals, treadmills, free weights) but everything is brand new. Overall, my stay was great made so by the warm, friendly staff and the comfort. Everything a hotel should be for the price.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chellie M, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Tampa Bay, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Good Day Michael K,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your recent visit to the Tampa Bay area. We sincerely appreciate that you have taken the time to share your experience, and we are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. It sounds like from beginning to end your stay was exceptional, and that is exactly what we aim to provide for all of our guests. Thank you again for your time and consideration, and we look foward to seeing you again in the near future. Have a wonderful day.

Kindly,

Chellie M
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

It is a business hotel NOT a pleasure hotel. It was renovated recently. It is in a wonderful location on the 60 highway, across from Clearwater. Beautiful views from the rooms and pool. The restaurant was redone and provides full breakfast buffet.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chellie M, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Tampa Bay, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Good Morning Judith S,

Thank you for providing your feedback regarding your stay with us. We are delighted that you found our hotel to be to your satisfaction and that you were able to experience some of the beautiful views from our pool area. We are glad that you enjoyed our buffet as well, which we do offer available for purchase everyday as well as a la carte menu items. We look forward to your future stays with us, and again, we thank you for your positive comments. Have a wonderful day.

Kindly,

Chellie M.
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

The rooms are very spacious & appeared to be recently updated. The hotel is also in a great location-beautiful views!
The rooms generally appeared clean, but for example, we needed to use the sofa bed & the sheets had not been changed from the previous guests (kinda gross...). An employee brought us clean sheets once we complained.
The room was spacious but not truly a separate living area/bedroom - the "bedroom" is separated by flimsy accordion doors (no privacy between rooms).
There are only a few outlets & they are located in odd spots (behind the bed, behind the tv, behind an end table.) With everyone traveling with so many electronics, this became an issue. We mentioned it to the front desk & we received an "oh really?" response.
The pool is in an absolutely beautiful location, right on the water, there was trash (water bottles, gum packages) & debris in the pool. There was also dirty socks laying by the pool for at least 2 days. Again, we complained & the pool was cleaned-the socks remained!
For a good deal, we would stay here again, but wouldn't be bragging about it to our friends/family. I would label it as an acceptable but definitely not outstanding hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chellie M, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Tampa Bay, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Good Day Epowers8727,

We would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us during your recent visit to the Tampa Bay area. We also sincerely appreciate your detailed evaluation and review of your stay with us. We are glad that for the most part you enjoyed your stay. However, we will certainly address the items you mentioned so we can be at the top of your list for the future. We are constantly monitoring our performance, so it is very valuable to us that you have shared this information. We hope to see you in the near future, and thank you again for your time and consideration.

Sincerely,

Chellie M
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Beautiful Hotel, Couldn't ask for anymore.. The Location on a water way was great laying by the pool and watching the boats go by.. The room was a suite and décor was lovely...Can't wait to go back and will....Check-in well now that's a real treat because that's just what you get two very tasty cho-chip cookies to die for......

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chellie M, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Tampa Bay, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
Good Day 675gracer,

Thank you for your review of your stay with us. It sounds like you a had a wonderful time, and we are happy to learn that you will be staying with us again. We do consider our property to be a little oasis, very relaxing and comfortable, so we are glad you had the opportunity to see and experience that. Thank you again for sharing your thoughts and comments, and we will see you again soon. Enjoy your day!

Kindly,

Chellie McCardle
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, FL, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Overall my stay was very good. Location was exactly what I needed, near to where I was visiting, while at the same time on the water overlooking the bay. The hotel appears to be undergoing recent renovations, so I will be gentle on my commentary, but the room I was in is ready for some new furnishings (headboard and sofa cushion zipper are ready for some needed TLC in my room). Hopefully the rollout of fresh 'n new happens quickly. NOTE: I had two rooms, and there was nothing to comment negatively about in the 2nd room ... it was excellent. With that in mind, I averaged out my checked bubbles. Face it, housekeeping is a tough business, but whoever was looking over my room was not on their best game before I checked in. After a few friendly words with front desk, they made things better - and that's what counts to me, how people address issues. We live in an imperfect world, and it's how people react to imperfect situations which separates the good from the bad. Overall, they did good. I'll be back.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chellie M, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Tampa Bay, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
Good Afternoon Douglas H,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us recently, and for providing your honest evaluation of your stay. It is important that we are monitoring all aspects of a guest's stay, so thank you for pointing out those few items that needed to be taken care of. As you noted, sometimes things will happen, but it is how we respond that sets us apart from others. We are very proud that our service is what made your stay a great one, and we will be sure to address those other items that you mentioned. Thank you for your time and consideration, and we appreciate that you will be giving us another opportunity to wow you again in the future. Enjoy this beautiful weekend!

Sincerely,

Chellie McCardle
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Tampa Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Tampa Bay

Address: 3050 N Rocky Point Dr W, Tampa, FL 33607
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#33 Business Hotel in Tampa
#37 Family Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Tampa Bay 3.5*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Doubletree Guest Suites Tampa Bay is a full-service, all-suite, waterfront property. All of our oversized suites consist of a bedroom area with separate living room with sofa sleeper - all with spectacular views! As the perfect location for leisure and business travelers, we offer an outdoor heated pool overlooking Old Tampa Bay, On-Site Health Club, Galerie Restaurant & Lounge serving breakfast, lunch, and dinner and close to shopping, dining, and area attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hilton Hotels, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Tampa Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Suites By Hilton Tampa Bay Hotel Tampa
Doubletree Hotel Tampa Bay
Doubletree Tampa
Doubletree Guest Suite Tampa Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Tampa Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.