We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible views; tired, noisy location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Tampa Bay

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Tampa Bay to your Saves list
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Tampa Bay
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3050 N Rocky Point Dr W, Tampa, FL 33607   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Tailgate Package
Ranked #34 of 160 Hotels in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Incredible views; tired, noisy location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Overall, we were happy with the hotel. The location was fantastic (just minutes away from Tampa airport) and our stay included breakfast vouchers for each morning (outstanding omelette station on the weekends!). The suite was a great size, with beautiful views overlooking the water, and the beds were mostly comfortable.

I'll begin the issues from inside the room and work out. The main bedroom area isn't a traditional room with a closing door. There are, instead, two large bi-fold doors that close to separate the sleeping area off from the living area. I imagine for most couples this wouldn't be an issue, but traveling with a three-year-old and a two-year-old meant a lot aggravation with keeping curious boys out of our bed (as well as waking us at 5 AM with their giggling and horse-play). The bi-fold doors have slats, so there won't really be privacy between the two areas.

Another issue was with the front desk. The girl that checked us in was more apathetic than rude, but after a long day, it would be nice to be greeted with at least a little cheer. What really irritated me was after checking in I ended up speaking to the same girl who checked us in and I clearly interrupted her while she was checking her phone under the counter. I needed to find the nearest mall. After halfheartedly trying to hide her phone, she simply handed me two pieces of paper with directions to the two nearest malls. Not being familiar with the area, I asked her which was closer and easiest to drive to. With an incredulous look on her face, she simply stated the directions to me exactly as they were printed. Now, this wasn't necessarily an extraordinarily rude interaction, but, again, I was facing what seemed to be attitude from a front-desk employee.

The last issue is with the hotel itself. It feels dated, worn, and tired. The hallways on the upper floors didn't have air conditioning, which meant a long walks down heavy, stale air-filled hallways during the brutally hot month of August, Most of the common areas of the hotel are beat up and old. Noise from the live music at the restaurants across the street will creep into the room at night if you're trying to sleep.

Now, it might seem I have railed on this hotel and didn't find it enjoyable at all. However, I am going to overlook the front desk employee, as everyone else on the staff more than made up for this one girl's attitude. The room was clean and the views outstanding. I also found the government employee rate of $80/night to be a great bargain (again, the rate included not only a suite, but made-to-order breakfast for the 4 of us each morning). Weighing the pros and cons, I'm confident rating this hotel 4/5 stars. I would consider staying here again, but only if I can get the same great rate again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
8137398812, General Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Tampa Bay, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Dear DutchOvenDelight,

Your feedback is so important to what we do each day! Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your recent visit with us. The team was excited to learn that you enjoyed your overall visit including the views. We will continue to work on the areas of opportunity that you mentioned so that future stays will be even better. I am happy to report that we have embarked on a refresh that we touch our public space as well as the guest suites.

Thank you again for your loyalty and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best regards.

Ben Howell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

709 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    287
    238
    112
    43
    29
See reviews for
213
176
40
200
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palm Coast, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We received warm cookies and a warm welcome. The pillows and the bed were very comfortable. We were on the sixth floor and the elevator was reasonably quick. We would definitely stay here again. This is the best value for the money.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
8137398812, General Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Tampa Bay, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Dear Bonnie S,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and taking the time to post a review! The team was excited to know that you enjoyed your visit. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Best regards,

Ben Howell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jeffsuch
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Very nice hotel. Stayed here on several occasions while in the Tampa area on business. The rooms are neat and clean and the beds are very comfortable. Convienient to many shops and restaurants as well as the airport. I will definately stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
8137398812, General Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Tampa Bay, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Dear JeffSuch,

Thank you so much for posting a review regarding your recent visit with us. We appreciate your loyalty to our hotel and look forward to seeing you again soon!

Best regards,

Ben Howell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

This hotel was undergoing renovations during my stay. This did not cause much inconvenience. The hotel is older but seemed well maintained. The room was very quiet with a great view of the north end of Tampa Bay facing west. Great sunset views over the water. The hotel is somewhat isolated. No close by convenience stores or larger shopping. No fast food restaurants close by.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
8137398812, General Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Tampa Bay, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Member,

Your feedback is so important to what we do each day! Thank you for your recent visit with us and taking the time to post a review. I am happy to report that the painting of our building is nearly complete as well as the enhancements that we are making to our arrival area. The team was happy to learn that you enjoyed the beautiful views from the hotel that we are so fortunate to have. Upon your next visit please let us know and we will be happy to arrange complimentary transportation with-in a three mile radius to one of the two major shopping malls and restaurant districts in the nearby International Mall or Westshore Area.

Thank you again for staying with us and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

Ben Howell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, NY
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

As the planner for a Board of Directors meeting for my nonprofit, I selected the Doubletree Suites Tampa Bay primarily because their proposed room rate was almost 30% less than the competition in their local area and included living room/bedroom suites instead of the usual rooms. The property did not disappoint--the staff was extremely accommodating, including helping to fix a few errors that yours truly made on the F&B orders. The property is pleasant, only a few minutes from the Tampa airport and provides free shuttles to/from the airport and to surrounding attractions. A great business value and probably for personal travel as well.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
8137398812, General Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Tampa Bay, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Dear GaryCGreen,

The team was thrilled to know that your meeting was a success! Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review. We appreciate your loyalty and look forward to your next visit with us.

Best regards,

Ben Howell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

This place is great! The staff was friendly, it was clean and peaceful. You are able to see fish and lots of wild life in the water near by. The pool is so nice to relax by. Carlos at the front desk is very helpful. Jimmy the bartender was a lot of fun to have a drink at night. Manny the shuttle driver is very friendly and right on time.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
8137398812, General Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Tampa Bay, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Dear Kerry D.

Thank you for taking the time to post a review! I will be sure to pass along your kind words to the team. We appreciate your loyalty and look forward to your next visit.

Best regards,

Ben Howell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethel Park, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
29 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Stayed here for a week in July. The hotel is beautiful and the front desk personnel amazing. Fresh chocolate chip cookies daily at front desk got hooked on them. The bartenders are great. The pool is huge and super nice. If you are lucky you will see the dolphins swimming by they are always out showing off, we actually got splashed by them while we were standing along the wall. The kitchen waiters are the best. This place has great BBQ wings. We are heading back in November because we like it so much. Maids clean everything and change everything. Place is A+++++

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
8137398812, General Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Tampa Bay, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Dear pickypercy,

We appreciate you taking the time to post a review! The team is excited to know that you enjoyed your last visit with us and that you will be returning in November.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

Ben Howell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
0.3 mi away
Westin Tampa Bay
Westin Tampa Bay
#43 of 160 in Tampa
4.0 of 5 stars 491 reviews
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Bay Harbor Hotel
2.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Airport Westshore
7.3 mi away
Westin Tampa Harbour Island
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Tampa / Rocky Point - Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Tampa Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Tampa Bay

Address: 3050 N Rocky Point Dr W, Tampa, FL 33607
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#25 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#31 Business Hotel in Tampa
#37 Family Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Tampa Bay 3.5*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Doubletree Guest Suites Tampa Bay is a full-service, all-suite, waterfront property. All of our oversized suites consist of a bedroom area with separate living room with sofa sleeper - all with spectacular views! As the perfect location for leisure and business travelers, we offer an outdoor heated pool overlooking Old Tampa Bay, On-Site Health Club, Galerie Restaurant & Lounge serving breakfast, lunch, and dinner and close to shopping, dining, and area attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com and getaroom.com so you can book your DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Tampa Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Suites By Hilton Tampa Bay Hotel Tampa
Doubletree Hotel Tampa Bay
Doubletree Tampa
Doubletree Guest Suite Tampa Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Tampa Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.