We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would recommend to anyone” 4 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Tampa Bay

Save Saved
You added DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Tampa Bay to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Tampa Bay
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3050 N Rocky Point Dr W, Tampa, FL 33607   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Cruise Transportation
Ranked #45 of 159 Hotels in Tampa
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Would recommend to anyone”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Stayed 5 nights recently - all suite hotel - near Tampa Airport and also Laser Surgery Institute
Great staff - very friendly and always welcoming. Inquiring what they can do for you
Front Desk had supply of ice packs for surgery patients - awesome!!
Very clean and maid service very prompt in the morning. Beautiful view of the Bay - suggestion: ask for room with a view over the Bay - other side of the hotel can be noisy with traffic.

Room Tip: Ask for suite overlooking pool and the Bay - can be noisy on the other side
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
8137398812, General Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Tampa Bay, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thank you for the feedback on your stay with us. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your visit and experienced our excellent customer service. We do take pride in the product we provide to our guest and in turn are proud of our great service scores. I hope next time you are in Tampa, you will stay with us again.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

475 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    162
    70
    35
    24
See reviews for
145
119
23
136
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boynton Beach, Florida, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

The hotel is in a nice location, very nice views. The rooms are large and well furnished, unfortunately the furniture was all smeared with something I assume housekeeping uses, so it was kinda dirty looking & gross. The smears were on EVERYTHING in the room, esp the TV screens which appear to have been ruined by whatever was used to clean the room. It was strange. Details esp in the bathroom need attention/updating. The caulk around bathroom counter & bathtub looked like it was done by a 6 year old - what a mess. I dropped something & it went behind the toilet - yeah I should have said forget it my loss - I got my item & wish I had never looked back there. The message light on the phone was blinking when I got into the room, I tried hitting the message button -from both phones- but it did nothing so the light blinked all night. All in All this hotel was just fine for my overnight trip and was at a good price.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
8137398812, General Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Tampa Bay, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thank you for the feedback on your stay with us. I sincerely apologize for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay. I have alerted our housekeeping and maintenance teams to insure these issues are fixed and do not occur in the future. I hope next time you are in Tampa, you will give us another opportunity.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

This hotel was extremely clean and even smelled clean! The bed was the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in and the size of the room was perfect! The staff was superb and extremely helpful with providing us with different ideas of things to do in the area. This hotel is close to a lot of attractions. The breakfast was amazing and had a diverse variety of items to eat. I would definitely recommend this place to family and friends and I will stay at this hotel again...for sure!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
8137398812, General Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Tampa Bay, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thank you for the feedback on your stay with us. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your visit. We done take great pride in the product we provide to our guests and in turn are proud of our great service scores. We look forward to seeing you again next time you are in Tampa.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We arrived early at the hotel (2pm), knowing that check-in wasn’t until 3pm, however as we were in the area we thought we would try and see if we could check in early. We were greeted by a lovely receptionist who explained that only one of the rooms was ready but we could access this room early. This was great as it enabled us to drop our luggage off and get changed ready for the rest of the day. When we arrived later on, our final room was ready and we were handed over the keys. With nothing mentioned, it was to our surprise to find that the outside space to our suite was being used as storage for the outside painting work that was going on. We then read a letter which asked us to keep our curtains closed from 8am, all day! Due to the length of our stay we were not inconvenienced too much by this however we therefore did not use the outdoor space and also felt that it would have been nice to have been informed of this issue before entering the room. Another issue was that the kitchenette’s cold tape did not work and therefore only hot water could be used which was not helpful when a drink of water was wanted.
Despite these issues my experience was recovered by the welcoming staff that we had the pleasure to meet and also the added little touches such as cookies when you check-in, free wifi and complimentary coffee in the morning. Our friend’s room was faultless and overlooked the water which allowed us to spot dolphins.

Room Tip: Check for any construction work, and ask for view of water as you can spot the dolphins
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
8137398812, General Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Tampa Bay, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
I'm so sorry to hear that your experience was not up to what you expected. Thank you for alerting us to the maintenance issues so we can quickly resolve them and ensure future guests' comfort. We value your business and hope we'll have the opportunity to serve you again.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
silver springs, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

The hotel is in a nice location. The rooms are large and well furnished. If a problem is encountered, it is taken care of promptly. There is a nice view of the bay and dolphins are always swimming very close by. The pool area is very nice.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
8137398812, General Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Tampa Bay, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thank you for the feedback of your stay with us. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your visit. w We look forward to your next stay with us.

Kind regard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

I love staying at this Hotel. I have probably stayed there over 20 times because I work in the Rocky Point area a few times a year. Great views of the Bay. There is one wing of the hotel that if you stay on the wrong side you get a bad view, but just ask and they will change it for you. All rooms have a living room area, bar and work area as well as a separate bedroom. I only had one bad experience when they ran out of hot water before I had to go to work, I explained it to the manager and he deducted that days charge.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
8137398812, General Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Tampa Bay, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Thank you for the feedback on your stay with us. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your visit with us. I hope next time you are in Tampa, you will stay with us again.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coronado, California, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

At 2:00 a.m. an alarm went off telling everyone to exit the building. All of the guests exited and after a few minutes the alarm went off. The staff was no where to be seen. There was no one to confirm that it was a false alarm. Finally, after about 20 minutes one staff member did confirm that it was o.k. to return to our rooms. No apology. No explanation. Until then everything was fine. The suite was large even if a little out dated.

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
8137398812, General Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Tampa Bay, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
The safety of our guests is always a high concern and while we're glad to hear all was okay. I apologize for the follow up. Your comments will help us improve if such situations should ever occur in the future. I would be happy to speak with you in more detail and help alleviate some of your concerns. Please feel free to contact me at any time.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Tampa Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Tampa Bay

Address: 3050 N Rocky Point Dr W, Tampa, FL 33607
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#34 Family Hotel in Tampa
#45 Business Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Tampa Bay 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Doubletree Guest Suites Tampa Bay is a full-service, all-suite, waterfront property. All of our oversized suites consist of a bedroom area with separate living room with sofa sleeper - all with spectacular views! As the perfect location for leisure and business travelers, we offer an outdoor heated pool overlooking Old Tampa Bay, On-Site Health Club, Galerie Restaurant & Lounge serving breakfast, lunch, and dinner and close to shopping, dining, and area attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, Hilton Hotels, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Tampa Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Suites By Hilton Tampa Bay Hotel Tampa
Doubletree Hotel Tampa Bay
Doubletree Tampa
Doubletree Guest Suite Tampa Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Tampa Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.