We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We were walked from the Embassy Tampa/Westshore and I think we got the better deal.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Tampa Bay

Save Saved
You added DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Tampa Bay to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Tampa Bay
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3050 N Rocky Point Dr W, Tampa, FL 33607   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Cruise Transportation
Ranked #48 of 159 hotels in Tampa
Palm Desert, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“We were walked from the Embassy Tampa/Westshore and I think we got the better deal.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Our room was right next to the elevator but the view was beautiful. We didn't spend much time in the room but it was very nice and clean. The hotel seems to be a little outdated but as I said I preferred it to the Embassy. The warm cookies are always a hit and the check in process was a breeze. Thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
8137398812, Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Tampa Bay, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Thank you for the feedback on your stay, delighted to hear that you enjoyed your visit. Come back and enjoy the warm cookies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

431 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    163
    146
    66
    33
    23
See reviews for
127
106
20
129
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reno, Nevada
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We only stayed one night during a stopover and we had a very pleasant experience, spacious & clean rooms, friendly and helpful staff. The only thing we did not like was the bright green hallway decor, but I guess that falls under personal preference. The room's decor was more calming. Breakfast is not included, their restaurant features a breakfast buffet with many choices and even a station where they cook your omlet just the way you like it or you can order a la carte. If you're allergic to feathers request a feather free room and they will do that.

Room Tip: For a small extra fee you can request an ocean view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
8137398812, General Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Tampa Bay, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thank you for the feedback on your stay with us. I am delighted to hear your enjoyed your visit and experienced our excellent customer service. We do take great pride in the product we provide to our guests. I hope next time you are in Tampa, you will stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We stayed there for two nights prior to a cruise. We chose it due to proximity to the airport and value. Its a hotel which was likely built in the 80's. It location is close to the airport and backs on to a bay. It is not close to down town (drive 20 minutes to Ybor) but was close to all major routes and we had a rental car. The service is top notch, there is an outdoor pool which is nicely appointed, an on-site restaurant is helfpul but usual hotel pricy, free parking and there is a well equipped exercise room which we all used (it had fresh fruit to sample). When we arrived we were checked in quickly and courteously and received our warm Doubletree cookie - a nice touch. The rooms are great - roomy and comfortable with a kitchen table, sink, serving area etc. Each has its own air conditioner built in. Turn up the fan speed to high to get proper air flow. The only thing holding the hotel back are the hallways. They are not air conditioned and the hallways have three colours of green in the decor - turquoise carpet, lime green wall paper and another shade of door posts. We worried about this when the elevator opened as the lobby was nice. Once we got to the rooms, they were nicely decorated. So other than that its worth the stay - good value and comfortable.... but you need transportation to make this worth while. If staying before a cruise - rent from Enterprise - pick up at the airport and then drop off down town - they'll shuttle you the five minute drive to the cruise terminal and save the $40 cab fare from the airport!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
8137398812, General Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Tampa Bay, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful feedback of your stay with us. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your visit. We look forward to your next stay with us. I am pleased to report we will be undergoing a multi-million dollar renovation this year. I am confident you will enjoy the changes we make. I hope next time you are in Tampa, you will give us another opportunity and tell us what you think.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland, USA
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

As this being my first time at the double tree hotel, the staff was very welcoming and polite. The rooms were well kept and roomservice was excellent. The location was ideal to the airport and all the emmannities that I could ask for for being new to the city. Would i be pleased to visit again?,you bet your last dollar

Room Tip: Go for the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
8137398812, General Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Tampa Bay, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Thank you for the feedback on your stay with us. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your visit and experienced our excellent customers service. We do take pride in the product we provide to our guests. We look forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Most will agree that this hotel needs a bit of a reno, but that being said, there was nothing wrong with my room. Nice pool, friendly staff, but the location leaves a bit to be desired. If you're staying here, you'll need to rent a car to get to local attractions and to head to the beach (Clearwater). Parking is free.

Room Tip: Probably best to select a room with a view of the Bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012 via mobile

Stayed one night before going to the eagles game.Got there around dinner time and went to Bahamas breeze for dinner which is about a 10 min walk.Came back and enjoyed some adult beverages around the pool which is very nice.Had a good buffet breakfast at hotel before heading out.Just stayed for 1 night but would recommend it clean and spacious rooms,good food and good location for us.P.S. my team finally won a game

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We stayed at the Doubletree on Rocky Point for 13 nights. We choose this hotel because of the price and the fact that we could have a decent 1 bedroom suite with a sink, refrigerator and microwave and a view of the water. I looked at the reviews for 4 other hotels on Rocky Point before booking this hotel.

The cons: The paint colors on the outside of the hotel look cheap, the living area furniture (couch and chair) are very uncomfortable to sit on and the landscaping could use some work and they need to install weatherstripping around the room entry doors because they close very loudly and you can hear people talking because of the open space around the door. The hallways could use some updating, at least new wallpaper or paint. There are benches for people to smoke right outside the front entry door, this should be moved somewhere else.

The pros: The employees were all very friendly and helpful; we had a 1 bedroom suite on the 7th floor which had a view over the water which was nice; the room was very clean and was kept clean for the whole time we were there. The only noise we heard was from people in the hall through the opening around the door, we heard no room to room noise like in some hotels. The towels were large and thick and the shower curtain looked brand new. There is a small snack area with water, sodas, beer, ice cream, candy and some sundries for purchase which is handy. An instant coffee pot with coffee and good tea are provided in the room. The airport is minutes away and very easy to drive there. The location is convenient to Tampa and to the Clearwater/St Pete area.

Nice touches: We were given a warm delicious chocolate chip cookie when we checked in and were warmly greeted at midnight when we arrived. There is flavored water provided each day in the lobby and free newspapers. We saw dolphins right by the hotel on 3 different days. And I loved the "Citron" bath products that were provided, in fact I will be purchasing some online.

We would most definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
8137398812, General Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Tampa Bay, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Thank you for the feedback on your stay with us. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your vist with us. We are very proud of our caring team and excellent customer service. Next year we will be going through our multi-million dollar renovation and look look forward to your next stay with us and your feedback about the changes we make.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Tampa Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Tampa Bay

Address: 3050 N Rocky Point Dr W, Tampa, FL 33607
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#24 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#40 Business Hotel in Tampa
#46 Family Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Tampa Bay 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Doubletree Guest Suites Tampa Bay is a full-service, all-suite, waterfront property. All of our oversized suites consist of a bedroom area with separate living room with sofa sleeper - all with spectacular views! As the perfect location for leisure and business travelers, we offer an outdoor heated pool overlooking Old Tampa Bay, On-Site Health Club, Galerie Restaurant & Lounge serving breakfast, lunch, and dinner and close to shopping, dining, and area attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, HotelsClick, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Tampa Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Suites By Hilton Tampa Bay Hotel Tampa
Doubletree Hotel Tampa Bay
Doubletree Tampa
Doubletree Guest Suite Tampa Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Tampa Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.