We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gross mold in bathroom & clogged sink!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Tampa Bay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Tampa Bay to your Saves list
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Tampa Bay
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3050 N Rocky Point Dr W, Tampa, FL 33607   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Cruise Transportation
Ranked #45 of 159 Hotels in Tampa
Orlando, FL.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Gross mold in bathroom & clogged sink!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

July 2012 stay at this hotel near Tampa Airport/Clearwater. This was our second stay but the bathroom was very displeasing. After speaking to the staff during checkout about this, the individual did not seem to care much.

We will not be staying here again.

View video of this unfortunate situation:

http://youtu.be/msbPL60dOoE?hd=1

Room Tip: Rooms have very lound A/C systems. Good Luck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
8137398812, General Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Tampa Bay, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
Wendy46001,

Thank you for your feedback. I am truly disappointed at the condition of the bathroom you stayed in during your visit with us. We have identified the room and have put procedures in place to not let those issues happen again. We take great pride in our product and overall get very good feedback on the cleanliness of our rooms. We are also looking forward to the impending hotel renovation!

We hope you will give us another opprotunity next time you are in Tampa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

537 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    182
    82
    38
    24
See reviews for
161
130
27
160
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
midlands uk
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

We stayed for a vacation weekend as part of a trip to Florida.
Check in was great, quick, efficient & friendly.Just how we like it!
The room - well suite - was really large with views over water.
Maybe it is a little tired, although not threadbare by any means - it was clean & tidy with a small kitchen/dining/sitting area with a separate room for the bedroom plus a decent bathroom.
Breakfast was buffet style & was plentiful with coffee & tea served at the table by pleasant staff. A separate cook stood by to freshly prepare omelettes.
The pool area was nice, overlooking the water. You would obviously need a car here as it is a short drive to the city, a longer one to the beaches but there are a few nearby restaurants including a Bahama Breeze restaurant hidden away around the corner (2 minutes by car) which was in a picturesque location overlooking the bay & the food & drinks were great. (had to wait 40 minutes for a table though so be prepared!)
There was a wedding & reception in the hotel on the Saturday which didn't seem to interfere with the workings of the hotel at all & was actually quite nice to witness. I wish every stay in a hotel could be as pleasant & as professional as this one. Well done to all the staff & management here.
Overall we would stay here again whenever we visited Tampa.

Room Tip: Water facing? Not sure if all are facing the pool & water?
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tempe, Arizona
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

Loved that the check in was quick and fast, and my guy REALLY enjoyed the chocolate chip cookies we received. The man who checked us in was great and very friendly! When we got in our room, it was clean and at a great location. I'm a light sleeper so the loud air conditioning unit bothered me to no end, but the comfy bed made up for that flaw. Housekeeping was great and very efficient! The location was close to all of the highways we needed.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for two days during a quick vacation recently. Stayed with my wife and two kids.The looks of the hotel were less than expected from the hilton brand it was not updated. Upon check in I was told that the ac's were not all working correctly.Once, to our room it was clean but I seemed to notice very small flies crawling on granite counter near microwave, they seemed smaller than fruit flies but bothersome still the same. Staff was nice, couldn't help but think to myself that I would have been better to stay at the Hampton Inn down the street for half the price and got a free breakfast to boot....One highlight we did see two dolphins in the bay behind the hotel the day we left.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

We were greeted by a warm chocolate chip cookie and a friendly front office lady who was all by herself at counter with a line behind us and she handled everything so cool, calm & collected. We were put on the top floor which I was excited for and it worked out great we had a great view...you saw dumpsters when looking straight down but looking out we had a great view of rocky point & surrounding water. Instantly we noticed the king room was huge! It could actually be made into 2 rooms with the pull out sofa. Both rooms were spacious. Crabtree & Evelyn toiletry which is a very good brand. We instantly got in out suits and headed down to the pool. Fresh towels were available and although there were quite a bit of people down there we each got a chair & spot in the pool. We were served poolside with drinks by a staff member I have to name, Karim took great care of us that day & the next morning at breakfast & we made sure to fill out a comment card on his excellent service. The pool area had available shade, a great view of the surrounding water and was clean. We had dinner at Brio at International Mall which was a short drive & yummy. The bed was comfortable & check out being noon was so great we got to sleep in & enjoy it that much more. Sunday morning we were pleased with the breakfast that was offered to us for an additional $10 that covered us both!!! Great Great Deal!! So whether a quick local getaway or if your visiting from afar this hotel is one I reccommend highly! Wish I had more pics but my phone ran out of memory

Room Tip: We loved the top floor Im sure either side of hotel has great views it's located in agreat spot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

Stayed one night prior to flying out of Tampa.Good location for early morning flights. Hotel is definitely showing age. Staff very friendly and helpful. Room clean, but worn. Looks like furniture hasn't been updated in at least a decade.

Room Tip: If you do stay look for a decent discount. Do not pay posted rates.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellmawr, New Jersey
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012 via mobile

Honestly had a fantastic stay at the Double Tree Suites in Tampa. The location in great for the view and access to major roads. The staff was friendly and accommodating. The rooms were large, clean and up to date. I will be returning to this hotel often.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Tampa Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Tampa Bay

Address: 3050 N Rocky Point Dr W, Tampa, FL 33607
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#23 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#35 Family Hotel in Tampa
#39 Business Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Tampa Bay 3.5*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Doubletree Guest Suites Tampa Bay is a full-service, all-suite, waterfront property. All of our oversized suites consist of a bedroom area with separate living room with sofa sleeper - all with spectacular views! As the perfect location for leisure and business travelers, we offer an outdoor heated pool overlooking Old Tampa Bay, On-Site Health Club, Galerie Restaurant & Lounge serving breakfast, lunch, and dinner and close to shopping, dining, and area attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Tampa Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Suites By Hilton Tampa Bay Hotel Tampa
Doubletree Hotel Tampa Bay
Doubletree Tampa
Doubletree Guest Suite Tampa Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Tampa Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.