We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Fantastic German Food"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of German Bistro - CLOSED

German Bistro
5232 S Macdill Ave, Tampa, FL 33611-4049
813-402-2920
Improve this listing
Cuisines: German
Restaurant details
Tampa, Florida
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“"Fantastic German Food"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Great German food and Beer. The German pancakes were excellent as well as the beer and food. The waitress was really friendly as well. I highly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

84% Recommend
    30
    3
    4
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Terrible experience..Do no waste your time and your money”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Not sure why this restaurant is ranked at this level in Trip Advisor.. Well my husband and I went there based on the rating here and we had one of the most terrible experience. The place was very dirty and kind of run down. The windows, floor and plastic table covers were all sticky. We order a special chicken but was served with a crispy chicken piece that was " covered" by some kind of gravy. There was nothing special with the chicken and it was overpriced. They served wine for free but no water at the tables. And the german music was very loud that we could not wait to get out of there. The service was totally unacceptable.. that's all I will say about that.. basically this was a waste of time and money for us..

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Great place!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

Best German food I've had since I lived in Germany 4 years ago!!! We are new to the area and will definatly be going back to this place!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“One of South Tampa's best kept secrets”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Amazing food, beyond friendly and courteous staff, and biergarten music on the stereo. What a gem. We enjoyed sausage, scnitzel, spatzle, red cabbage and everything was so authentic. Did we mention the free beer? Great food, we will be back. Soon. Thanks Nick!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morrisville, North Carolina
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Real German Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

"We don't have beer and wine license, so we offer them for free", we were told by the waitress/owner. What can be wrong about it?

Also, the food tastes great and authentic. It's pretty basic, but German food is not supposed to be fancy. Maybe not the most suitable place for a romantic dinner date, but it is definitely worth the visit.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage German Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.