We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Fantastic German Food"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of German Bistro - CLOSED

German Bistro
5232 S Macdill Ave, Tampa, FL 33611-4049
813-402-2920
Improve this listing
Cuisines: German
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Tampa, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“"Fantastic German Food"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Great German food and Beer. The German pancakes were excellent as well as the beer and food. The waitress was really friendly as well. I highly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    3
    4
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Terrible experience..Do no waste your time and your money”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Not sure why this restaurant is ranked at this level in Trip Advisor.. Well my husband and I went there based on the rating here and we had one of the most terrible experience. The place was very dirty and kind of run down. The windows, floor and plastic table covers were all sticky. We order a special chicken but was served with a crispy chicken piece that was " covered" by some kind of gravy. There was nothing special with the chicken and it was overpriced. They served wine for free but no water at the tables. And the german music was very loud that we could not wait to get out of there. The service was totally unacceptable.. that's all I will say about that.. basically this was a waste of time and money for us..

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Great place!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

Best German food I've had since I lived in Germany 4 years ago!!! We are new to the area and will definatly be going back to this place!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
94 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“One of South Tampa's best kept secrets”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

Amazing food, beyond friendly and courteous staff, and biergarten music on the stereo. What a gem. We enjoyed sausage, scnitzel, spatzle, red cabbage and everything was so authentic. Did we mention the free beer? Great food, we will be back. Soon. Thanks Nick!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morrisville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
143 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Real German Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

"We don't have beer and wine license, so we offer them for free", we were told by the waitress/owner. What can be wrong about it?

Also, the food tastes great and authentic. It's pretty basic, but German food is not supposed to be fancy. Maybe not the most suitable place for a romantic dinner date, but it is definitely worth the visit.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed German Bistro also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage German Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.