We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food & Atmosphere, Wait Staff Could Be More Friendly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kona Grill - Tampa

Kona Grill - Tampa
4134 W. Boy Scout Blvd., Tampa, FL 33607
813-877-5938
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Kona Grill - Tampa is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #69 of 1,964 restaurants in Tampa
Price range: $20 - $30
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Golden, CO
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Food & Atmosphere, Wait Staff Could Be More Friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

I visited this restaurant just a few days ago. I was so impressed with the restaurant itself. It is beautiful and situated next to a pond with water fountains. Very picturesque. We had sushi and the food was absolutely amazing. Great happy hour prices. However, I found the hostess and waiter to not be very friendly. They didn't come across as welcoming or smiling and instead came across like we were a bother to them. I loved the food and the atmosphere but when the wait staff and hostess are not as equally pleasant, that can hurt a business a lot. I will try again and hopefully it was just an off night. I'm giving it a 4 rating because of that but if I were to rate just the staff, it would probably be a 2.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

82% Recommend
    40
    39
    11
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Not impressed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Food was okay but nothing memorable. It took a very long time to be approached by anyone after being seated on the patio. 2 servers shared the work on the patio. The male server was pleasant and friendly; the tall female server acted like she was a little above waiting tables. My biggest complaint is that the servers closed my check out at the same time as the large party next to us and unbeknownst to me had put that table's bill (as well as our bill) on my debit card. The next morning I happened to be doing my online banking and noticed that there were 2 charges pending from Kona Grill and one of them for $128 was not mine. I called and spoke to a manager who said he was sorry and that the server obviously made an error and that he has told servers that when this happens to bring the guest a voided slip so that the guest can see that it was an error. He assured me that the additional charge which was "pending" would not be finalized and would be off of my bank statement by Monday, (we dined at Kona on a Friday), and that IF IT WASN'T, to call him back and he would refund my lunch for the inconvenience. Two things struck me wrong about this. Number one, he made a big deal of saying that he has told his servers many times that when this happens, to bring a void slip to the guest that was charged in error, so that the guest can see that it was a mistake. This tells me that this happens too often. It should not be that difficult to keep the right card with the right check. Number two, he's telling me to watch my statement and call him again if it isn't rectified and he will make up for my inconvenience? Did he not think it was already inconvenient to have $128 unavailable for a couple of days because of their error? It was a debit card, not a credit card, so any pending amount comes off of my available balance immediately. Did he not think it was inconvenient to have to call about this in the first place? Did he not think it was inconvenient to have to go back and check to make sure the error was corrected? This place did not impress me but I am trying to be fair and call it "average" even though the check situation was handled poorly.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Happy Hour Review”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

This Review is for Happy Hour only - including Happy hour menu items (we did not order anything from the rest of the menu). We visited this restaurant on a Friday night, which was pretty crowded but we did not have to wait for a seat at the bar. We then went again on a Monday night, and the bar area was less than half full so it was a lot quieter and less crowded.

Kona Grill's happy is from 3-11pm M-F, which is pretty awesome. We ordered a bunch of things off of the HH menu which were mostly hits but there were a few misses. The items that we got that we enjoyed included: Potstickers, Roasted Corn and Goat Cheese Flatbread, Wave Roll, & the Voodoo Roll. A few items that we got that we were not too impressed with include: The Shrimp tacos (flour tortillas with spicy shrimp and a weird sauce that did nothing for the dish) and the Chicken Satay, which was good except the sauces which were a little lacking.

Overall, Kona Grill has a great happy hour and I would definitely recommend checking it out - they have a wide selection of happy hour items and drink specials. All of the (bar) staff were very nice and attentive.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Service is ghastly”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Party of 6 we sat outside which was very nice. Service was soooo slow drinks took forever food even longer and although the food was good it was not something worth waiting for as long as we did. Just flat out poor service.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida, United States
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great Happy Hour prices for Sushi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

If you like Sushi...go here for Happy Hour prices. Sat outside and had 3 different sushi rolls (@$3.50 each) and a beer for $15.00. Other items on the Happy Hour menu were also priced well. Can't beat it! Of course it was crowded at 5pm on a Friday but it was worth it. I'll be back the next time I return to Tampa. Didn't have dinner there but will probably do so the next trip.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kona Grill - Tampa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kona Grill - Tampa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.