We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excelled in every way” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chart House - Tampa

Chart House - Tampa
7616 W. Courtney Campbell Causeway, Tampa, FL 33607
813-289-7773
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Chart House - Tampa is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #109 of 1,997 Restaurants in Tampa
Price range: $30 - $50
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Rocky Point Drive
Mount Olive, New Jersey
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Excelled in every way”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

We had a great night at the Chart House Tampa, we were seated on the patio with an exceptional view. The wine list was extensive and very good. The staff made great suggestions and all dinners were prepared to our liking. For starters the oysters and East west Tuna were fantastic. Both were enjoyed by all. The salads crisp and fresh. 4 of us had the grouper special (grouper, shrimp, and crab with rice and green beans), plus a side of sautéed spinach. all prepared perfectly, the best parts were the crab and green beans, all light, fresh, and full of flavor. Others had the scallops and tuna and were pleased. Service was exceptional. A great night out in tampa and has me rethinking my reluctance to visit chain restaurants.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    58
    30
    13
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good lunch and Great View”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Went there today with my family and we had a very good lunch and enjoyed a great view of the Tampa Bay and the skyline of Tampa. It was a little chilly today to sit outside, but definitely will go back on a warmer day and enjoy the patio setting. The service was excellent.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Lovely Views, Nice Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We visited the Chart House for a 5PM reservation and were immediately greeted and seated. We very much enjoyed our waterfront dining experience. The service was excellently executed, and not at all intrusive. The ambiance was also quite nice; i.e., not too noisy and tables not crowded.

My guest had the bay scallops which, for the price, was somewhat on the skimpy side. I enjoyed the Mixed Grill (salmon, shrimp scampi, crab cake), all of which were well-seasoned.

Overall, the food was good. However, even with an AAA 10% discount, the Chart House is very expensive for a seafood meal. Not sure we'd go there again.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Villages, Florida
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Chart House Tampa FL”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

The Chart House is a convenient stop for meeting friends within the Tampa/Clearwater area. The water views of Tampa Bay are very pleasant and relaxing. It is a great restaurant for a leisurely lunch. The table spacing is generous. The food ingredients are of the highest quality, prepared and served professionally. Our hostess was exceptional in taking care of a special need. The wine list is extensive and contains many upscale favorites for diners. This was not my first visit, nor will it be my last

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allen Park, Michigan
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
271 helpful votes 271 helpful votes
“Chart House on the Island....Just a little overpriced...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

We visited the Chart House while we were in Tampa on a recommendation from our hotel manager, since we were staying down the street we thought it would be a good idea. On the outside It appeared probably a little more restaurant than we wanted but after a long travel time to Tampa we agreed we deserved a good meal.

Location: The Chart house is located off Courtney Campbell Causeway on the island sort of speak. Little difficult to see the sign as it sneaks up on you as your entering the bridge traffic – so stay to your right and go slow.

Food: From the atmosphere in the restaurant I was looking for something on the menu to WOW me but that wasn’t the case. Not that there was anything wrong with the food – but for the price we paid I guess I was thinking more of the WOW factor – you know? The type of factor where you talk about how good everything was – what you like the most and never had it so good? – Our conversation was basically “Good Food” but too expensive. The only WOW we got was when we saw the bill. But again it was good – not great.

Atmosphere: Quiet, Low Lighting, background ambiance music, somewhat romantic. Outside tables available but it was too cold to venture out.

Service: Service was Great – Spot on and no issues with the food or preparation thereof.

Cost: Menu ranges from $7.99 for an appetizer to $33.99 for a Shrimp Plate. The Steaks are roughly between $28 and $36 and then you have to add additional costs for sides so your looking somewhere in the area of $100 each when all is said and done – and that doesn’t include desert. So as aforementioned the food is not bad at all – however I don’t think the Prices are justified.

Overall: Overall it was a nice restaurant – nice ambience and good food. But a bit overpriced for the quality and taste, My wife and I are avid restaurant goers and have absolutely no issues paying high dollar for high quality, however in my opinion this wasn’t that high of quality and taste to justify the price.

A good case and point – while we were at Chart House our waiter informed us of Morton’s Steak house in West Palm beach – being of the same company we were skeptical but after eating at Morton’s we discovered they had the WOW Factor. You can read about that in my other restaurant reviews.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chart House - Tampa also viewed

 

Been to Chart House - Tampa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chart House - Tampa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.