We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great historical past” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tampa Bay History Center

Tampa Bay History Center
801 Old Water Street, Tampa, FL 33602
813-228-0097
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 213 things to do in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Experience 12,000 years of powerful stories at the Tampa Bay History Center. During your journey, you will stroll through a 1920s-era cigar store, row up the Hillsborough River, ride along with a cattle drive and learn about the early exploration of Florida. This waterfront building, with an eclectic Museum Store and the signature Columbia Cafe, is a memorable experience for families, history enthusiasts, Tampa area natives and beyond.
Huntington Beach, California, United States
Level Contributor
172 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great historical past”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

I learned a lot about Tampa and the rich cultural past. This is an absolute must see. It is easy to find and parking is right next door to the museum.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    148
    99
    31
    6
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A LOT TO LEARN ABOUT TAMPA BAY”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We spent several hours here and learned a lot about the history of Tampa Bay. It would be a GREAT place to take children. there is a lot of "hands-on" displays & several short videos. There is two floors of exhibits, an one floor reserved for special events. They have a nice gift shop,&
restaurant & bar. Really a nice day out. I would highly recommend this for families. The children that were there seemed to be having a great time. After we finished seeing everything, there is a GREAT river walk just outside the museum where there is a great view of Tampa Bay & it's
ports. It's a nice place to take a stroll. Bring your camera.....

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brevard, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
55 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Best Part of visiting desolate Tampa”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

After walking downtown Tampa and noticing that it is completley run down and desolate. We came across this museum! We were so grateful as we were tired of paying for parking and seeing nothing in Tampa's Downtown but closed shops and no people. We enjoyed this museum and I would definitely recommend it as their is nothing else to do in Downtown Tampa. The free parking is a plus and it is a very interesting museum. The only thing I didn't much care for was the circus photos which had nothing to do with Tampa but Oh,well still beats walking up and down an empty city.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nassau, New Providence Island
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“stays constantly updated”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

would recommend this as a stop for those on educational fieldtrips or those willing to know abit more aboout the friendly city of tama as well as neighbouring st. petersburg. really neat and well kept and also very clean with signs for legibility and convenience for all ages.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Must visit while you are in Tampa!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

I really enjoyed this museum. After living in Tampa for ten years it taught me a lot about this city. The displays are innovative and very interesting. After walking through the exhibit it was fun to eat at the Columbia Cafe. This is where Fox News reported from during the RNC.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tampa Bay History Center also viewed

 

Been to Tampa Bay History Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tampa Bay History Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.