We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the time to visit.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tampa Bay History Center

Tampa Bay History Center
801 Old Water Street, Tampa, FL 33602
813-228-0097
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 89 attractions in Tampa
Type: History Museums
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Experience 12,000 years of powerful stories at the Tampa Bay History Center. During your journey, you will stroll through a 1920s-era cigar store, row up the Hillsborough River, ride along with a cattle drive and learn about the early exploration of Florida. This waterfront building, with an eclectic Museum Store and the signature Columbia Cafe, is a memorable experience for families, history enthusiasts, Tampa area natives and beyond.
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Worth the time to visit.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

I often try to find the time to visit city museums where ever I go. The Tampa Bay History Center is one of the better ones and well worth the time to visit. Beautiful building. Very well done, interesting and informative without being too dry. We visited the center as soon as we came to town, and we had better insight for all of our city travels. They start with the European expeditions in the 1500's, then settlers, and Cubans, and on to today. The Cafe is also great with wonderful Cuban salads and sandwiches.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    59
    17
    5
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sayville, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Learn about Tampa”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

It provides a great way to learn about the origins of Tampa and how it has grown to the Tampa of today. if you have the time I recommend it.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
151 helpful votes 151 helpful votes
“A good look into the history of Tampa”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

The museum is in a nice, new building. The first floor is devoted to Seminole and Cuban immigrant/cigar history. The second is devoted to Tampa from the late 1800s to current times. They have a nicely displayed collection of WWI and WWII items; in fact everything in the museum was well displayed. They have some things that are clearly designed to keep children interested.
I actually rather enjoyed the tucked away drawers on the third floor; they made me feel like I was getting to rifle through the museum's back stock.

It was certainly worth a few hours of time.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lockport, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice Museum on the River”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We enjoyed the history museum. My boys loved riding the "horses" to herd the cattle. We learned about the Cuban Cigars and the history of the Tampa area. Walking the river was nice after our visit.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Unique Look at Tampa & Florida History”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Museum focuses on mainly Tampa History which was pretty interesting. Doesn't take but about 2 hours to go through even with reading pretty much everything. Very nice displays and exhibits, very informative.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tampa Bay History Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tampa Bay History Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Tampa Bay History Center to your Saves list