We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Innovative, interactive and informative” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tampa Bay History Center

Tampa Bay History Center
801 Old Water Street, Tampa, FL 33602
813-228-0097
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 60 Attractions in Tampa
Type: History Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Experience 12,000 years of powerful stories at the Tampa Bay History Center. During your journey, you will stroll through a 1920s-era cigar store, row up the Hillsborough River, ride along with a cattle drive and learn about the early exploration of Florida. This waterfront building, with an eclectic Museum Store and the signature Columbia Cafe, is a memorable experience for families, history enthusiasts, Tampa area natives and beyond.
Palm Harbor, Florida
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Innovative, interactive and informative”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

Interactive experience of history in this area. Tech displays interweave with static displays and are very engaging and informative. Great for children 8+ yrs and adults. Good bookstore for local material and quality souvenirs. Don't miss the Columbia Restaurant Cafe--great food-- and adjacent play area, too, all by the water!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    118
    69
    21
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Apollo Beach, FL
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Tampa History Center”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Great way to learn more about Tampa without be overloaded with details.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“great way to spend the day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

if you enjoy learning about local history, you will love your experience here at the history center.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012 via mobile

We went to st. Pete beach for 4 nights and had a few hours before returning to the airport. We found the brochure at the hotel and it seemed interesting. We have no attachment to tampa so we were not sure if would hold our interest. It was amazing! The building itself is a site to see and we stayed for a few hours watching the films and looked at all of the exhibits. We had a snack at the cafe and it was great! The best coffee I have ever had. We bought a bag to home with us and I am going online to buy more.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cinnaminson, New Jersey, United States
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Things you probably did not know”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

Well laid out. Lots of information on the Tampa By history.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tampa Bay History Center also viewed

 

Been to Tampa Bay History Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tampa Bay History Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.