We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't believe this place is still in business.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of La Pequena Colombia

La Pequena Colombia
6312 N. Armenia Avenue, Tampa, FL
8138768338
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #138 of 1,996 Restaurants in Tampa
Cuisines: Colombian
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Can't believe this place is still in business.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

Very disappointed in this place. My wife and I went to this restaurant on April 11, 2013 around 7 pm. Check # 4552
First of all we waited 10 minutes to put in a drink order. We tried to order sachi papas but was told that they don't make that in the actual restaurant but in the fast food location next door.we ordered our food and to our surprise it came out fairly quick.I ordered breaded steak and my wife ordered breaded chicken. My steak was overcooked and burnt which made it very chewy. It tasted like it was fried in yesterday's oil. The red beans were very salty. It was pricey, and overall it was a terrible experience.
The service was terrible and the restaurant was not full with people. My recommendation is calle viejo in Brandon.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    17
    3
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Savannah, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“HAIR IN FOOD”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Food looks good but finding a hair neatly tucked away in the rice was a turn off.
Noone knew how to cook an egg overhard. They took it back and still couldn't do it properly.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morrisville, North Carolina
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Love this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Excellent food and very reasonably priced.
I had a tongue dish and my co-worker had a steak - we both were more than happy with our orders.
Also, they have a bakery on site. Not sure how good it is , but it definitely looked very good.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Great authenic food. Atmosphere could be better”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Food: Was delicious. I loved their chicharones, plantaiins, beef, peppers, and potatoes. They had lots of Caribbean beers which are not very good really but are nice to drink with this type of food. Hot sauce was phenomenal but a little goes a long way. We really enjoyed the food and will go back next time we're in Tampa. We stumbled onto this place and were really glad we did.

Service: Adequate. Not very quick but they get the job done.

Atmosphere: The layout of the restaurant is a bit clunky with some weird arrangement. Large couches in the corner (VIP area, she said) but they were located right next to the bathrooms. Small table seating area (3-4 tables) which were behind a sort of half wall. Then, a large bar/bar table area that could be difficult to navigate through when large groups are there. Overall, this could be designed better and it looks like they just remodeled.

Botton line: Food is great but this would not be a place I would go to when it's crowded due to the layout. We visited during non-peak hours so it was fine. Best part: bit of a younger crowd is attracted to this place.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Best Colombian Comida North of Barranquilla”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Everyone knows that the Costenos have the best food. However, if you are not in Colombia, Pequena Colombia is a close second. The panaderia is perfecto. Great service. Love this place.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Pequena Colombia also viewed

 

Been to La Pequena Colombia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Pequena Colombia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.