We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1 out of 3 loved it!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Refinery

The Refinery
5137 N Florida Ave, Tampa, FL 33603-2137
813-237-2000
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Refinery is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #243 of 1,997 Restaurants in Tampa
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Frierson Ave
Description: This is a new restaurant that openend in Tampa in March of 2010.
Seattle
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“1 out of 3 loved it!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

My parents and I are in Tampa and tried this restaurant for dinner. My meal, sweet potato pancakes over kale with a poached egg, was absolutely delicious. We're from Seattle so we're used to inventive dishes like this. My parents, who are less adventurous, were not thrilled with their choices. I tasted my dad's burger and it was too salty. I didn't try Mom's escargot because I was stuffed from my own dinner. If we were here longer I'd push for us to try the restaurant again. Maybe the kitchen just had an off night?

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    29
    24
    11
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

This restaurant has been on my list for a while....written up in travel magazines and James Beard nominations. I was excited about finally going. Unfortunately, it was a huge disappointment. It wasn't the limited menu, environment, or location that disappointed me. For amazing food, I will overlook all that. Given their reputation, I expected amazing food. At best, it was bland and the service was bland. We had red hummus and pate for starters. Both were unattractive on their respective plates and had little taste. I had pork belly for my entree, which I always love. It was okay, but not particularly tasty. My daughter had a hamburger which was excellent. Why would you go there just for a hamburger?

I really wanted to love this place, and I'm very disappointed that it's not more than average. Maybe I just hit it on a bad night, but I'm not sure I would go back.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hartford, Connecticut
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Sunday Brunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

The meals here are very good and not your typical very day menu. The menu changes often, and the waitress said usually not repeated, but may be. Each order is cooked to order, and was worth the short wait we had.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon, Florida
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“sunday lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

had a great Sunday lunch/breakfast here. all of the dishes were made fresh.
we have eaten here for dinner a few times and the lunch menu for Sunday is
just as good as the dinner menu. highly recommend The Refinery for anyone
looking for a nice Sunday morning meal. definitely make reservations.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Another gem found! ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

Food was stellar, Atmosphere was very cool & the craft beer was perfect.
I had the catch of the day & I left the cleanest plate at our table. Peter was the highlight of the evening, being able to deal with a 10+ party. I'm not much of a red meat eater but those burgers were looking Pretty good. Thanks guys, great job
I'll be back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Refinery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Refinery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.