We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best 110 minutes of our trip.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ybor City Historic Walking Tours

Ybor City Historic Walking Tours
Centro Ybor, 7th Avenue entrance, Tampa, FL 33629 (Historic Ybor)
813-505-6779
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 56 Tours & Activities in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: There is no better way to experience Ybor City than at streetlevel on foot. Come discover this vibrant and diverse city. Ourwalking tours explore the many layers of history that make up the fabric of Ybor City. Tours start from the Vicente Martinez-Ybor statue at Centro Ybor on Seventh Avenue. Call for current schedule.
Simsbury, CT USA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best 110 minutes of our trip.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Visited Ybor while vacationing from Connecticut. Found this tour on line and it was worth every penny. From the moment he said hello Lonnie proved to be a top notch story teller in every sense of the word. His colorful descriptions of the people, history and past of Ybor made for a very entertaining afternoon. I hung on every word of every sentence eager for whatever came next. His descriptions read like a novel, one I didn't want to ever put down. I couldn't recommend this tour more. Would recommend this activity in a heart beat.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    152
    12
    2
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clearwater, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A wonderful journey to the past!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Lonnie is the perfect tour guide. Informative and entertaining! We have lived in the area for many many years but have never taken the time to learn more about the historic city. I highly recommend Lonnie's tour and would bring out of town guests here as well to enjoy a great day in Ybor.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
1 review
“Lived in Tampa a long time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

great way to learn about Ybor and the rich history. I knew a lot about the city but did not know the history behind a lot of the buildings and people that had lived there.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, FL
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Ybor City Historic Walking Tours with Lonnie Herman”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

I have been living in the Tampa Bay area since 2003 but had never taken the time to learn more about the different sites and attractions surrounding me. I went on this tour with a group of friends and it was wonderful! Lonnie was very knowledgeable about Ybor and made the history of the area come alive. We all had a great time and would highly recommend this tour for anyone who likes to learn about the place they live or visit.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dali, China
1 review
“Experience Living History in Ybor”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Lonnie was a fantastic host. He brings the story and history of Ybor city alive in a visceral and interactive way as you explore old homes, factories, and streets.

Not only that, but Lonnie is a integral part to the small Ybor community and makes you feel apart of the small city as well.

Fantastic way to introduce visitors to Tampa to one of the best sides of the area.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ybor City Historic Walking Tours also viewed

 

Been to Ybor City Historic Walking Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ybor City Historic Walking Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.