We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gah! Scary area to stay in...” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Days Inn & Suites Tampa Near Ybor City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Days Inn & Suites Tampa Near Ybor City to your Saves list
Days Inn & Suites Tampa Near Ybor City
1.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2905 North 50th Street, Tampa, FL 33619 (Formerly Americas Best Value Inn Tampa)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 25% Summer Sale
Ranked #130 of 160 Hotels in Tampa
Wyoming, Canada
2 reviews
“Gah! Scary area to stay in...”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

We checked-in to the hotel and were extremely creeped out by the area the hotel was in. The room was alright, the paint was chipping off the wall in areas, the bathroom looked recently re-done, the bed as clean, but there was hardly any lighting in the room and the patio door was unlocked. The pool was empty and was filled with debris (concrete, garbage, etc...). This place gave us the creeps, so we stayed for 5 minutes and left and found another hotel. We didn't bother asking for our money back, it wasn't worth it. If you were traveling by yourself and needed a cheap place to stay for the night, amongst a sketchy area, then this is your place... otherwise, stay away! Spend an extra $30-50 dollars for a safer and pleasant place.

Room Tip: If you are on the bottom floor, make sure the patio door locks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    7
    8
    18
    30
See reviews for
14
15
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Deltona, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

This place had the most unpleasant people working here...and everything was filthy...I didn't even want to sleep in the bed...sit on the toilet...lay my things down...or take a shower! Also there is no pool it's drained...that topped it off...the location is right next to the highway which is good but it's in a unsafe part of town...

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gwendysuethurman, Public Relations Manager at Days Inn & Suites Tampa Near Ybor City, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Thank you for choosing the America's Best Value Inn Tampa, Florida. We are in the middle of a renovation which is why our pool is closed for repair. We apologize for falling short of you expectations, we will address your concerns with our staff to ensure that we don't make the same mistakes again.

Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

The staff were rude, the pool is disgusting, rooms are nice minus the dirty floors, poorly painted walls, chipped paint on the doors, and they give you itty bitty towels. Other then that the rooms are beautiful if you delete the image of the dirty floor and messed up paint job. I liked the room and bathroom. Of course there is an empty space from the door to the actual bed area in some rooms.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gwendysuethurman, Guest Relations Manager at Days Inn & Suites Tampa Near Ybor City, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Thank you for choosing Americas Best Value Inn Tampa, Florida we are please you chose to stay with us. I am glad you noticed our new furnishings, as you can see we are in the middle of a pretty large renovation which is why the pool was closed during you stay and you were unable to use it. We Thank you for your comments as it is guest like you that help us to improve our product. Our renovation should be complete by mid summer and we hope that you give us another try. I would like to ask for more information regarding rooms? I notice you said "of course there is an empty space from the door to the bed area is some rooms" I'm not sure what you are referring to so I am not sure how to address it, Did you have multiple rooms? We would love you feedback.

Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martha's Vineyard, Massachusetts
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

don't stay very bad smell very dirty place I travel a lot I never seen any thing like that place carpets was filthy the rooms the same stay away from this dump I check the sheets and they wear very dirty

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gwendysuethurman, Guest Relations Manager at Days Inn & Suites Tampa Near Ybor City, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Thank you for choosing the America Best Value inn in Tampa, We thank you for you comments. We are in the process of doing a major renovation to improve our product and we have already made several changes with new furniture, Flat screen Televisions new mattresses with even more updates coming. Thank you for you comments we are working diligently to improve our product for you.

Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DELAND, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

no phones, no microwave, no coffee pot. room had bed and tv only. heaters dont work. breakfast is coffee only. rooms filthy. so small that towels are on top of the tv!! they do not honor club member upgrade either. stay away from this dump.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gwendysuethurman, Guest Relations Manager at Days Inn & Suites Tampa Near Ybor City, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Thank you for choosing the America Best Value inn in Tampa, We thank you for you comments. We are in the process of doing a major renovation to improve our product . We Thank you for your comments as we are working diligently to make it better for our Guest.

Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

This hotel seems to have been recently acquired by what impressed to be well intentioned and friendly but amateurish operators that appeared to be of Indian origin. The room was missing a clothes rack and hangers. The bathroom was missing soap and towel holders and the towels themselves were really old, almost threadbare, some with stains and most with areas that allow me to see through the leftover fabric. There were roaches in the bathtub. There was no iron or ironing board or microwave oven in the room. I had to ask for an iron and an ironing board at the front desk. They were old ones, ready to be discarded, The iron had some old, burnout substance sticking to the plate.The TV had awful reception. The TV was on top of some kind of dresser with open shelves and I had to leave my underwear, socks and other personal items in plain view. I will not stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bexbach
Level Contributor
207 reviews
205 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

there had been a police visit in the hotel in the night when i arrived .
the rooms are really old and not very clean . broken furniture .
only stay there again if nothing else is available.
Wifi and parking is free .
expect nothing !
Breakfast is only coffee , juice and a cereal bar .

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
6.8 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#105 of 160 in Tampa
3.0 of 5 stars 32 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Near Fairgrounds Ybor City
3.1 mi away
Red Roof Inn Tampa Fairgrounds
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Red Roof Inn Tampa Brandon
4.0 mi away
The Barrymore Hotel Tampa Riverwalk
5.3 mi away
Baymont Inn and Suites Tampa near Busch Gardens/USF
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn & Suites Tampa Near Ybor City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn & Suites Tampa Near Ybor City

Address: 2905 North 50th Street, Tampa, FL 33619 (Formerly Americas Best Value Inn Tampa)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #130 of 160 Hotels in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Days Inn & Suites Tampa Near Ybor City 1.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Days Inn & Suites Tampa Near Ybor City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Days Inn & Suites Tampa Near Ybor City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.