We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice youth hostel for sportteams not for a holiday or business” 1 of 5 stars
Review of SpringHill Suites by Marriott Tampa North / Tampa Palms

Save Saved
You added SpringHill Suites by Marriott Tampa North / Tampa Palms to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Tampa North / Tampa Palms
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5396 Primrose Lake Circle, Tampa, FL 33647   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #20 of 159 hotels in Tampa
swiss
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Nice youth hostel for sportteams not for a holiday or business”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2011 via mobile

The hotel is new.got nice rooms but this was the worst hotel I ever stayed in.service is a dirty word for them.the teams were very loud and running through the whole building.breakfast was horrible.breakfast didn't offer bread. Manager was terrible too.we escaped from this hotel after 3 nights because of the groups.off course I don't blame the la crosse boys for this because they were excited,can't blame them at all but the hotel should better warn the other guests for enormous groups like this.the conditioner was terrible,so much noise that we were not able to sleep.never had an experience like this before.we are on a holiday because I must relax a little bit.because of my condition. but unfortunately no relaxation at all. I almost forget to,mention that the bananas at breakfast were almost rotten.the shower had almost no pressure so very uncomfortable too.pool was dirty.computer was working fine.WiFi was good.housekeeper friendly also the nice guy from maintenance was a good fellow.Kate was one of the kind frontdesk employee.the young guy was very rude but the manager tried to compensate me for his horrible behaviour at check in.I feel so very,very sorry for the elderly couple staying in de room close to ours.they were so lovely but were also bothered by all those groups.the first group was 75 people and the second group were a lot too.this is not a hotel up to,marriott standards but more like a cheap hostel.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shstampa, General Manager at SpringHill Suites by Marriott Tampa North / Tampa Palms, responded to this review, January 7, 2011
I will respond to this comment as well, though it is from the same person as above. Again I apologize that you did not enjoy your stay with us, we did everything within our power to make your group happy, but it seems nothing we did was enough. It is evident from our other comments, and being ranked number 6 of all Springhill Suites in the world, that our hotel is nothing like a youth hostel, we are rather a typical hotel that caters to all sorts of different guests, and different guests needs, which includes traveling sports teams. Again I am sorry we were unable to make you happy, you had seemed very happy with the resolution I offered when we last spoke. I had very much enjoyed my conversations with you, but it is evident from these two comments that listening to everything you had to say every day you were here and agreeing to every request you had was not enough.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    78
    52
    8
    9
    4
See reviews for
65
20
8
38
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
miami
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2010

My family and I enjoyed our one night stay. The rooms are comfortable and well designed, The lobby and breakfast areas were well appointed, with lots of light and comfortable furniture. Breakfast was included and offered the standard chain-of-this'-price variety of make your own waffles, cereals, instant eggs and microwave sausage. Though the location is a bit remote, it's a nice area out of the bustle near Busch Gardens, and perfect if traveling on I75 and want a place close to it.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2010

I stayed here for four days while some work was being done at my house. I really enjoyed staying here, it was new, clean and they had a nice buffet breakfast. It was a pet friendly hotel and I was able to bring my two cats with me too!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2010

Stayed here in September 2010. Hotel was perfect in every way. Will stay here again next time I am in the area.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tbo01
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2010

I recently stayed at this hotel and I absolutely loved it.The staff was friendly and very helpful. The rooms were beautiful and they had a modern look to them. The lobby decor was very pretty. The beds slept comfortably. The only negative thing I have to say is the breakfast should have offered more hot cereals. I really enjoyed my visit and I plan to stay here again whenever i'm in the Tampa area.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queens, NY
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2010

Stayed at this Springhill Suites for a weekend stay in Tampa. Check in was smooth, except when we asked for adjoining rooms, it created a bit of confusion b/c my room had a King bed while my family's had double beds. I stated numerous times that I'll take 2 doubles instead of a King but I think they were so eager to please and honor the original reservation that they made it harder on themselves. In the end, though-adjoining rooms on the 5th floor, no problem.

Room was very large and comfortable, beautiful flat screen LG TV, plenty of towels. Working microwave and fridge, very convenient. Room temperature controls worked fine in my room, but in my family's room, it was very hot and they could not change it. Turned out to be a hotel-wide problem that management took care of ASAP.

Breakfast in the mornings was plentiful and left out much longer than the stated time-very convenient. Muffins, pastries, cereals, bagels, english muffins, hot sausage links, scrambled eggs (altho they looked like powdered eggs, I would avoid) and a Belgian waffle maker. Fresh coffee (very good, very strong), juices and water are available.

Did not use the pool or the gym, but both looked very nice. Did take advantage of the Business Center in the lobby to check in for my flight and print my boarding pass. Very convenient, no problems at all.

The hotel was VERY empty while we were there. Every night, there were only about 6 cars in the lot and I'm sure most of those belonged to the staff. It is off the beaten path and in a commercial area surrounded by trees. This was my only concern. There was absolutely no security. You simply walk right into the hotel and pass by the front desk to go to the elevator or the stairs. Many times we came in and there was nobody at the front desk. Since I am claustrophobic, I was ecstatic that the hotel had open stairs available for me to use. However, I realized as I was walking them that there were no cameras in the stairs and just how easy it is to access the guest rooms. That is my only complaint and why I rate the hotel overall at very good, instead of excellent.

Got a great bargain at $89.00/night. Just hope it gets a little busier because otherwise, this big pretty hotel is in the middle of nowhere, for nothing.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2010

Stayed here while we took the children to Busch Gardens. The hotel staff was quite pleasant. The hotel is modern with separate toilet from the shower area. This was great for getting dressed in the morning. The free breakfast was great and included belgian waffles, which is my son's favorite breakfast.

There was pool in the back of the hotel and it was nice. The water was warm.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to SpringHill Suites by Marriott Tampa North / Tampa Palms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites by Marriott Tampa North / Tampa Palms

Address: 5396 Primrose Lake Circle, Tampa, FL 33647
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites by Marriott Tampa North / Tampa Palms 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the NEW Springhill Suites Tampa North! Spacious suites, hot breakfast, upgraded amenities and an inspiring design will ensure each stay with us is revitalizing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Marriott, Expedia, Tingo, Otel, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your SpringHill Suites by Marriott Tampa North / Tampa Palms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites By Marriott Tampa North / Tampa Palms Hotel Tampa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SpringHill Suites by Marriott Tampa North / Tampa Palms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.