We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bright and Friendly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of SpringHill Suites by Marriott Tampa North / Tampa Palms

Save Saved
You added SpringHill Suites by Marriott Tampa North / Tampa Palms to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Tampa North / Tampa Palms
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5396 Primrose Lake Circle, Tampa, FL 33647   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #24 of 159 hotels in Tampa
Troy, Michigan
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Bright and Friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

The employees here, especially the front desk, are extremely friendly, helpful and welcoming. We had many questions about the area and they were always more than happy to help. I actually found the location near I75 and Bruce B Downs very convenient, and there is ample parking at the hotel. Our room was bright, clean and comfortable with plenty of space to spread out and relax. I was happy to see a recycling in the room! My only complaints are: the bathroom setup in the room - the door is difficult to open and close, and since it's separate from the shower there is no trash can; and the complimentary breakfast. The items were not well stocked, we went down around 8:30am and many items were out and no one came to refill them while we were there. Lacking in variety, and the eggs tasted watery and cold. However, there's a McDonald's right around the corner, so we were still able to get a convenient breakfast. I'd definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    79
    52
    8
    10
    4
See reviews for
66
20
8
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Having moved from Tampa to another state for a while, I come back to visit friends often. This is my first stay at this hotel but I have found a keeper. It is in north Tampa near Wesley Chapel. Yes, Bruce B Downs gets a little congested but what road in Tampa doesn't?
The lobby is whimsical and lovely in ocean shades of blue. You may not be near the beach but you will feel like you are! The entire hotel is immaculately clean and tidy. The room is extremely spacious so you do not feel like you are cooped up away from the Florida sunshine. The breakfast room is sunny, cheery and welcoming and the breakfast itself is very nice. Nothing fancy but everything well presented, neat and tasty. The front desk has been very helpful. I was scheduled to stay at another hotel for the next few nights (to be closer to the Gasparilla marathon events) but I asked the front desk clerk if there were any vacancies here for the next 2 nights. I told her I would get back to her when I decided. Later, when I firmly decided to stay, I found that she had already gone ahead and held the room for me without even being asked as she explained it was getting full and she could always cancel it. So thoughtful! That is what makes a good hotel and outstanding hotel! There is a nice pool, small but comfortable. This is a pet friendly hotel so on my next visit, the pup is coming along!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

This is a good alternative if you want to be on the north/northeast side of Tampa. We were going to Busch Gardens, so it was perfect. It's right next to I-75, which is great for convenience, but, as I found out the hard way, is really noisy throughout the entire night due to the volume of trucking. The noise was bad enough that I had a really hard time sleeping the first night. After the first night, I asked to be switched to a room on the farthest end of the hotel facing away from the highway. Even though the hotel was heavily booked, Laurel was great at finding me a room that worked and the rest of my stay was much more pleasant. The rooms are decent size and the bed is fairly comfortable. The bathrooms have opaque glass doors, which look pretty stylish, but are not the greatest for function because if someone goes to the bathroom in the middle of the night or showers really early the light shines through the glass and makes it hard to sleep. Also, the doors are noisy and heavy and make a loud bang when closed which can also wake up the other room occupant. None of this stuff should be deal breakers, but is just small things that I noticed during my four nights there. The breakfast is good except that the oatmeal is placed in a place that makes it really difficult and almost dangerous to get to because one has to reach up and over a glass canopy to maneuver the ladel while simultaneously holding a bowl under the canopy. Hopefully, someone from the hotel will read this and move it so it is more easily accessible. Anyway, overall a good place to stay if you need to be near USF or any of the area hospitals or is you are going to Busch Gardens. If you are a light sleeper and need a really quiet room, make sure to request a room on the back side of the hotel away from I-75.

Room Tip: Get a room facing away from I-75 and at the farthest end of the hotel away from I-75, otherwise the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medellin, Colombia
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Fairly new, a little tricky to find, next to the USAA builnding which is the tallest in the area.
Small pool, no jacuzzi, good breakfast.
Not a big fan of the bathroom set-up, shower is in a different room from sink, just seems a bit odd.
Nice big couch.
Fairly close to USF, but as stated - bruce b downs, the road close to the hotel, sucks at rush hour - lots of construction and traffic.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Etna, WY
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

We drove into Tampa the day before our flight home and really were lucky to find this place. It was immaculately clean and our room was very well appointed. The staff was always smiling and we wished we had stayed here a few days longer. Would absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olathe, Kansas
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Stayed here on business after selecting it from the corporate travel site. Was not really sure where it was or what I was getting other than the Marriott name. First impression on walking into the main lobby was very contemporary/European, bright, and tropical. The rooms are similar, clean and roomy with a great work area. The morning breakfast was typical without anything out of the ordinary. We did a manager's reception one night that was very enjoyable. The manager was friendly, outgoing, and mingled with the guests making us feel welcomed. The next time in the area it will be the hotel of choice.

Room Tip: Bit of a challenge to find. Be sure to have directions or a Garmin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

New modern, European?, decor. Nice staff,good breakfast. Good location if you need to be on the Northwest side of Tampa. Location. Not so good if you want to be near the tourist places. Traffic at the intersection of I-75 and BruceB.Downs is awful due to major road construction. Otherwise the area is pretty with a very nice area for walking, eating and shopping.

Room Tip: All rooms are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yamini T, Front Office Manager at SpringHill Suites by Marriott Tampa North / Tampa Palms, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us here at the Marriott SpringHill Suites-Tampa North; it was a pleasure having you with us. I sincerely appreciate you taking the time to let us know about your experience, your feedback enables us to reflect on our performance and work on exceeding expectation next time. And completely agree with you for sometime about traffic due to construction BUT the good part is the bridge is completing soon and opening is this February end of month. Look forward to serve you soon next time! Thank you once again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to SpringHill Suites by Marriott Tampa North / Tampa Palms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites by Marriott Tampa North / Tampa Palms

Address: 5396 Primrose Lake Circle, Tampa, FL 33647
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites by Marriott Tampa North / Tampa Palms 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the NEW Springhill Suites Tampa North! Spacious suites, hot breakfast, upgraded amenities and an inspiring design will ensure each stay with us is revitalizing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Marriott, Expedia, Tingo, Otel, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your SpringHill Suites by Marriott Tampa North / Tampa Palms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites By Marriott Tampa North / Tampa Palms Hotel Tampa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SpringHill Suites by Marriott Tampa North / Tampa Palms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.