We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable and surprisingly modern!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of SpringHill Suites by Marriott Tampa North / Tampa Palms

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added SpringHill Suites by Marriott Tampa North / Tampa Palms to your Saves list
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Tampa North / Tampa Palms
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5396 Primrose Lake Circle, Tampa, FL 33647   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #24 of 159 Hotels in Tampa
Fort Myers, Florida
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Very comfortable and surprisingly modern!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

We stayed at the Springhill Suites on a weekend trip to Tampa for two nights (Friday/Satuday), and had zero complaints. When we first walked into the lobby, I was definitely surprised at how "chic" and modern the decor was. Props to Marriott for spiffing up their hotels! It felt almost like a boutique hotel. Very easy on the eyes, and was very clean as well.

Our room was super comfortable, and I just have one tip to give to those who are staying here for the first time- even though the window AC unit looks like you would manually turn it up or down (or on/off), don't be fooled like we were. The room has a wall thermostat by the door. We felt like total idiots after realizing this. Hey, we may be the only "slow" people who missed the very obvious-looking thermostat on the wall- but the fact that the window unit had it's own controls was very confusing! Once we found the thermostat, we were good to go. The bed was perfectly comfy and clean, and all the room decor was just as sleek and modern as the lobby. The shower was clean, and water temperature and pressure good. The room layout was a little odd- had a separate "bathroom" with a toilet and a mini sink in addition to the "big" sink with vanity and the shower. But, that's really just a side note- not a complaint!

Otherwise, we didn't take advantage of the continental breakfast because we met with friends each morning. But we passed it on the way out the door, and I can definitely say it looked and smelled really good. We took a peek at the pool, which is at the back of the property, but didn't actually use it (didn't bring our suits). Nothing really to write home about- but it looked clean (no leaves, dirt, etc.) and well-maintained. My only other observation about the hotel was that there wasn't always someone at the front desk. When I went down to grab some extra towels, I had to wait for maybe 5 minutes for someone to appear. It didn't bother me, as I was not in a hurry- but some might be! When the staff did appear, they were very polite, friendly, and accommodating.

Overall, we had a great experience and no problems at all. The property was easy to get to from the highway (75), checking in and checking out was very easy, and the room & lobby definitely met our expectations. Especially for the price! A great bargain, considering the obvious remodeling that's been done to the property.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    54
    8
    10
    5
See reviews for
71
20
8
40
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

This was a short but pleasant get-away for my husband and I for a few days. From the moment we entered the hotel until we left, the entire staff greeted us with a smile and appeared to love their job. Our room on the 4th floor was extraordinarily well layed out with sliding glass door separaters for privacy to do paperwork and a comfy leather swivel chair in the lounge area. We were very surprised that our Queen beds were more comfortable than our own at home. I learned that the architect of this wonderful hotel was a female professional who based the design of Springhill Suites on her own travel experiences with an understanding of what was needed to make guests feel comfortable and want to return. The complimentary breakfast was good, but we wished the cook had offered the choice of bacon with the scrambled eggs instead of sausage every day. Coffee was exceptional and the waffles addictive. I used the machines in the Gym every day which eased the guilt over indulging at the waffle station every morning. We will definately come back for another get-away next year. Hopefully, bacon will be included as one of the choices with our eggs for breakfast!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Staff was wonderful very friendly, and helpful! Everyone was super nice and courteous! This Springhill Suites is very modern and sophisticated. The lobby and breakfast area is very colorful and bright. The new color scheme is warm and inviting as soon as you walk into the lobby. The rooms have sliding doors to hide the bathroom area which is separated into 2 rooms: walkin shower, and sink, the other room has the toilet and another sink. The sliding glass/wooden door's adds to the modern layout of the room. This layout is very good if traveling with multiple people.
The breakfast was very good with a wide range of hot and cold items: eggs, ham, old fashioned oatmeal (very good), waffle station, cereal, yogurt, bagels, and pastries. Coffee was available 24/7 which is nice if you do not want to brew coffee in your room.
Not very far from restaurant's and shopping area. The GOP booked the entire Springhill suites I usually stay at for my monthly business trip to Tampa. I love the other location as well but the updated modern design has convinced me to come back in September to this location.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

The room was a clean big room with space to spread out and work. The internet service was slow which can really get in the way of getting your work done when you are getting ready for training or a presentation. It was a close drive to get to restaurants. The staff was helpful and pleasant.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

Property looks great from the outside and the rooms aren't too bad. Typical tropical insects in the room. But the MAIN thing that I was not happy about is how ______ slow the Internet is. The hotel during my stay was not nearly full. Wired or wireless? Forget it. You better bring a stamp and an envelope if you want to send someone a message. It will get there faster than email from this place.

Room Tip: IF you decide to stay here, ask to be on the west side away from I-75.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

We have come to expect anything when it comes to pet friendly hotels with the large chain hotels. To my surprise this new hotel was anything but ordinary. It's new, sleek, modern decor makes the rooms warm and inviting while maximizing space. We stayed for three nights in a Two queen bed suite with a toddler and our 90lbs dog without any problems or space restriction. We had plenty of room to spread out. The room even had a separate bath area from toilet facilities (separate sinks in each area!)...which was extremely handy. There was a HUGE closet to put the suitcases and non essentials away...which is a rare treat. The work station in the living room space was comfortable and convenient. Marriott definitely thought of everything when designing this space.The main lobby area mirrored the efficiency of design that the room had. The staff was super friendly and helpful! Housekeeping was incredibly punctual when needing additional help in the room.

The only thing to be aware of when staying at this particular location IS the location. While conviniently located off 75, you could hear the sound of traffic from the highway. If you are a light sleeper or not used to it, it may bother you. Also at the time of our visit, there was some heavy congestion on the main roads due to road construction so plan ahead when coming and going out of the area.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Brunswick, New Jersey
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

Stayed there for 4 nights. Building is very new and rooms are large and well conceived. There are 2 bathrooms in the suite which is very convenient. T AC is relatively quiet.
Staff was very friendly. The breakfast area is in the large lobby space, so morning rush is manageable. Ifound the whole property to be very clean.
The only reason, I did not rank it 5 stars, is that the internet connection was very slow. I tried both wired and wireless with similar results. Usind speedtest.net, some nights it max'd out at about 130 kbs. I switched to using my own MiFi hotspot.

Room Tip: bilding is perpendicular to Highway 75, so both sides have the same noise exposure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to SpringHill Suites by Marriott Tampa North / Tampa Palms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites by Marriott Tampa North / Tampa Palms

Address: 5396 Primrose Lake Circle, Tampa, FL 33647
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Tampa
#52 Business Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites by Marriott Tampa North / Tampa Palms 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the NEW Springhill Suites Tampa North! Spacious suites, hot breakfast, upgraded amenities and an inspiring design will ensure each stay with us is revitalizing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with AAA Travel Services, Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your SpringHill Suites by Marriott Tampa North / Tampa Palms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites By Marriott Tampa North / Tampa Palms Hotel Tampa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SpringHill Suites by Marriott Tampa North / Tampa Palms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.