We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, Clean, and Predictable (In a Good Way)” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Suites at Fairgrounds - Casino

Save Saved
You added Comfort Suites at Fairgrounds - Casino to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Comfort Suites at Fairgrounds - Casino
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4506 Oak Fair Boulevard, Tampa, FL 33610   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #3 of 159 hotels in Tampa
GreenLeadersBronze level
Raleigh, NC
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Comfortable, Clean, and Predictable (In a Good Way)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

There are certain things I expect from a budget hotel with the word "suites" in its title. Mainly, I expect an experience that is, if not exceptional, then at least well above average from its competitors. Here, Comfort Suites at Fairgrounds-Casino delivers. The hotel was everything I needed it to be. It had a welcoming exterior (never underestimate what newer brightly-colored paint can do for the psyche), a friendly and hassle-free check-in staff, bright lighting, a breakfast nook, a pool and workout facility (which I didn't use but appreciate nonetheless), sizable and clean guest rooms, big TVs, and a thorough lack of surprises. Everything worked as it should, and there were no quirks to the property. Some might say this renders a hotel too vanilla, and if I was looking for a unique place to stay with a family or a romantic getaway, I might agree. But for a business traveler who needs only a comfortable place to sleep, it's just about right. For excitement they can't provide on-site, the hotel offers a free shuttle to the nearby Hard Rock Hotel and Casino. Breakfast was of the standard "waffle maker meets cereal" variety, but the warm service by the breakfast staff made it extra nice - it's the first time a budget hotel employee has ever asked to clear my place when I was finished eating. Kudos for that - little touches make all the difference. Location is a drive from downtown Tampa, and you'll find the surrounding area devoid of much in the way of eating and shopping options. The only thing missing for the business traveler, in my opinion, is a nightly manager's reception to make the visit complete. Otherwise, for clean, predictable comfort at a reasonable rate, this may be your spot.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front side face the parking lot, rooms on the back side face the trees and a nearby hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortSuitesTampa, General Manager at Comfort Suites at Fairgrounds - Casino, responded to this review, September 20, 2011
Thank you 'Things4Bean' for your positive review of our hotel from your recent stay with us. We appreciate your feedback and are very happy that we met you expectations. We hope to have the pleasure of being of service to you again in the near future. See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

457 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    346
    85
    16
    6
    4
See reviews for
125
157
23
58
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2011

This was a fantastic hotel! Everything was clean the staff was always helpful and breakfast was the icing on the cake. I don't imagine we will EVER stay anywhere else when we visit Tampa. The location is off the beaten path but only a few minutes to all the attractions.

The pictures on the website actually looked just like the rooms and the hotel. The beds were clean and comfortable plus so was the sofa bed. We had 2 adults and 4 teenagers and the price of the room was more than reasonable.

If you are going to Busch Gardens/ Adventure Island then the hotel has length of stay tickets for both parks cheaper than you can buy online.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortSuitesTampa, General Manager at Comfort Suites at Fairgrounds - Casino, responded to this review, September 15, 2011
Thank you 'FamilyMenRule' for taking the time to share your experience about your stays here at the Comfort Suites Tampa Fairgrounds. We appreciate your positive review and feedback. We are glad to hear everything about our hotel is "awesome"! And yes, we do offer discounted Busch Gardens tickets! We look forward to accommodating you again on your next exciting visit to the Tampa Bay area! See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeLand, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

Another Mother-Daughter Hard Rock adventure and another stay at this wonderful hotel. Rooms are good size with refrigerator and microwave. Ice machine at the end of the hallway. Very clean and well kept. Wouldn't stay any place else. Staff is always friendly and accomodating. It's nice to have breakfast waiting for you in the morning and the selection is good.

Room Tip: Have stayed 5 times and haven't had a bad room yet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortSuitesTampa, General Manager at Comfort Suites at Fairgrounds - Casino, responded to this review, September 14, 2011
Thank you 'Sandra N' for taking the time to share your experience about your stays here at the Comfort Suites Tampa Fairgrounds. We appreciate your positive review and feedback, and look forward to accommodating you again on your next exciting 6th visit to the Tampa Bay area! See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral Springs, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2011

All 4 of us were TOTALLY satisfied here! VERY nice decor and VERY clean. Allowed early check in with no problem. Comfortable beds, nice big refrigerator and nice TV. BIG breakfast eating area and nice hot breakfast with scrambled eggs and sausage. Came here for Rockstar Uproar Festival. Last year we stayed at La Quinta next door. This year they forced you to stay 2 nights so we looked for other options. I'm SO glad they did. We will never go back there and will ALWAYS come to Comfort Suites for shows at the Fairgrouns.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortSuitesTampa, General Manager at Comfort Suites at Fairgrounds - Casino, responded to this review, September 6, 2011
Thank you 'Sentzel' for taking the time to share your experience about your recent stay here at the Comfort Suites Tampa Fairgrounds. We appreciate your positive review and feedback, and look forward to accommodating you again on your next exciting visit to the Tampa Bay area for whatever the occasion might be! See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Villages, Fl 32162
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2011

Very nice facility. Staff was extremely helpful and pleasant. Nice facility. Clean and NICE rooms. Eric, the shuttle bus driver was especially helpful and pleasant.

Room Tip: Very nice room. Large and comfortable. GREAT PILLOWS AND BED
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortSuitesTampa, General Manager at Comfort Suites at Fairgrounds - Casino, responded to this review, September 6, 2011
Thank you 'Dennis K' for taking the time to share your experience about your recent stay here at the Comfort Suites Tampa Fairgrounds. We appreciate your positive review and feedback, and look forward to accommodating you again on your next exciting visit to the Tampa Bay area! See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2011

The Comfort Suites is in walking distance to the Amphitheater, and is the ideal location for booking minutes after you order concert tickets. August 31st marked the second time we have done this and we enjoyed our stay on both occasions. The king suites are roomy, value-priced, and the color scheme is contemporary tropical, setting a cool laid back vibe. This hotel stands out among others in its class. Unfortunately our stay was tarnished by my leaving a toiletry bag behind. The front desk called right away and we returned within an hour- I tipped a small amount for their trouble only to find that all the contents remained in the bag except some expensive cologne. I chalk it up to experience, but the incident robbed the Hotel of its highest ranking. Regardless, we will return when we attend our next amphitheater concert.

Room Tip: We were told the shuttle takes visitors to and from the nearby Hard Rock Casino.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2011

excellent stay- we found service to be good and loved the free breakfast, room was very nice.we will be seeing you 9-18-2011. Our third stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortSuitesTampa, General Manager at Comfort Suites at Fairgrounds - Casino, responded to this review, September 4, 2011
Thank you 'Jacque H' for taking the time to share your experience about your recent stay here at the Comfort Suites Tampa Fairgrounds. We appreciate your positive review and feedback, and look forward to accommodating you again on your next exciting 4th visit to the Tampa Bay area! See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Suites at Fairgrounds - Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites at Fairgrounds - Casino

Address: 4506 Oak Fair Boulevard, Tampa, FL 33610
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#5 Family Hotel in Tampa
#9 Green Hotel in Tampa
#13 Business Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites at Fairgrounds - Casino 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Comfort Suites at Fairgrounds - Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites At Fairgrounds Hotel Tampa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Suites at Fairgrounds - Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.