We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it, with little exception” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Suites at Fairgrounds - Casino

Save Saved
You added Comfort Suites at Fairgrounds - Casino to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Comfort Suites at Fairgrounds - Casino
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4506 Oak Fair Boulevard, Tampa, FL 33610   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #2 of 158 hotels in Tampa
GreenLeadersBronze level
Midland, Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Loved it, with little exception”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2011

PROS: Clean, quiet, friendly staff, comfy bedding, big rooms
CONS: Hard to regulate room temperature

Definitely stay at Comfort Suites Fairgrounds, it's #1 for a reason!

We booked this hotel as a package with Busch Gardens tickets, and it was the best deal compared to getting the room & tickets a-la-carte. There was a deal for buy 2 nights get one FREE, loved that. The BG tickets were good for the length of our stay which you can't get without the package, which is BG's thing not these guys but definitely worth mentioning. The hotel had a FREE shuttle going to & from Busch Gardens as well as the casino (we didn't go to the casino but the option was there), very friendly driver who told us that the hotels closer to BG are NOT in a good neighborhood and many have bedbugs.

This NEW hotel looked just like the pictures, very trendy and modern, fun for a change. It was very clean, friendly staff. Upon check-in we were provided with a list of restaurants separated by type of food fare, along with directions. We liked that. The room was very close to the elevators which was a concern until we realized how quiet the room was!

The pool was kind of small, but the kids made the best of it. No hot tub but that was okay. It did smell a bit like propane or natural gas when we first entered the pool area but it dissipated quickly. Pool towels are available so you don't have to get your room towels dirty/wet.

As for the room itself, again it looked just like the pictures, with that cool turquoise color on some of the walls. It overlooked the parking lot, but again no big deal there. It was clean, quiet and had plenty of room for the four of us. Built-in nightlight in the bathroom. We have a 12-year-old girl and 9-year-old boy, so both needed their own space. Our daughter slept in the other queen bed and our son slept on the sofa bed, perfect. The beds were AWESOME, very comfy. Housekeeping staff gave the option of full cleaning service or just replacing the towels; we chose the latter since we'd be in & out a lot. The only thing that was aggravating was the thermostat: the room was either hot or cold, even though we changed the temperature by only one degree.

The breakfast was yummy, plenty of options including hot stuff (waffles, eggs, sausage, etc) and lasted until 9:30am so even those who sleep in could get a bite. Coffee is available 24/7 if you need caffeine later than noon :) We used the business area to access our e-mail, check the weather, etc. which was convenient too. We didn't use the fitness center but it was well-equipped.

Overall, we loved our stay. The only other thing that would have made it better was if the rain had held off until we left, but that's not under their control.

Room Tip: Definitely read the most recent reviews!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

412 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    316
    74
    13
    5
    4
See reviews for
111
147
22
51
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Redwood, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2011

The rooms were clean and the beds, including the pullout sofa were excellent after a long day at busch gardens. The deluxe breakfast was great and a valuable perk with the kids. Fitness center and pool were clean a nd nice. The best part was the staff. The shuttle drivers were excellent and having drove to theme parks and delt with parking and lines to leave, the shuttle is the only way i ever want to go again. I cant say enough good things about our stay and when we do it again it will definately be here!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2011

Trip Advisor nominated this property as the 13th best hotel in the united states. I can't believe such a fine property didn't make it to the top 10.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericton, NB
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2011

Public areas and room were clean. Water pressure in the shower was adequate. Extra area in room with couch was welcome. Breakfast was fine, what you would expect from an included breakfast.

All in all no problems with this hotel, would stay here again.

They did double charge my credit card for the stay, but after a quick call, that was (will be) reversed.

One note though... The interior decorator must have been off her meds when meking decisions about this hotel. BRight orage and green hallways with psychedelic carpeting make for an interesting walk to your (equally brightly decorated) room. If that's my only complaint though, your doing ok.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgewater, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2011

My husband & I celebrated our 24th wedding anniversay in Tampa. We stayed at the Comfort Suites for 3 nights. The room was clean,comfortable, & spacious. The staff was polite & helpful. They had a great hot breakfast & a business center with several computers. They had free shuttle service to Busch Gardens & The Hard Rock Casino as well as other locations. We relly liked the fact that the hotel was close to Busch Gardens & the Hard Rock without being in downtown Tampa. We will be staying at this hotel again in the very near future.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortSuitesTampa, General Manager at Comfort Suites at Fairgrounds - Casino, responded to this review, March 11, 2011
I appreciate you taking the time to write a wonderful review for our brand new hotel. I am very glad that your time in the Tampa area was enjoyable. It was a pleasure to be able to serve you and I hope that we will be able to be of service to you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Fl
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2011

We just spent the weekend at the hotel and it was wonderful. I was apprehensive at first because they would not let us check in until 300 but they were very kind about it. Eric the shuttle driver was very kind and apologetic because the shuttle had gotten behind schedule. The beds were very comfortable, the breakfast was great and the location was perfect! Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortSuitesTampa, General Manager at Comfort Suites at Fairgrounds - Casino, responded to this review, March 9, 2011
I appreciate you taking the time to write a wonderful review for our brand new hotel. I am very glad that your time in the Tampa area was enjoyable. It was a pleasure to be able to serve you and I hope that we will be able to be of service to you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daytona Beach, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2011

Was with a large group, everyone was very pleased with the rooms and the hotel staff was outstanding! I have stayed in many hotels and this compares to many that I have paid double the price. We will definitely stay again! The free hot breakfast made it even a better value for the money, We also appreciated the shuttle to the Hard Rock Casino.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortSuitesTampa, Manager at Comfort Suites at Fairgrounds - Casino, responded to this review, March 9, 2011
I appreciate you taking the time to write a wonderful review for our brand new hotel. I am very glad that your time in the Tampa area was enjoyable. It was a pleasure to be able to serve you and I hope that we will be able to be of service to you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Comfort Suites at Fairgrounds - Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites at Fairgrounds - Casino

Also Known As:
Comfort Suites At Fairgrounds Hotel
Comfort Suites At Fairgrounds Hotel Tampa
Address: 4506 Oak Fair Boulevard, Tampa, FL 33610
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#2 Luxury Hotel in Tampa
#3 Family Hotel in Tampa
#7 Green Hotel in Tampa
#20 Business Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites at Fairgrounds - Casino 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Tingo, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere, Travelocity and Otel so you can book your Comfort Suites at Fairgrounds - Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Suites at Fairgrounds - Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.