We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best West Central Florida River” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hillsborough River

Hillsborough River
1101 East River Cove, Tampa, FL 33612
813-975-2160
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 97 Attractions in Tampa
Type: Forests, Bodies of Water, Outdoors
Activities: Camping, Kayaking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: State park campground in forest and along river.
Tampa Florida
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Best West Central Florida River”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

We live in Tampa and the Hillsborough River has become our favorite break from everyday life. Camping in the park is as good as it get's. A canoe ride anywhere on the river brings you within inches of nature. Everything from intimidating gators to delicate dragonflys. Keep an eye out for swimming critters, fish and turtles.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    33
    9
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Oceano
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Take a canoe ride down the river”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

I have been canoeing down the Hillsborough River since I was a child & recently took my husband out to experience what I used to do. He loved it just as much as I always had. It is a great place to take in nature, watch turtles, fish, & gators. Oh the gators! :)

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Best bike ride”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Took a bike ride along the Hillsborough river near 301.
Smooth pavement, nice scenery, peaceful, and alot of the bike path was shaded.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Fl
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Movie and dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

One stop dinner and movie. Food wasn't bad and the service is well timed with the start of the movie. Reservations are a must - place isn't that big.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brockton
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“the riverwalk”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

very nice walkway along the river ..clean...lots of nice landscaping...along the river all the way to the aquarium in downtown tampa

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hillsborough River also viewed

 

Been to Hillsborough River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hillsborough River, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.