We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nature but not much else” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hillsborough River

Hillsborough River
1101 East River Cove, Tampa, FL 33612
813-975-2160
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 89 attractions in Tampa
Type: Bodies of Water, Forests
Activities: Camping, Kayaking
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: State park campground in forest and along river.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Nature but not much else”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

If you were looking to get away and see nature, then do this. If you are looking to stop and picnic or eat at a restaurant, then change plans. Fortunately, we packed our own lunches and thoroughly enjoyed this canoe trip down the river. Gators, turtles, and other wildlife.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    31
    9
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Big state park with a small fee”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Have been to the Hillsborough River State Park 5 times now and each time we find a new path to follow. Loved the canopy of trees (shade in Florida is a blessing). Bring your camera because, even if your don't see wild pigs or alligators or turtles or birds or fish, you will want to capture the beautiful river and the foliage.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Dirty River but a good float”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Went on the river for on the way to Gasperilla. I put in at the boat ramp near the Lowery Park Zoo which was a nice ramp with bathrooms. The river goes right into the heart of tampa where the Pirate ship docks. I wouldnt suggest swimming in the river

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinellas Park, Florida
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great state park experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Great camping facility. River at great level for kayaks and canoes.
Wonderful picnic area. Very shaded. Our dog loves the walking trails.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great River Walk”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Loved the riverside walkway, very scenic. The only downside is that it is discontinuous at several points with signs pointing you to a downtown sidewalk a block away and then back to the walk. I hope they can complete the walk, then it would be 5 star.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hillsborough River also viewed

 

Been to Hillsborough River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hillsborough River, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hillsborough River to your Saves list