We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big state park with a small fee” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hillsborough River

Hillsborough River
1101 East River Cove, Tampa, FL 33612
813-975-2160
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Recommended
$70*
and up
Helicopter Tour of Tampa Bay and Davis Island
Ranked #26 of 153 things to do in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: State park campground in forest and along river.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Big state park with a small fee”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Have been to the Hillsborough River State Park 5 times now and each time we find a new path to follow. Loved the canopy of trees (shade in Florida is a blessing). Bring your camera because, even if your don't see wild pigs or alligators or turtles or birds or fish, you will want to capture the beautiful river and the foliage.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
58 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Dirty River but a good float”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Went on the river for on the way to Gasperilla. I put in at the boat ramp near the Lowery Park Zoo which was a nice ramp with bathrooms. The river goes right into the heart of tampa where the Pirate ship docks. I wouldnt suggest swimming in the river

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank nwd07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinellas Park, Florida
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great state park experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Great camping facility. River at great level for kayaks and canoes.
Wonderful picnic area. Very shaded. Our dog loves the walking trails.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great River Walk”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Loved the riverside walkway, very scenic. The only downside is that it is discontinuous at several points with signs pointing you to a downtown sidewalk a block away and then back to the walk. I hope they can complete the walk, then it would be 5 star.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Radgram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Land O Lakes FL
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Scenic!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

I've been kayaking on the Hillsborough river a few times and each time is great. There is a lot to see. Plants and wildlife for sure! I wouldn't recommend getting in the water due to the alligators! I've seen all sorts of birds and turtles along the river. Very pretty, very "everglades".

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hillsborough River also viewed

 

Been to Hillsborough River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing