We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tampa Airport North, FL to your Saves list
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tampa Airport North, FL
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8109 Benjamin Road, Tampa, FL 33634   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #49 of 159 Hotels in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles area
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Very comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2010

This hotel is located in sort of an industrial park-kind of neighborhood, so there's nothing much immediately adjacent. But a quick drive will take you to everything you need. Plus, we found its location convenient to everything we wanted to do in Tampa, including being just minutes away from the airport. The room was very comfortable, new-looking and very clean. The included breakfast was adequate. I wished it was available later than the 9:30 a.m. deadline, but that's probably because I wasn't adjusted to the local time zone. Our room had everything we needed. And even though the hotel was directly in the airport's flight path, we never heard a sound in our room. Staff was efficient and accommodating. A good place for a good night's sleep.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    87
    37
    18
    17
See reviews for
103
98
27
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2010

One of the clients chose this hotel, so we all stayed there for 1 night in August, 2010. It was new, room was clean and comfortable, thermostat and A/C worked well (a definite plus in the heat and humidity of a Florida August!), and the free breakfast buffet was good. Since the room was under $70, I think it represented good value.
One tip- There is an auto shop right behind the hotel, and one of the guys had a room on the ground floor close to it. He was kept awake until late because of work being done at the shop, and the view from his window was of a wall. By contrast my room was on the front of the hotel and was wonderfully quiet, so I think you may prefer a higher floor in the front.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2010

Great stay at this hotel, arrived a little early no problem in checking in. Breakfast was Hot and Good !!! Room was clean and fresh smelling. Plus the added benefit of Jazzy's BBQ across the street. The BEST !!!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2010

When we pulled upto the hotel, it had just been robbed. We hesitated to go in because of the two squad cars. We also noticed the airplane passing over every five minutes (it's in the middle of the flight pattern). When we checked in they assigned room 201, which hadn't had maid service and there were beer bottles.

HOWEVER - the staff was very nice and courteous... We inquired about the robbery, and the planes. Turns out the robbery was a fluke thing (no gun), and the building is soundproof so the planes never bothered us at all for our two night stay. The room thing was just an honest mistake (it was late when we checked in). So, the hotel was very clean, and the complimentary breakfast was A+ (eggs, sausage, waffles, and goof (drink choices). I would recommend to anyone & stay again myself.

In the end, we all laughed about how it all started off on the wrong foot. :)

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawsonville, Georgia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2010

Probably one of the worst stays I have ever had at a Country Inn and Suites. I have stayed in other properties throughout the Southeast and they are usually a good value, but this one in Tampa had several major problems.

1 Room: Room we checking into was not cleaned, had to be switched to another room. This was not much better which we found out later that night.
Hair everywhere. I have short hair, my wife has blonde hair. Long black hairs everywhere: on bed, on bathroom floor, etc. The African American gentleman at the front desk could not give a satisfactory explanation other than "we are working on it."

2 Breakfast: Besides the small breakfast, and messy breakfast room (we were there early and food was still on the floor- we guess from the day before) There was also no breakfast person. I don't expect to have a waiter as it is a self-serve breakfast, but do I have to go up to the front desk to tell them their OJ is empty, and again when they are out of forks and again when...etc.? Also the one apple I picked up was rotten: not a good sign.

3 Service: We checked in late and they put us in a dirty room, no apology given, just "Housekeeping is having trouble" Also the front desk supervisor had no apology in the morning.

All in all a very unforgettable stay.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2010

My stay was great at this hotel. Not too far from the beaches and Busch Gardens. Breakfast was pretty good- included bacon, eggs, sausage, waffles, pancakes and more. The service was on point and the room was very comfortable and well designed. The only issue I had was the A/C. When it was on, it was loud and if you were to walk past the vent, the cold air would blow right on you as if you just walked into a freezer. Other than that, I loved the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2010

I stayed for 4 nights on a business trip in July. The room was spacious and comfortable. The pool was great. Breakfast has a nice variety of hot and cold food. The staff were very helpful and friendly. There is even a small number of books to check out which can be returned at any Country Inn and Suite Hotel. I really enjoyed my stay and the price was incredible.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tampa Airport North, FL? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tampa Airport North, FL

Address: 8109 Benjamin Road, Tampa, FL 33634
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#32 Family Hotel in Tampa
#48 Business Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tampa Airport North, FL 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Carlson, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tampa Airport North, FL reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites Tampa Airport n
Country Inn & Suites Tampa Airport n Hotel Tampa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tampa Airport North, FL, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.