We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Very Decent Mid Priced Tampa Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites Tampa Airport N

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Country Inn & Suites Tampa Airport N to your Saves list
Country Inn & Suites Tampa Airport N
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8109 Benjamin Road, Tampa, FL 33634   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #59 of 159 Hotels in Tampa
Palm Harbor, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A Very Decent Mid Priced Tampa Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

My girlfriend is a member of the Club Carlson rewards program and one of their brands, along with Raddison and Park Plaza, happens to be Country Inn & Suites. As single parents we try at least once a month to take mini vacations to get away from the kids and have some alone time. On one of these getaways my girlfriend decided to use her rewards points to get us a room at Country Inn's Tampa Airport location on Benjamin Road, just south of Waters. The funny thing was this Hotel is literally minutes from her house, yet staying there gave us a much needed break.

The Benjamin location is convenient to Tampa International Airport as well as Veteran's Expressway which is a primary conduit to I-275 which leads to the downtown Tampa business district and I-4. In the area around the hotel there are numerous restaurants, store, and entertainment venues. The AMC Veteran's movie complex is less than five minutes away and is surrounded by restaurants and even a nightclub. Waters and Hillsborough Avenues are equally lined with restaurants and stores and nearby Dale Mabry Hwy has many of the larger chain restaurants including Bonefish, Carrabba's, Red Lobster, Outback, and many more.

My girlfriend arrived first and checked us into the room so I missed that part of the experience. When I arrived the first thing I noticed was how new everything looked which makes perfect sense given this property only opened in 2009. The lobby was clean and nicely done with a small seating area with wood accents.

I made my way up the elevator to our room to find my girlfriend had lined the top of the dresser with votive candles and rose petals. Even though the hotel isn't particularly romantic she proved one can change the atmosphere on one's own.

The room itself was spacious with a king size bed, dresser, writing desk, and cushioned chair. The furniture looked very new as it should being just over four years old. Dark woods and earth tones were the attractive theme. A decent sized flat panel TV sat on the dresser. The bathroom, like the room was very clean and spacious. Some of the rooms even have whirlpool baths, although ours did not, unfortunately. The amenities included the usual microwave, small refrigerator, ironing board, iron, hair dryer, and toiletries.

The view from the room was not particularly inspiring, looking over the parking lot and Benjamin Road. But then again this hotel was exactly designed for romance. The room did have free wifi, but the hotel as a whole is smoke free so if that is a need you have you will want to look elsewhere.

Complimentary breakfast is available and although we decided to go out for breakfast it did look very inviting with pastries and cereals and multiple beverage selections. The hotel has a nice sized pool with a deck. There is also an onsite gym, but as we were only here overnight neither of us tried it out.

Overall for the price, the location, the newness of the facilities and furnishings I would rate this location a very good value.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMTampa33634, Manager at Country Inn & Suites Tampa Airport N, responded to this review, yesterday
We sincerely appreciate your time and effort to write us a very thorough and insightful review. I am excited to hear that we have been an important part of your short but meaningful getaway. It is very rewarding to hear from you on this matter and we appreciate that you have acknowledged our efforts to provide a clean, comfortable, convenient and hospitable experience. We hope your next stay will be even more enjoyable!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    66
    27
    13
    15
See reviews for
83
79
21
44
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, UK
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The lobby was dreary and unwelcoming. The whole place is shabby and looks as though it needs an update. We had to wait over ten minutes to check in. The one member of staff on duty kept breaking off to answer telephone calls and customers simply had to stand and wait until she finished.One person was smoking (unchallenged) in a non-smoking area. Our bed linen was stained and we found hairs in the bed, giving the impression that the bed had not been changed prior to our arrival. The hotel boasts proper cutler and crockery (not plastic) at breakfast but these were filthy withfood remains, so much so that they could not be used. The breakfast area was dirty and untidy. My special medical/dietary needs were not met (even though they had been acknowledged when we made our reservation) - and we were given no apology for this. We certainly won't be going back!

Room Tip: Avoid this hotel if you possibly can. There is a Hampton just next door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMTampa33634, Manager at Country Inn & Suites Tampa Airport N, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
We are very sorry to hear that you experienced such unusual circumstances and inconveniences during your most recent stay with us. We hope that you will accept our sincerest apologies for our staff availability, your medical needs that were not met, our other guest that was smoking and for failing to meet your expectations regarding the cleanliness of our bedding, crockery and cutlery during your visit. While we do not allow guests to smoke in non-smoking areas, it occasionally happens that they do and your feedback will help us to address the issue more effectively. We hope you'll return someday to see how we have addressed and improved upon the other issues with cleanliness and staff service and efficiency.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Nice hotel. Rooms are clean and updated. We arrived after 9pm and there were no parking spaces. We were told that the hotel wasn't full that a lot of people went on cruises and left their vehicles. there was no alternative parking to use. We parked in the area near the door. Others lined up in the same line. The second night was even worse. Hotel was busier and people parked everywhere including the driveways. Clearly violating the fire lane...hope they never need a fire truck.

Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMTampa33634, Manager at Country Inn & Suites Tampa Airport N, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you for sharing this review. I do apologize for any inconveniences that you experienced due to our parking arrangement and the high volume of guests during your stay. Rest assured that this issue is being addressed with our staff and management. Thank you again for sharing your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cleveland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed for a week over Christmas, having stayed here last year as well. All in all a very nice pleasant stay! Lobby was your typical Country inn, and cozy. Rooms were very nice and well equipped. The desk manager Jeri treated me and others like family and she was very accommodating, however there was one other front desk worker who was very cold and curt when I would ask just a simple question (Perhaps she was having a bad day). The remaining front desk workers were great. The maintenance worker kept the pool clean which was nice, and he was pleasant. You always saw him dusting cobwebs or cleaning the floor etc. which was great to see! For being a full hotel they kept up with it pretty well, but I did notice that the coffee station did get a little messy. Breakfast was decent, but there could be more variety. Hotel was full, and no parking left. They should not allow cruise passengers to use the parking lot all week when the Hotel is full. It irritates the staying guests, who have to search for a parking space all week. There was even an incident while I was there regarding the parking space issue. They should just tell the cruise passengers "no" or lease the lot next door for them. Hopefully, the hotel will be able to keep up the pace and not go downhill by being overwhelmed with the amount of guests.

Room Tip: All the rooms are nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMTampa33634, Manager at Country Inn & Suites Tampa Airport N, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
I regret to hear that you weren't thoroughly impressed with our accommodations and services at first, though I am so glad that our attentive and understanding staff members were able to turn things around for you with fresh surroundings and welcoming hospitality. We appreciate how you have let us know what areas of our service impressed you and which were lacking. Your satisfaction and enjoyment are very important to us. We especially appreciate the tips for future guests who can benefit from such advice. We do understand that many of our guests have different needs and we try to accommodate those needs to the best of our ability. Your comments and suggestions will help us to recognize our strengths and improve upon our weaknesses. Reviews like yours are extremely helpful in our ambition to continuously improve upon the guest experience and I hope you'll return to see how we grow and evolve. We greatly appreciate the time you've taken to rate our hotel and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Country Inn & Suites Tampa Airport N? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites Tampa Airport N

Address: 8109 Benjamin Road, Tampa, FL 33634
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#28 Business Hotel in Tampa
#34 Family Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites Tampa Airport N 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Country Inn & Suites Tampa Airport N reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites Tampa Airport n
Country Inn & Suites Tampa Airport n Hotel Tampa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites Tampa Airport N, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.