We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fine airport choice, but lacking that special something” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites Tampa Airport N

Save Saved
You added Country Inn & Suites Tampa Airport N to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites Tampa Airport N
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8109 Benjamin Road, Tampa, FL 33634   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 159 hotels in Tampa
Brookfield, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“A fine airport choice, but lacking that special something”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

After several stays at other Country Inn & Suites locations, when we needed a room close to the Tampa airport for one night, we decided to book here. As a family with a young child, we appreciate the layout of the suites at these hotels, and the availability of a fridge and a microwave without the price going through the roof.

Compared to other Country Inn & Suites we've been to, this location has more modern rooms with excellent furnishings. However, the rooms themselves weren't as big as we expected. Nothing uncomfortable, just a smaller bathroom and a little less room in the "living area". Still, all our expectations were met and the value delivered was fine.

The outdoor pool at this location was great; we had it to ourselves for an hour close to sunset as we unwound from a day of travel. We listened to the tree frogs and insects in the nearby trees, a welcome oasis from the urban sprawl around the airport.

Of course, this location is near the airport. Planes flew overhead regularly, and we heard them late into the night. I know there's nothing to be done about that noise, so I can't really complain.

Our room was on the first floor, right near the lobby, so we also heard people coming in and out, and having small social gatherings in the lobby, late into the night. Fortunately our daughter slept through the noise, but it was unwelcome just the same.

This brings up the biggest difference between this location and the Inn&Suites we stayed at just a couple days prior, in Ocala. Here in Tampa, it seemed the staff wasn't as warm and welcoming. They were courteous and professional and we had no complaints, but that special "something" felt missing. This was made worse by the fact that the staff didn't seem to have a real "handle" on the front lobby; there were frequent noisy conversations late into the evening between guests there, and I would expect the staff to control that area better, given the presence of hotel rooms which basically border it.

Breakfast was fine, as we expect at Country Inn&Suites locations -- a nice variety and enough room to enjoy. Again, there were a couple large groups dominating the dining area, having conversations well past when they were done eating, and it made it a little loud and uncomfortable in the room. I'm not sure what the hotel could do differently about it, but we didn't get the welcome feeling we expected/wanted.

Still, overall, the value, the location, and the room layouts here would probably send us back to this location if we needed another short stay by the Tampa airport.

Room Tip: Try to avoid the room right next to the lobby -- noise levels were high past midnight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ivy-frontdesk, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites Tampa Airport N, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed the hotel besides the air conditioning issues. We look forward to your next stay. Do you remember your room number? Please email me at countryinnfront@gmail.com so we can assure that any future guests will not be staying in that room.
I apologize about the air conditioning and we will hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    132
    55
    19
    10
    8
See reviews for
70
63
16
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

I would like to start off saying this is a gem in the rough. You can't beat it For the price the quality of the rooms the beds the service at the desk the managers and the breakfast .I will rate this five stars all the way

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
standish, mi
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

We stayed the night before we flew out of Tampa Airport. The lobby has a little library with coffee & cookies available. Parking & check-in were simple. The air conditioner was not on in our room, so it was pretty hot until it got going. The room and public areas all seemed clean and comfortable. The free breakfast was good - - eggs & sausage, waffle maker, yogurt, fruit, oatmeal, muffins, juice. We had a rental car, so didn't notice if there was a shuttle available. The location is good for the airport - -had to drive about 10 minutes to get to restaurants. There is an outside pool, but we didn't have a chance to check it out. I'd stay again if I get a chance to be in Tampa.

Room Tip: We were on the first floor; view was of a fence.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

We made reservations for one night because we were flying out early the next day. Check in was easy and efficient. They have a shuttle 24 hours a day (some hotels only start at 6) and this was a bonus because our flight was leaving at 6:15. They allowed us to park our car in their lot for a week without paying. This was an extra bonus. The rooms were super clean and everyone was pleasant. This is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013 via mobile

Had pre-arranged for a shuttle to get us. Was told to call when in baggage. It is 1:30 am when we called and after waiting 45, no one came. Had to take a taxi costing us $20. No reimbursement came. Room was fine, breakfast was so so. Oatmeal would make great wallpaper paste! We needed a place close to airport so that was good.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ivy-frontdesk, Guest Relations Manager at Country Inn & Suites Tampa Airport N, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Thank you for your review! We apologize on the behalf of the shuttle. Here at Country Inn and Suites we take a abundance of time and dedication every morning to make the best breakfast we can offer and we do also apologize for the oatmeal. We offer lots of great breakfast items, fruit, yogurt, bagels, a hot buffet and lots more. Hopefully you liked what else we have to offer! If you decide to stay again please let us know anything we can do for you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

ok hotel. The carpets had small pieces of trash as if not vacuumed and the bathroom floor had some hairs on it. I asked for an early morning wake-up call and did not receive one. We would have missed our early flight had we not set a cell phone alarm. It looks like it has been somewhat remodeled and would try staying there again one more time. It was a good price.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ivy-frontdesk, Guest Relations Manager at Country Inn & Suites Tampa Airport N, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Thank you so much for writing a review. We love your feedback so we can do everything we can to change your mind on your next stay. Our housekeeping and front desk staff will be notified about these issues and we will have these problems fixed as soon as possible. Thank you again for taking the time to write this review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, PA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We stayed there on our first night to the Tampa area and liked it well enough to return on our way home several days later. We had taken a rental cat shuttle from the airport to the rental car's off site location, then drove to the Country Inn late on a Sunday night. Getting checked in was fast and easy, and the staff are friendly. The rooms are a good size, well maintained, and nicely decorated. Safe, peaceful, and inexpensive. Short drive to several places for dinner. Currently there is construction across the street- so not much of a view, but no matter.

The breakfast area is a disappointment- my wife doesn't like their coffee and it is understaffed for the number of people who use it.

The room we stayed in our first night had a stained carpet which should be replaced.

On our second night stay we used their outdoor pool- pleasant, but too much chlorine for my liking. Also, this time the room hadn't been cleaned as well.

All and all, we think it is a good value for when we just need a quick,easy, inexpensive one night sleep.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ivy-frontdesk, Guest Relations Manager at Country Inn & Suites Tampa Airport N, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Thank you for taking your time to write a review about our hotel. Here at Country Inn and Suites we love reviews so we can find out ways to improve our business. We strive to make your check-in experience as fast and easy as possible. Unfortunately the view isn't perfect but the construction will be done and no time and we will have a brand new gas station, hoping to fill our customers needs that we cannot provide here at the hotel.
I'm so sorry you did not enjoy the breakfast, if you didn't like our hot buffet we also provide food that we do not make ourselves like, bagels, bread, yogurt, cereal, fruit, fruit cocktail, waffles and many more breakfast items.
If you remember your room number please email me at countryinnfront@gmail.com so we can look over the carpet and fix any problems that you encountered with it.
Thank you again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Country Inn & Suites Tampa Airport N? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites Tampa Airport N

Address: 8109 Benjamin Road, Tampa, FL 33634
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#30 Family Hotel in Tampa
#36 Business Hotel in Tampa
#38 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites Tampa Airport N 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Carlson, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Country Inn & Suites Tampa Airport N reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites Tampa Airport n Hotel Tampa
Country Inn And Suites Tampa Airport n

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites Tampa Airport N, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.