We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Huge Casino, High Tech Slots, High Table Minimums.Lots of Smoke.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Seminole Hard Rock Casino

Seminole Hard Rock Casino
5223 North Orient Rd, Tampa, FL
1-866-502-7529
Website
Update attraction details
Ranked #49 of 85 attractions in Tampa
Type: Casinos
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: This AAA Four Diamond Casino is Central Florida's Ultimate Entertainment Destination. With nearly 190,000 square feet of gaming space, over 5,000 slots and 110 table games, we are the world's sixth largest casino according to Casino City Press. We welcome reviews about the casino experience, but we do have a hotel and amenity specific page so be sure to leave your review on the right page so we can best respond to your comments.
New Port Richey
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Huge Casino, High Tech Slots, High Table Minimums.Lots of Smoke.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

HRC has over 5000 slot machines. You can easily stay for days and still not play all the different machines. There are plenty of options for the gambler who enjoys playing the "bandits." HRC always seems to be introducing higher tech machines that have more bells and whistles, beautiful graphics, good sounds and are really fun. The poker machines odds payoffs are lower than the norm in Las Vegas, but they are often filled, and you sometimes have to wait for seats.Oddly, some of the same types of poker games have different paying odds, depending where you are in the casino. There is a very nice variety of card table games.

My biggest gripe is table minimums are high all the time. Forget playing a table with a $5.00 minimum, day or night. It seems crazy, especially during the day, to see so many card tables with dealers but no players. Why not offer some $5.00 minimum tables every day for the more recreational player? Evenings and weekends, the table minimums really go up. The environment is generally very smoky, and apparently stinking cigar smokers feel very welcomed, and cigars are sold in the casino. Sometimes, it feels impossible to get away from the smoke, whether at the tables or at the slots. Most of the time, the only action that works is to leave. For non smokers, cigarette smoke is bad enough to tolerate, but cigar smoke is downright nasty and assaults the senses. However, we have noticed a somewhat less smoky environment in the newer section of the casino. There is a very small non-smoking slots section in this same section of the casino, closer to the North side Garages. It is nice, but the options are few. Not recommended for kids at all; not recommended for non-smokers who abhor smoke. For the recreational gambler, there are tons of gambling options, and some decent entertainment. Enjoy!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHRTampa, Public Relations Manager at Seminole Hard Rock Casino, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
We greatly appreciate this thorough review and your patronage. We look forward to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

452 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    114
    107
    59
    77
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winter Springs
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Hard Rock Casino, Tampa, FL”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

I really like this casino. It has so many slot machines and the restaurants are very good. They used to give alot of free play, but not much any more. Also, they now charge for drinks in the casino. The thing I really do not like is the smoking! They do have some non-smoking rooms, but the slot machines in those rooms are old and not very many. Even though I don't like the smoking, I go back to this casino approximately every three months. Going again this month!!!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHRTampa, Public Relations Manager at Seminole Hard Rock Casino, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Thank you for being a valued guest, we really appreciate your comments. We hope you get lucky soon, and thank you for noticing the changes, we hope soon you can be at elite level where the perks are really outstanding. Best of luck.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida, United States
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“BEWARE”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

I am an avid gambler and the. Past 2 years machines do not not pay out and if they do you have to spend 10k to make 5 and I had a possible jackpot and machine malfunctioned. Do not waste your money

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHRTampa, Public Relations Manager at Seminole Hard Rock Casino, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Sorry you havn't gotten lucky when you've visited us. We pay out millions in jackpots daily, and hope you are one of them soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“pleasantly surprised!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Was expecting the worst upon reading other reviews. The casino was clean, the staff pleasant and the food was delicious. My husband won a little too!. I thought that the air flow in the casino was adequate. I almost didn't go, thinking that I would be gagging on cigarette smoke. I go to Vegas all the time and, of course, your chances of winning bigger jackpots are better there. The rock memorabilia was intersting too. If you live in Florida, a trip to the Hard Rock is a decent day trip

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHRTampa, Public Relations Manager at Seminole Hard Rock Casino, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Thank you so much for the comments. It seems are happiest customers neglect to write a review here so the perception can seem like reality. But the truth is, we have built one of the finest hotels and casinos in the nation, and the only reason we continue to grow is because a great majority love us as much as we love them. We look forward to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salina
Top Contributor
214 reviews 214 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Take the leap and institute non smoking”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

It really will not hurt revenues and actually might increase return visits by non smokers. I just hate leaving and spelling like a cancer stick. Over all the casino is okay. Drinks are high priced and the cocktail ladies are not guest focused. The constant reshuffle of the blackjack table is disturbing.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHRTampa, Public Relations Manager at Seminole Hard Rock Casino, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Have you heard of our new single deck Blackjack? I'm sure you'll like it. As for the non smoking, we do have a non smoking slot room, have you seen it? Hope you visit it next time you come back. Thanks for the comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Seminole Hard Rock Casino also viewed

 

Been to Seminole Hard Rock Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seminole Hard Rock Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.