We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“worst nightmare of our trip” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Rodeway Inn Tampa

Save Saved
You added Rodeway Inn Tampa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rodeway Inn Tampa
1.5 of 5 Motel   |   210 East Fowler Avenue, Tampa, FL 33612   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #136 of 159 hotels in Tampa
Plover, Wisconsin, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“worst nightmare of our trip”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Should have know when the clerk offered us a room for $60 CASH but we were desperate after finding so many filled hotels. Cockroaches in the bathroom, no blanket on the bed....room was so bad that I slept in my clothes.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    0
    4
    8
    4
    55
See reviews for
17
12
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    1.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cape Coral
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

The new management there was responsive to our requests immediately and solved our issue. For this area, here on business... all my needs were met for $50 TOTAL, tax included! That's terrific! My partner and I had two comfortable double beds, HBO on our TV with a remote that worked, nice warm water in the shower, FREE WIFI and clean towels/bedding right on time and a room on the ground floor with coffee and donuts in the morning! I don't know if these other reviewers were there when the old management was running the place, but, our tub/shower was clean, our room was clean and there was not a bug anywhere. I quit smoking 8 weeks ago. I notice the smell now. I did not smell cigarettes at all. The people working there were very nice and helpful.

Room Tip: Rooms are available close to your parking spot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProHotelCritic, Manager at Rodeway Inn Tampa, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Thank you, for the wonderful response!! We are always glad to hear from a happy guest. We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012 via mobile

Stood there and our rooms were never cleaned, the beds were never done, we had to ask for paper toilet...to top it off, we go to Busch Gardens and in one of our jackets there was a roach that we took from the hotel to the park!!! Usually we buy our souvenirs from Busch Gardens, not take one to them! Horrible doesn't start to describe the experience!!! Never again will we waste our money there!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Don't waste your money here. They don't want it. And they don't care if your room is dirty. My bathroom had hair stuck to the wall and the floors were sticky. There were dead roaches in the cabinets and even though it was the "Non-smoking" section, the entire hotel stank of cigarette smoke. I was so tired after driving 6 hours that I just sucked it up and slept (There were no bed bugs, at least they have that going for them). The sheets had paint stains from the walls on them. Every time you turn the TV on it is on max volume and blaring snow.
Also- Don't expect to the INTERNET to work or for your hot water to work. They won't give you a receipt or a paper that says what room your in either. They just tell you, then give you directions on how to get to your room after walking halfway around the building because the elevator is broken and the stairs are flooded.
Don't even try to ask for a discount or complain- they don't care. They staff was rude AND had dirty rumpled uniforms and cut off shorts on! This is the worst hotel I have ever stayed at in my LIFE! I was shocked because Rodeways are usually decent. AVOID THIS PLACE AT ALL COSTS. They don't give a crap about you or giving you a clean room. The maintenance man was not even wearing a shirt. Stay away from this place.

Room Tip: Do not book a room here. All rooms are equally disgusting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, New Jersey
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

Horrible place! No hot water for the first 2 days, toilets was clogged and leaked the last full day. We went out at 2 pm and told the desk about it and when we returned at 11 no one had been in there. To check it out, they gave us a different room and after we packed up and moved discovered the a/c didnt work so we had to repack and move again at 1am! Web site claims a restaurant and a lounge but both are out of business. Dirty, old, and in need of rebuild. Laundry is on 3rd floor with no elevator and make sure you have change because ice is a quarter

Room Tip: If u must stay here get a room with the kitchenette
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

What a horrible experience first no Elevator , stained sheets full of hair , bathroom full of hair and the last one you have to buy the ice =/ .

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with cheaprooms.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rodeway Inn Tampa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn Tampa

Address: 210 East Fowler Avenue, Tampa, FL 33612
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#136 Spa Hotel in Tampa
#136 On the Beach Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Rodeway Inn Tampa 1.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Rodeway Inn Tampa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Inn Tampa Hotel Tampa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rodeway Inn Tampa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.