We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not for adults” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Museum of Science and Industry

Museum of Science and Industry
4801 East Fowler Avenue, Tampa, FL 33617
813-987-6000
Website
Improve this listing
Book a Tour

Ranked #30 of 89 attractions in Tampa
Type: Science Museums
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Explore a World of Possibilities at Tampa’s Museum of Science & Industry with more than 450 hands-on activities, plus Florida’s only IMAX® DOME Theatre, five-stories-tall and offering a higher resolution than any other theater in Tampa; It is more than a movie, it is an experience. Brave extreme weather conditions inside Disasterville, featuring Bay News 9 WeatherQuest, and explore the stages of life in The Amazing You exhibition. Gaze into the starry night sky in MOSI’s Saunders Planetarium, and don’t miss exploring the outdoors in the BioWorks Butterfly Garden and MOSI Backwoods. Kids get to run the show at MOSI’s Kids In Charge!, the largest children’s science center in nation, while kids of all ages get a rush from MOSI’s Sky Trail® Ropes Course and Zip Line.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Lanarkshire
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Not for adults”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

As regular visitors to the Glasgow, Scotland Science Museum, we looked forward to a comparable visit but were disappointed. Firstly, the aircon is absolutely freezing! Even though the outside temp was in the high 80s, inside it's positively polar. Take a fleece or sweater. We sat through the Imax theatre movie Great White Shark, which we enjoyed. The theatre, however, was littered with popcorn. Then we went to the planetarium where there was a presentation by a young man whom we could barely understand. A very mediocre coffee shop where we had a hot drink to warm us up. We paid $45 including $5 for parking. Very overpriced. Very disappointing. Maybe our grandsons would have enjoyed this but not a lot for adults.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

475 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    163
    143
    84
    45
    40
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Geared to children”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Admission is pretty pricey, considering. On a normal visit, I feel as though a lot of the equipment is geared to children, and some of it doesn't work. If you go when there's something "special" going on, it may be worth it, depending. For instance, there was a body cadaver exhibit that was very interesting. You can purchase food there, but again, pretty pricey. And there's an IMAX theatre there, which was a unique experience.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“MOSI tour”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

visiting my friends in Tampa we was searching for something to do in a cloudy day "indoor activity" we ended in the MOSI this morning and it was a very disappointing experience it may be interesting for age 8-14 only,However its expensive and most of the monitors and equipments are not working, the idea behind is good and It would have been a little bit better if all the stuff are working.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon H, Manager at Museum of Science and Industry, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Thank you so much for your feedback regarding your visit to MOSI. We really appreciate you letting us know that you had some issues, and I am so sorry for the inconveniences and problems you experienced. As a hands-on, interactive museum, MOSI’s exhibits take on a lot of wear and tear every day, but keeping our museum maintained and beautiful is one of our top priorities. If you could let me know specifically which exhibits you had problems with, we can get our exhibits team working on the repair as soon as possible. Email contact.us@mosi.org or you can call me at 813-987-6080, and I will do everything I can to make it right.

Thank you again for your comments and for your visit to MOSI.

Sincerely,
Shannon Herbon
Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edmonton
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“MOSi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

I like that it is so close to our home, our family can visit the museum whenever we want if it is too hot to go to the beach. Love their hands on displays and playground outside. My son enjoyed being here.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida, United States
1 review
“IF YOU LIKE HANDS ON THIS IS YOUR PLACE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

If you have children - of any age - or if you are just a big kid yourself - THIS IS YOUR PLACE - every exhibit is interactive - you can be a news castor for the day - you can learn all about YOU - take a hearing test - check your eyes - learn about weather , see butterflies up close. The Kids Zone - has something for all age kids - bounce and slide down huge bouncy slides - be the check out person at the grocery store - go to the moon, just to name a few things - if you are in TAMPA you would be missing one of the best experiences in town if you missed MOSI - so make sure it is on you TO DO LIST

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museum of Science and Industry also viewed

 

Been to Museum of Science and Industry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Museum of Science and Industry, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Museum of Science and Industry to your Saves list