We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sailaway package” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Homewood Suites Tampa Airport - Westshore

Save Saved
You added Homewood Suites Tampa Airport - Westshore to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Homewood Suites Tampa Airport - Westshore
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5325 Avion Park Drive, Tampa, FL 33607   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Park, Stay, & Go
Ranked #20 of 159 hotels in Tampa
Richmond, Virginia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Sailaway package”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Shuttle picked us up from airport. Reception was pleasant, rooms clean, comfortable and well stocked. Enjoyed 2 tv's. All was well except got a call at 11:45 PM to ask if we had our shuttle tickets for the port, then a subsequent call saying "never mind". Left me awake rest of night but husband slept ok. Breakfast was good and area inviting. We booked "sailaway" due to shuttles to/from the port for our cruise. Worked well. Some had the package and also left their car parked but not a need for us. Overall, pleasant, inviting, clean facility with friendly staff.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHWSTAMPA, General Manager at Homewood Suites Tampa Airport - Westshore, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding our hotel. Its great to hear you enjoyed our Full Hot Breakfast each morning. I apologize that you were called by mistake and that affected your sleep. I would be irritated if my sleep was interupted as well. Let me know if you plan on coming back anytime soon. We would love to have you back! Have a great day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

370 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    234
    88
    30
    11
    7
See reviews for
149
63
15
119
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mansfield, Georgia, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Outstanding! Loved it! From the moment we walked in. We felt at comfortable. The suites were awesome and we felt like we could actually live there! The breakfast was great with a good choice of hot food not like many hotels complimentary breakfast. We travel to Tampa a lot and now we have a favorite place to stay'

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHWSTAMPA, General Manager at Homewood Suites Tampa Airport - Westshore, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thank you for your time! Its great to hear you enjoyed your stay. I will make sure that our staff is aware of your feedback. Come back and see us again very soon!:)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

This is a very nice hotel. The room amenities were great for traveling with kids. Very clean, great location, and parking very convenient. There were a couple of issues... the breakfast...it was terrible and likely the worst I've had at any hotel. I am normally able to find at least a couple of items that I can enjoy at a hotel contintental breakfast but there was nothing that looked pleasing at this one. Everything was very conveniently close (Walmart, gas stations, mall). We'd stay again and just plan on going out for breakfast or cooking our own. The only other issue was the long wait for housekeeping to bring us an actual working iron. Took a couple of calls to the desk; we were kinda pressed for time but when they did finally arrive they were very apologetic. I really enjoyed my stay here and will certainly be back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHWSTAMPA, General Manager at Homewood Suites Tampa Airport - Westshore, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thank you for your time providing feedback on our hotel. Although I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and would stay with us again I am disappointed you thought so poorly of our full hot breakfast buffett. I care deeply abou the quality of our product and would like to learn more about what we can do better to satisfy our guests. Thank you again for your time and I look forward to your next stay and getting more feedback on your likes and dislikes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

I am partial to Homewood Suites because we've always had good experiences when we have stayed at them throughout the US. Got to love that military rate! Our family stayed a this location for a week while we were house hunting in the area. While there were a few bumps in the road -- i.e. the housekeeper was scared of our 12 year old Scottish Terrier that was dying of cancer. She refused to clean our room until we were present. The General Manager was very receptive to our concerns and took care of the matter very promptly. The 2 bedroom suite was spacious with comfortable beds. Recommend this location.

Room Tip: Stay away from elevator if you are looking for peace and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHWSTAMPA, General Manager at Homewood Suites Tampa Airport - Westshore, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write detailed feedback on our hotel. We strive to be better every day and your comments help us achieve our goals. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to future visits. Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

From the moment aI walked into the lobby, I felt at home. The suites were fantastic and I felt like I could actually move in ! The breakfast was great and not overcrowded like many hotels complimentary breakfast. Love the idea of the home cooked dinners too. I travel here a lot to this area and now have a new 'home'.

Room Tip: Loved the view from the 6th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHWSTAMPA, General Manager at Homewood Suites Tampa Airport - Westshore, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thank you for your time providing feedback on our hotel. Its great to hear that you loved staying with us and hopefully you can come back and see us soon. Check out the Homewood Suites brand in every city you travel to and see how consistent we are!!! Take care and have a great day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

We spent three weeks at the homewood suites, using it as a base to explore that part of Florida and the normal attractions ,we chose this hotel as it seemed to attract mainly good reviews and it was a good price. The staff we came in contact with we're excellent and the condition of the hotel was generally good , in fact it was exactly what you would expect for the money so our vacation was off to a good start. However as the vacation progressed we noticed the initial cleaning standards were not maintained with only the beds and towels receiving daily attention, the dust was getting thicker on the furniture daily , sufficient for us to write (please clean) on the tv,the table and dressing table, the bathroom mirror got the same treatment etched into the water marks but alas the hint wasn't taken so we made our first complaint at the front desk and were told it would be taken care of,after a further two days, as there was no improvement we complained again and the next day the dust was nearly gone and the bathroom was nearly cleaned ,on the sixteenth day of our stay we made a stronger complaint at the front desk , at this point we were told that they were suffering from cleaning issues and the manager was aware of our complaints (pity he didn't act on them) . We returned to the hotel from a shopping trip early afternoon the next day , the room had been partially cleaned again , we were about to go down to complain again when we came across the head cleaner/ supervisor who asked us how our room was, well what an invitation , she was soon aware of our plight and set about cleaning the room again while we disappeared for a couple of hours to allow this , we returned later and found our room spotless , no marks ,dust or fluff anywhere and it actually smelled fresh because this time cleaning products were used and it stayed clean for the remaining four days of our vacation . The moral of this story is that if you intend to stay for three weeks , don't tell them , just check out every morning and check in again every evening because the first day of your stay is the cleanest it's going to be until until the seventeenth day . Apart from the above everything was great, a good vacation .

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHWSTAMPA, General Manager at Homewood Suites Tampa Airport - Westshore, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
I appreciate you taking the time to provide us with feedback on our hotel. I apologize for your experience not being perfect over the 3 weeks you stayed with us. I can assure you I am not happy about the issues you experienced and will meet with my team to address each and every one of them. Please give us an opportunity to win your business back. I look forward to meeting you in person during your next trip to Tampa. Thank you again for your time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013 via mobile

A friend and I stayed at the hotel 2 nights last weekend. The 2 bed suite worked well for us with 2 bathrooms. The beds were comfortable. The Iiving room and kitchen were not very large, but we were not in the room much. We had tv's in both bedrooms, and living room. We used the shuttle to go over to the mall, and to the airport. That was nice. The breakfast was good also. They have food during the week nights in the evenings. Staff very friendly , and helpful. Will go back again if need a hotel near the airport.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHWSTAMPA, General Manager at Homewood Suites Tampa Airport - Westshore, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Thank you for your time providing feedback on our hotel. We are pleased you have scored us 5 out of 5!!!! You can be assured that if your traveling in the future you can count on the same great experience throughout the Homewood Suites brand. Come back and see us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Homewood Suites Tampa Airport - Westshore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites Tampa Airport - Westshore

Address: 5325 Avion Park Drive, Tampa, FL 33607
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Tampa
#16 Family Hotel in Tampa
#23 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites Tampa Airport - Westshore 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Complete with upscale furnishings, outstanding service and complimentary amenities, the Homewood Suites by Hilton Tampa Airport - Westshore Florida hotel offers 144 beautifully appointed hotel suites and welcomes extended stay business and leisure travelers to thoroughly enjoy its central location conveniently situated in the heart of the sophisticated Westshore Business District.Our Homewood Suites by Hilton® Tampa hotel is only minutes from Tampa International Airport and provides exciting recreational options, tourist attractions, shopping, dining and unique entertainment venues. Additionally, guests of our hotel in Tampal, FL hotel can enjoy our complimentary Suite Start™ hot breakfast daily and a Welcome Home® reception Monday through Thursday evenings, featuring assorted beverages, beer and wine (local laws apply). At the Homewood Suites hotel in Tampa, Florida we're committed to the comfort of our guests. Our spacious rooms and central location have been designed with all our guests needs in mind. So make yourself at home and enjoy our great hotel amenities and our world class Homewood Suites by Hilton hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, HotelsClick, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Homewood Suites Tampa Airport - Westshore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites Tampa Airport-Westshore Hotel Tampa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homewood Suites Tampa Airport - Westshore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.