We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second Stay - Not So Good” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Homewood Suites Tampa Airport - Westshore

Save Saved
You added Homewood Suites Tampa Airport - Westshore to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Homewood Suites Tampa Airport - Westshore
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5325 Avion Park Drive, Tampa, FL 33607   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Park, Stay, & Go
Ranked #19 of 159 hotels in Tampa
Kuwait
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Second Stay - Not So Good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We stayed at the hotel back in December 2009 when we gave it an excellent rating due to the service, rooms, food and excellent facilities. For this reason we chose to revisit this October but were not as wowed as we had been the first time. We did get a good rate of $99 plus tax and we booked a second night with our Hilton points.

First Impressions - As we walked in to the hotel, the gentleman sweeping the floor looked up and said ' 'welcome home' which was a nice touch. The receptionist was very helpful giving us a room on a high floor, as requested away from the elevator. She offered us coffee which is available 24 hours per day and told us if we needed anything just to let her know. Parking is free in either the covered lot next to the hotel or at the side of the building. It is well lit in the evening and you need your room key to leave the lot, which does give it an added touch of security .

Unlike some of it's competitiors such as the Residence Inn and it's sister chain the Hilton Garden Inn (which is across the street), for some reason this hotel sadly does not have a smoke-free policy. Make sure you request a room on a smoke-free floor if this is a problem for you.

Our room was very nice with a small kitchen, sitting area and Kind Bed, vanity unit separate from the bathroom which had a shower cubicle rather than a tub. We preferred this but if you need a tub check with the hotel. The flat screen TV could be turned to be viewed from the sitting area or from the super comfy bed. Overall the room looked in good shape and as we remembered from our previous visit. No safe, which we would expect from this standard of hotel.

We can't comment on the evening drinks/snacks as we were staying at a weekend, so they were not being served. However, we did have breakfast which was a huge disappointment and the main reason why we gave only a good rating rather than an excellent one. On our previous visit the breakfast was amazing, a big variety of cold and hot food, this time it was very disappointing.

The breakfast area although quiet when we went down was very grubby with debris left on the tables. The food was slow to be replenished and the hot food was dried up and certainly not hot. The eggs were particulalry inedible and the potatoes cold and dried out. We went for Decaf but it came out cold, so we moved on to tea but the hot water was also cold. The regular coffee was the only hot beverage available. We asked the lady on duty for some fresh eggs and hot coffee but they never came. She was more interested in chatting with anyone who passed by rather than attending to the breakfast and didn't seem to know what she was doing - maybe she was a weekend cover? In the end we gave up and went out.

(We came back later in the day to grab a coffee but the Decaf and hot water were still cold - obviously didn't get around to refilling!!)

The other reason for marking down our review is the pet policy. We knew this was a pet friendly hotel so we are not complaining that there were dogs in residence. The hotel does charge a $100 sanitation fee and we were also told only certain rooms are reserved for this purpose. However, when we were accosted by 3 dogs (1 large, 2 smaller) coming out of one of the rooms on our floor, we started to wonder what that room must have smelled like. One small dog is one thing but 3 is a bit much!

No, our experience wasn't as good as our first stay and we didn't feel the hotel was as well run as it had been. We left a little disappointed but it was comfortable and convenient for the airport, Bucs stadium and exploring the Tampa area. Would we stay again, not sure?

Room Tip: Higher Floor will ensure you are not looking into the car park. Make sure you don't get one of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHWSTAMPA, General Manager at Homewood Suites Tampa Airport - Westshore, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Thank you for your valuable time providing us feedback on our hotel. I'm dissapointed to hear that your most recent stay was not as good as your first. I apologize for not meeting your expectations with breakfast and will do my best to help my team get better and prevent these items from happening again. Please let me know when you plan on coming to Tampa so we can earn your business back again. Thanks again and have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    240
    91
    31
    13
    8
See reviews for
153
64
16
122
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I used this hotel for a quick weekend trip with family to a Bucs game. The location is excellent for getting around Tampa and onto the beach side of the bay. The staff were very helpful and courteous. throughout the stay. Even the maintenance person in the elevator asked if my stay was good. The rooms are spacious and the furnishings and amenities are excellent. It is a fairly new hotel and it shows in the fresh appearance. The outside pool area and the sport court are well designed with the landscape that has large Oak trees with spanish moss. Finally, the parking garage was a nice amenity and you can't beat the free internet. I thought the breakfast was decent for the typical free breakfast that are included in these types of hotels.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHWSTAMPA, General Manager at Homewood Suites Tampa Airport - Westshore, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on our hotel. I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your next trip. If I can be of any assistance please let me know. Tampa is a great place to travel especially during the Holidays! Thanks again and have a great day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Prior to our main holiday we spent 3 nights here. Very close to the airport so no time at all to get there. Clean and comfortable romm although we never got the knack of setting the aircon to what we wanted. Well situated for exploration and the included breakfast and evening meal (Mon to Thurs) are great if you need to tighten the budget.
We like Homewood , it is always good value and comfortable.

Room Tip: Not so much a room as a tip. If your sat nav comes up blank on the address just follow the signs fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHWSTAMPA, General Manager at Homewood Suites Tampa Airport - Westshore, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Its great to hear that we lived up to your expectations! Thanks for staying with us and providing feedback to future travelers. Come back and see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport News, Virginia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

I stayed here for six months and I was saddened to leave. The staff treated me as if I was one of the family members. Always courteous, kind and helpful. If I ever go back there for an extended stay I will be sure to stay here.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHWSTAMPA, General Manager at Homewood Suites Tampa Airport - Westshore, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
It means so much to us that you took the time to provide your feedback on our hotel! Thank you for staying with us and please come back and see us soon. Enjoy using all those Hilton Honor points you accumulated over 6 monthes for something fun to do!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Our overall experience was good at this hotel. We booked our suite at the last minute due to a family emergency. We checked in and Matt at the front desk was very nice and upgraded us. Our two bedroom suite was quite roomy and well appreciated since we would have other family members joining us during our week long stay. The maintenance man was very nice and even touched up some of the walls in our suite that were badly scuffed throughout. Our suite was very quiet.

We never met the manager, although we requested to speak to him twice. Kendall, the guest services manager, was very kind to us throughout our stay. Housekeeping was also attentive, although due to the nature of our stay, we requested no service, only refreshing of linens.

The reason we are not giving this hotel five stars, is the dreadful food served and the awful presentaion of it. The cleanliness of the dining area is questionable, as is the quality of the food itself. It isn't prepared properly and the manager doesn't seem to oversee this, which seems odd. I read where other guests have said simalar things, but hoped the situation was better than reviewed - but it is not. It's actually worse.

Fortunately, the HiltonGarden Inn across the road has a great full service restaurant, where we ate nearly every day. They offer a wonderful delivery service, too.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHWSTAMPA, General Manager at Homewood Suites Tampa Airport - Westshore, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on your experience at the Homewood Suites Tampa Airport Westshore. Although I am pleased you enjoyed your suite and the service at the hotel I am dissapointed you were unhappy with the quality of the food. I apologize you were not 100% satisfied and am happy to listen to any additonal feedback you may have in an effort to increase the quality of our product. I look forward to hearing from you and the next opportunity to accomodate your travel plans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

A very nice property with very well trained management and staff. Everyone is helpful, the breakfast and evening food is an added bonus. You guest room, lobby and grounds are clean and well maintained. Our room looked and felt cramped but the value is still great. Transportation to the airport was efficient. Good quality coffee, morning eggs were overcooked.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHWSTAMPA, General Manager at Homewood Suites Tampa Airport - Westshore, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to post your comments regarding your recent stay at our Homewood Suites. Its great to hear you enjoyed all our great amenities! We hope to see you back in the Tampa area soon. Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Homewood Suites Tampa Airport - Westshore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites Tampa Airport - Westshore

Address: 5325 Avion Park Drive, Tampa, FL 33607
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Tampa
#17 Family Hotel in Tampa
#24 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites Tampa Airport - Westshore 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Complete with upscale furnishings, outstanding service and complimentary amenities, the Homewood Suites by Hilton Tampa Airport - Westshore Florida hotel offers 144 beautifully appointed hotel suites and welcomes extended stay business and leisure travelers to thoroughly enjoy its central location conveniently situated in the heart of the sophisticated Westshore Business District.Our Homewood Suites by Hilton® Tampa hotel is only minutes from Tampa International Airport and provides exciting recreational options, tourist attractions, shopping, dining and unique entertainment venues. Additionally, guests of our hotel in Tampal, FL hotel can enjoy our complimentary Suite Start™ hot breakfast daily and a Welcome Home® reception Monday through Thursday evenings, featuring assorted beverages, beer and wine (local laws apply). At the Homewood Suites hotel in Tampa, Florida we're committed to the comfort of our guests. Our spacious rooms and central location have been designed with all our guests needs in mind. So make yourself at home and enjoy our great hotel amenities and our world class Homewood Suites by Hilton hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Homewood Suites Tampa Airport - Westshore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites Tampa Airport-Westshore Hotel Tampa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homewood Suites Tampa Airport - Westshore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.