We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cannot recommend for the business traveler” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Homewood Suites Tampa Airport - Westshore

Save Saved
You added Homewood Suites Tampa Airport - Westshore to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Homewood Suites Tampa Airport - Westshore
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5325 Avion Park Drive, Tampa, FL 33607   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Park, Stay, & Go
Ranked #20 of 159 hotels in Tampa
East Brunswick, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Cannot recommend for the business traveler”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

I'd like probably give this a 3.5 star or good rating. It's better than average, but I cannot recommend this hotel for the business traveler.

There are quite a few pros - free breakfast and dinner buffet. There is also a free shuttle from the airport to hotel. The hotel is in a convenient location to the airport. There is also a free shuttle that runs hourly to the local malls which offer many shopping and food choices.

The cons however are what lower my rating, especially for the business traveler. The cell phone coverage in the room was terrible. I have Verizon Wireless and rarely have a problem, but my calls kept dropping. Also the internet connection, either wired or wireless, is very slow. It becomes even slower if you have to connect through a VPN.

For a suite, I considered my room very small (see picture of bedroom). Also, depending on what side of the hotel you get, you may be looking out your window at a cement parking garage (see picture). I know you don't spend much time in the hotel, but looking into a parking garage is not what you expect. This is especially annoying at night when the lights come on illuminating the garage and most of your room (see picture). Yes there are darkening shades, but it's worth noting for someone considering this hotel.

Room Tip: Get a room on the other side of the parking garage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHWSTAMPA, General Manager at Homewood Suites Tampa Airport - Westshore, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
Thank you for your time commenting on our hotel. Im dissappointed to hear that your cell phone service was not adequate during your stay. Being an extended stay hotel many of our guests stay for 30 nights or longer. I will be contacting those individuals and conducting a survey to find out if they are experiencing the same issues with service. I apologize for the inconvenience and look forward to finding out more on what can be done to prevent this from happening to future guests. Thanks again for your time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

369 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    234
    87
    30
    11
    7
See reviews for
148
63
15
119
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

My husband travels to Tampa frequently (Tampa 2weeks/home a week as an example) and he never wants to stay anywhere else. Myself and our kids have joined him on a few occasions. I would agree with the other reviews...clean rooms, breakfast, nice outdoor area and pool and great staff. It is convenient to have the neighboring hotel with a small bar and food available. He has stayed there also and is pleasant but Homewood is always his first choice. It's a great place to stay if you are a traveler to try and feel comfortable for an extended time. It's also great as a family with the spacious rooms, good location and amenities to keep the whole family occupied. The staff is familiar with my husband at this point and really make it a pleasant stay. I know he would also say even before the staff knew him, he was welcomed and made feel so comfortable...that's how it became his preferred hotel! We have stayed at many other Hilton properties (DC/N Virginia area, New Hampshire, Cape Cod, Maine...thank you HiltonHonors points...) and this hotel is easily the top of our list.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHWSTAMPA, General Manager at Homewood Suites Tampa Airport - Westshore, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
Thanks so much for your feedback! Its great to hear your husband enjoys staying with us. Its not easy being away from home that long and often so it feels good to know that he at least enjoys his home away from home. We look forward to his next trip and hope to meet you soon. Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topeka, Kansas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

As a former hotelier, I have picky taste in hotels. I keep an eye out for cleanliness, a fresh and clean lobby and guestrooms. This hotel was top notch on all! We had a brief, one night stay in June 2012 prior to flying out of Tampa International Airport. The front desk staff was helpful and friendly. The guestroom was very clean and even though we were near the elevator, I didn't hear a sound at night.

My husband LOVED the fantastic workout facility. It too was top notch. Breakfast was great, hot and fresh! No complaints here and we would recommend and stay here again. The proximity to the airport can't be beat, it was ideal.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHWSTAMPA, General Manager at Homewood Suites Tampa Airport - Westshore, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
Thanks for your feedback and expertise! We are so pleased we exceeded your expectations. We try our very best and thank you for your business. Come back and see us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Plains, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012 via mobile

My family and I were going on a 7 day cruise. So we decided to stay a few days early in Tampa. We wanted some place affordable, comfortable, close to the airport and port but nice. We're accustomed to staying at 4 - 5 star hotels.

Well this hotel fit all our requirements and more. I don't know if it's rated a 4 star hotel but the service sure felt like it and actually better than some of the other high end hotels we've stated.

Some nice perks were the free shuttle service to the mall and airport, Internet access, delicious complimentary breakfast, the pool and basketball court to work off the great breakfast.

We stayed in a 2 bedroom suite which was a nice upgrade provided by the wonderful staff: Samantha and Kendall Williams.

Although the amenities at this hotel were great, the staff was really what set it apart from other places we've stayed. They felt more like family friends than hotel staff. They always went beyond the call of duty and made us feel like welcomed family guests.

We had to stay one more day after our cruise and the difference between some of the service we received from carnival cruise vs what was provided here at this hotel was night and day. Carnival Cruise line might want to have their staff learn from the folks at this hotel.

Either way I highly recommend this hotel for families or business folks. You'll be treated like family without all the fluff of some higher priced hotels. We'll be back.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHWSTAMPA, General Manager at Homewood Suites Tampa Airport - Westshore, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
Its great to hear you think we are your second home. We are all family here at Homewood Suites Tampa Airport Westshore and love welcoming new guests daily. Thanks for taking the time to provide feedback to future travelers on TripAdvisor!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississippi
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We stayed there last week from 7/2 - 7/6 and everything was perfect...the suites were clean, and the staff became a part of our family....we were in town for our granddaughter's wedding, so we were always coming and going which gave us a chance to meet with the staff of each shift..they treated us like royalty...the breakfast and the complimentary dinners were wonderful. The bedding was so comfortable. We would recommend Westshore Homewood Suites to everyone. Thank you again to all the staff who made our stay so pleasant.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Homewood Suites Tampa Airport - Westshore, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Thanks for all the great feedback! We really appreciate you taking the time out of your busy day to post your comments on Trip Advisor. Come back and see us soon! Safe travels to your next destination.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport News, Virginia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

3 months into a 6 month stay here at the Homewood and the staff has gone out of their way to make me feel at home. They found me the perfect room and they are always friendly and they know me by my name.

Room Tip: Rooms on the airport side have the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Homewood Suites Tampa Airport - Westshore, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Thanks for your feedback! Our hotel is perfect for all type of travel especially people staying for as long as you have. I'm so thankful for all our guests and appreciate the great feedback. Take care and travel somewhere fun with all those Hilton Honors points you racked up!:)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

We were really impressed with the suite we booked. Place was clean, the breakfast was very good. and the service was great. The staff very helpful, customer service really shines, always with a smile. Will definitely stay there again. 2 thumbs up!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Homewood Suites Tampa Airport - Westshore, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
I appreciate your feedback and will let Hazel (Executive Housekeeper) know how clean the hotel is. If we can do anything else for your please let us know and keep staying at Homewood Suites when your traveling around. Thanks and we hope to see you again next july or sooner!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Homewood Suites Tampa Airport - Westshore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites Tampa Airport - Westshore

Address: 5325 Avion Park Drive, Tampa, FL 33607
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Tampa
#15 Family Hotel in Tampa
#23 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites Tampa Airport - Westshore 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Complete with upscale furnishings, outstanding service and complimentary amenities, the Homewood Suites by Hilton Tampa Airport - Westshore Florida hotel offers 144 beautifully appointed hotel suites and welcomes extended stay business and leisure travelers to thoroughly enjoy its central location conveniently situated in the heart of the sophisticated Westshore Business District.Our Homewood Suites by Hilton® Tampa hotel is only minutes from Tampa International Airport and provides exciting recreational options, tourist attractions, shopping, dining and unique entertainment venues. Additionally, guests of our hotel in Tampal, FL hotel can enjoy our complimentary Suite Start™ hot breakfast daily and a Welcome Home® reception Monday through Thursday evenings, featuring assorted beverages, beer and wine (local laws apply). At the Homewood Suites hotel in Tampa, Florida we're committed to the comfort of our guests. Our spacious rooms and central location have been designed with all our guests needs in mind. So make yourself at home and enjoy our great hotel amenities and our world class Homewood Suites by Hilton hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, HotelsClick, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Homewood Suites Tampa Airport - Westshore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites Tampa Airport-Westshore Hotel Tampa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homewood Suites Tampa Airport - Westshore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.