We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel but space at a premium” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Homewood Suites Tampa Airport - Westshore

Save Saved
You added Homewood Suites Tampa Airport - Westshore to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Homewood Suites Tampa Airport - Westshore
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5325 Avion Park Drive, Tampa, FL 33607   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Park, Stay, & Go
Ranked #20 of 159 hotels in Tampa
Cranberry Township, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Nice hotel but space at a premium”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

The hotel is nice and clean though it is a bit tight in the rooms for a suite hotel. We were given a handicapped room which was not a problem for us but I wondered how a truly handicapped person would manage to get into a bed with such little room on the sides to spare. The room was updated very nicely, it was clean and the bed was comfortable so our personal experience was fine.

We were a bit confused by our parking instructions. There were some spots on the side of the building that were half unpaved. We weren't sure if we could or should use them considering the airport parking facility that was adjacent. We went to the garage but we didn't know if we had to pay extra for it so we had to go back inside the hotel for clarification. The garage was free for hotel guests and the room key card opened the gate. In the end there was no problem but it was a bit more confusing that it needed to be.

The warm breakfast was sufficient though it seemed below average in quality compared to other Homewood Suites. The hotel is a good place to stay near the airport. We were surprised that it ranked in the top 10 of all hotels in Tampa but I think a very good rating is warranted.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHWSTAMPA, General Manager at Homewood Suites Tampa Airport - Westshore, responded to this review, April 2, 2012
Thank you for the feedback regarding our hotel. Im sorry for your dissappointment in the size of the suite. Please let me know when you will be coming back and we can discuss some other larger suite options we have available in our hotel. Thanks again and please call me when you have plans on coming back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

372 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    235
    89
    30
    11
    7
See reviews for
149
64
15
119
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

We had a very nice suite for 2 nights before a cruise. It's a clean, well maintained building close to the airport. I had a Fedex package sent, and they held it with no problems, for free. Breakfast was ok, and the room service was pretty good.

This is the best hotel room I've ever had for 100 a night.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHWSTAMPA, General Manager at Homewood Suites Tampa Airport - Westshore, responded to this review, March 15, 2012
Thanks for your response! We're so thankful you enjoyed your stay and appreciate the feedback. We take pride in the value we offer to our guests. If there is anything else I can do for you please let myself or my staff know. Come back and see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, NY
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

Spent a recent saturday night here. Past reviewers right, in that the customer service is excellent. and this is good, as our confirmed, pre-paid room had been given away when we arrived at 9 pm. Luckily Andrea found us a good room (after some serious complaining on my part of course). so all in all it ended well, but I hate having to be so forceful to get something I was "guaranteed".
The breakfast was very good, and the pool area very nice. The rooms are fine for such a busy hotel, and trip to port very easy.
Two tips:look for vans carefully at airport, they will have other hotel names in addition to HOmewood suites, and also Westshore pizza very good.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHWSTAMPA, General Manager at Homewood Suites Tampa Airport - Westshore, responded to this review, March 15, 2012
Thank your for taking the time to provide this feedback. I apologize for any inconvenience your experience checking in may have caused. We look forward to having you stay with us again and if there is anything I can do for you please let me know.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JAMESVILLE
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

I travel a lot in my line of work and frequent the Hilton line of hotels throughout the US.This is one of the best that I have stayed in.I recently stayed with my family for a week vacation and was nicely upgraded to a two bedroom suite. Room was very clean, hotel is in great location in Tampa, the staff was friendly and very helpful. I chose to stay here again after having a great experience a year ago for a football game in Tampa. Will be back In March for Yankee spring training!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHWSTAMPA, General Manager at Homewood Suites Tampa Airport - Westshore, responded to this review, March 15, 2012
We appreciate the time it took for you to provide this feedback! Thanks for choosing Homewood Suites Tampa Airport/Westshore. We look forward to your third stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
waterloo, ontario
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

We stayed here 2 nights pre cruise. $135/night for 2 bedroom unit. This unit was clean and well laid out. Only negative was a musty smell..but we put dryer sheets in vents. Could easily stay here for a week.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

Whenever we fly in or back to the UK from Tampa we always stay at the Homewood Suites for a one night stopover before heading off on our travels. We have always found the staff very friendly and helpful and the rooms are clean and spacious with big comfortable beds. The breakfast is adequate for what you need. Like others, I was worried about plane noise being so close to the airport but there was no noise whatsoever. We loved the shuttle bus to International Mall where, after a long flight, you can go and enjoy a nice beer and meal at one of the many restaurants. We will always stopover at the Homewood Suites for its convenience to the airport, to the freeway, to the mall and above all it's lovely staff and clean well turned out rooms.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHWSTAMPA, General Manager at Homewood Suites Tampa Airport - Westshore, responded to this review, February 20, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to let everyone know about your stay at Homewood Suites. I am pleased that you think so highly of our staff and our spacious suites. Homewood is the perfect brand for you. Come back and see us soon. February is a great time of the year to visit Tampa. If I can do anything else for you please let me know. Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012

We stayed here for one night when we flew into Tampa, and then a week later we stayed for 3 more nights. We took the hotel shuttle from the airport, very nice guys!!! When we checked in they had storybooks for our two girls. Loved that! During the week (Mon-thurs) they offer a free dinner, which was really good. My husband enjoyed the free beer and wine during this time as well. The breakfast offered is also complimentary. Orange & Apple juice, milk, yogurt, fruit, cereals, fresh pot of oatmeal every morning, flavored eggs, scrambled eggs, breakfast meat, and potatoes, bagels, english muffins, toast & a waffle maker!!!! Lots to fill up before heading out for the day. The pool is heated and lots of loungers available. Laundry soap only costs a dollar, with $1/wash; $1/dry. Very reasonable, and useful before our cruise. We had a 2 bedroom suite. 2 Queen beds in each room and a pullout couch, 2 bathrooms and a fridge, cooktop, microwave & dishwasher. Very nice living space. Lots of windows as well, with darkout curtains, which is appreciated. We loved our stay, and will definitely stay again in the future.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHWSTAMPA, General Manager at Homewood Suites Tampa Airport - Westshore, responded to this review, February 20, 2012
Thanks for all the feedback from your stay! It makes me so happy that your visit to Tampa went well. I appreciate you taking the time to let everyone know how great everything was. We look forward to having you come back and stay with us! Our Lewis the Duck books get updated all the time so next time we should have a new one for the girls. See you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Homewood Suites Tampa Airport - Westshore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites Tampa Airport - Westshore

Address: 5325 Avion Park Drive, Tampa, FL 33607
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Tampa
#15 Family Hotel in Tampa
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Tampa
#20 Spa Hotel in Tampa
#20 Luxury Hotel in Tampa
#23 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites Tampa Airport - Westshore 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Complete with upscale furnishings, outstanding service and complimentary amenities, the Homewood Suites by Hilton Tampa Airport - Westshore Florida hotel offers 144 beautifully appointed hotel suites and welcomes extended stay business and leisure travelers to thoroughly enjoy its central location conveniently situated in the heart of the sophisticated Westshore Business District.Our Homewood Suites by Hilton® Tampa hotel is only minutes from Tampa International Airport and provides exciting recreational options, tourist attractions, shopping, dining and unique entertainment venues. Additionally, guests of our hotel in Tampal, FL hotel can enjoy our complimentary Suite Start™ hot breakfast daily and a Welcome Home® reception Monday through Thursday evenings, featuring assorted beverages, beer and wine (local laws apply). At the Homewood Suites hotel in Tampa, Florida we're committed to the comfort of our guests. Our spacious rooms and central location have been designed with all our guests needs in mind. So make yourself at home and enjoy our great hotel amenities and our world class Homewood Suites by Hilton hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Homewood Suites Tampa Airport - Westshore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites Tampa Airport-Westshore Hotel Tampa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homewood Suites Tampa Airport - Westshore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.