We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Number one choice for Tampa pre-cruise.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore

Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5303 West Kennedy Boulevard, Tampa, FL 33609   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 25%
Ranked #34 of 159 hotels in Tampa
GreenLeadersGold level
Strathroy, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Number one choice for Tampa pre-cruise.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2010

I stayed at this hotel for one night, pre-cruise. The complimentary shuttle from the airport took only a few minutes to arrive and we were settled in our room about 30 minutes after retrieving our luggage. As we had a late evening arrival, dinner in the hotel restaurant was our best option. The atmosphere was much cozier than the website photos appear. Food was excellent, service was attentive and price was reasonable. Rooms are modern with exceptionally comfortable beds. From our 10th floor window, we had a great view of Tampa Bay. The Westshore Plaza mall is a very safe five minute walk from the hotel. Good shopping for a few additional pieces of cruisewear. The front desk offers transfers to the port for $10 per person. Book these when you check in. This hotel is now my number one choice for Tampa cruises.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

427 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    205
    140
    49
    19
    14
See reviews for
63
114
48
143
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, GA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2010

This is a unique hotel that is not easy to describe. It was once a Clarion and once a Ramada Inn. It was closed and shuttered for 2 years and re-opened last year after significant, but not complete, remodeling. The exterior is painted a solid white that looks "cheap" instead of the "fresh" and "clean" that was undoubtedly intended. Only the small front parking lot has been resurfaced. The side and back parking lots have potholes and an odd lay-out. The principal hotel is a standard multi-floor building but attached to that building are two stories of cabana-style rooms. The small outdoor pool is singularly unimpressive, although the small outdoor bar seating area hasextremely comfortable sectional couches and tables with overhead protection from the weather.

Despite the renovations, I couldn't stop seeing "old Florida low-rent motel" in this hotel.

The interior has been remodeled in cool shades of gray and light blue and decorated with modern furniture. The ceilings, however, remain VERY low. The room furnishings are quite nice and trendy. A square modern cushioned chair with pillows sits in an alcove across from a work-friendly square table. Flat-screen TV. Some of the lamps are touch lamps, which are fun. Bathroom was large and new floor and tile were nice. FREE WI-FI !!!! (No excuse for any hotel not offering that these days!)

The bed linens were very nice (Macy's Charter Club?) but the bed itself was not sufficiently supportive.

Complimentary USA Today.

Very close to airport Straight route down Kennedy St. to downtown Tampa In rush hour, about 25 minutes. Early morning, about 15 minutes.

My conference rate of $120 included complimentary breakfast buffet every morning. It was perfectly fine without being exceptional: scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, biscuits, fresh fruit compote, juice, coffee, cereal, etc. The service was excellent and friendly, both in the restaurant and at the front desk.

The surrounding neighborhood is a mix of high-end (Intercontinental Hotel about 2-3 blocks away; attractive condos; some spectacular waterfront homes; nearby Starbucks and Panera that are always crowded)) and crumbling (Westshore Plaza is a dying mall; it's highest-end store, Sak's, desperately needs a facelift but will likely close before it will spend the money). Within 5-6 blocks, there are cash-for-pawn stores, clubs with "exotic" dancers, etc. If you turn the wrong way out the hotel, you will be in for a L-O-N-G bridge ride to St. Petersburg over I-275 with NO way to turn around.

The front desk clerk warned me about the loud noises in the wallss & pipes. Also, there seems to be little insulation in the walls, so you hear everything in the nearby rooms.

I almost laughed out loud when I saw the guest "gift bag" with EAR PLUGS(!) and an eye mask to help people sleep.

Not an unpleasant experience but not a completely satisfying one, either.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2010

This hotel is the real deal. Great value, Superb service and spotlessly clean, Try it and see you will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2010

This was one of the best hotel rooms we have ever stayed in. Location is excellent -- close to airport but no plane noise, and near everything in Westshore district but removed from busy traffic. Rooms are very modern, clean, large and comfortable. We stayed for a Friday night after flying into TPA and got a rate (w/ Entertainment card) on the Crowne Plaza website that was well below any of the other 3 or 4 star hotels in the area. Normally Crowne Plazas seem to be rather bland, but I would go back to this one without hesitation.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2010

My husband and I had to make a mad dash to Tampa for a wedding. We booked this hotel through Expedia.com and got an amazing deal. We got both of our plane tickets from OKC, 3 nights in this Hotel, and a car for just over $500! I have heard often that if you book through one of those sites, you might not get treated as well, but we got treated great. They have shuttle to/from the Tampa International and also to anywhere within three miles, so they picked us up when our flight arrived, and took us to serveral places to eat and also to the rental car place. The lady at the front desk was very friendly. She upgraded our room for us to a $500 a night room for free, and she gave us coupons for free cocktails. I think her name was Jessica. Also the boy who drove us around was really nice and friendly. Everyone at the bar was very friendly, and room service was amazing. Try the CZB. The gym was very clean and had nice equipement. Our stay was wonderful, and we will definately stay again.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bel Air, Maryland
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2010

Very comfortable and quiet accommodations. Exceptional service from front desk staff. Very nice pool.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2010

I was looking for a place to stay near the airport and this one came up as a great deal on expedia.ca However, I noticed that the great deal only presented when I was booking the hotel+rental car together. I read the other reviews here and the one thing I can confirm is that the hotel is newly renovated.

I stayed in a non-smoking king bedroom on the 6th floor. It was very clean but the overall size of the room was a bit small. But it was not like I was going to live there! The decor was very modern with a new bathroom. I noticed that there was no bath but instead an oversized shower. Not that I cared, but thought anyone traveling with children would want to know. The sink was located outside of the actual "doored" bathroom. The unit was fitted with a clear LCD TV and they received a HDTV broadcast (for those who care to know).

Notably, the hotel is located close to Westshore Plaza Shopping and is a short drive to the amazing International Plaza. There is great good to be had at the Chocolate Factory, Ocean's, and Capital Grill. The atmosphere in the evenings is great and very upscale at the International Plaza.

Also, the hotel included free Wifi and free parking. Many times I had to park at the rear of the building because the front lot was often full. The hotel is located in a quiet corner and doesn't have any loud bars or pubs nearby. I stayed away from hotels on Dale Mabry and Westshore Dr to avoid the crowds and noise from the strip clubs and bars.

Only two problems on my trip. The fire exit door, near my unit was quite loud. My toilet stopped working but they were quick to get it remedied.

Would stay here again for sure!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore

Address: 5303 West Kennedy Boulevard, Tampa, FL 33609
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Tampa
#21 Business Hotel in Tampa
#47 Family Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Tampa's newest premier hotel. The new Crowne Plaza Hotel Tampa Westshore offers a uniqueness all its own that can perhaps be best described as modern and fresh but elegantly posh. The Crowne Plaza Hotel Tampa Westshore offers its guest complimentary shuttle service to and from Tampa Airport. The Crowne Plaza Hotel Tampa Westshore is located less than 2 miles from Tampa International Airport (TPA) and in the heart of the thriving Westshore business district. Our hotel is only a short walk from the Westshore Plaza Mall, offering the finest in shopping, dining and entertainment. Additionally, we are just minutes from the University of Tampa, Tampa General and the University of South Florida. While visiting the Crowne Plaza Hotel Tampa Westshore, you will find that our location is convenient to many attractions such as Busch Gardens, Adventure Island, Raymond James Stadium, George M Steinbrenner Field, Tropicana Field, Florida Aquarium, St. Pete Times Forum and the Port of Tampa located at Channelside.Local businesses include Bank of America, Humana, MacDill Air Force Base, Verizon, Wachovia, General Electric, Met Life and Cisco Systems. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore Hotel Tampa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.