We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Property, Great Price, Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore

Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5303 West Kennedy Boulevard, Tampa, FL 33609   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 25%
Ranked #34 of 159 Hotels in Tampa
GreenLeadersGold level
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great Property, Great Price, Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

My family did a 4th of July trip to Tampa and stayed at the Crowne Plaza because I had stayed there before for work. Since we were with our 4 month old we decided to upgrade and get the suite and the breakfast was offered. I am so happy we did! The suites are by the pool and they are awesome. The room is as large as a one bedroom apartment. We loved the space. The service was fantastic - we did room service several times and ate at the restaurant and breakfast bar. The hotel is located near the airport and across from a great mall with lots of restaurant. You can also get to St. Petersburg easily because the bridge is right there. I recommend this hotel to anyone that is looking for a great deal.

Room Tip: Get the suites by the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPTW5303, Director of Guest Relations at Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear nfkld,

Thank you so much for reviewing your recent stay at our property! We are ecstatic that you had the opportunity to upgrade to one of our Cabana Suites and that you enjoyed the spaciousness that they offer! We love that they are located poolside as it creates a real vacation feel. Thank you for the recommendation of our hotel and we hope to see your family again next 4th of July!

Sincerely,

Tiffany Steele
Director of Guest Relations
tiffany.steele@crowneplazatampa.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    207
    143
    49
    19
    14
See reviews for
64
116
48
143
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Service was excellent. We were upgraded to a King Cabana suite due to our Platinum membership. However, once in the room the leather couch had rips on them. The blinds were not darkening blinds so the lights from the pool filtered in which meant the sunlight also shined through. We arrived late and didn't ask to be moved to another room. Thank goodness it was only a one night stay.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPTW5303, Director of Guest Relations at Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear StAuggie12,

First and foremost, thank you for being a Platinum IHG Rewards member and for choosing to stay at our property. We are thrilled to hear that our service during your stay was excellent and that we were able to provide you with an upgrade. We are not so thrilled to hear about the condition of the pullout sofa as providing you with an upgrade should mirror the excitement of expecting perfection. I have notified our Housekeeping and Engineering department heads to address the suites to make sure that their conditions are up to par. We apologize for the inconvenience and we do hope that you do visit our hotel again.

Sincerely,

Tiffany Steele
Director of Guest Relations
tiffany.steele@crowneplazatampa.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bielefeld, Germany
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

This hotel is near to the airport and Westshore Mall. Breakfast was not included. The rooms are nice in the high main building. they are clean and renovated. Restaurants are nearby. The poolarea is ok, but nothing special. I had a special price for 65$ what is ok for such a hotel. Good 3 star standart.

Room Tip: Main building on higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPTW5303, Director of Guest Relations at Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Vtm R,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at our hotel. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our renovated and clean rooms during your one night stay. We are disappointed to hear that you thought our pool area was just okay as we have just recently renovated that area as well. Thank you again for your review and we do hope that you decide to utilize our hotel for future endeavors!

Sincerely,

Tiffany Steele
Director of Guest Relations
tiffany.steele@crowneplazatampa.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

We stayed at the Crown Plaza after flying into Tampa in the mid afternoon. There isn't a lot of stuff around the hotel but the bar downstairs is very nice. We did have a nice relaxing afternoon and evening and checked out pretty early in the morning

Room Tip: We overlooked the bridge and it was a nice relaxing view ... thunderstorms coming in over the water...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPTW5303, Director of Guest Relations at Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear PattyG12,

Thank you so much for your review. We are so pleased that your stay was relaxing and that you had a chance to enjoy Mojito Restaurant & Lounge. I do recommend that on your next stay you utilize our complimentary hotel shuttle for guests that will take you within three miles of the hotel. You'll have access to waterfront restaurants, two shopping malls as well as a movie theatre for those rainy Florida summer afternoons! We look forward to seeing you again in the future!

Sincerely,

Tiffany Steele
Director of Guest Relations
tiffany.steele@crowneplazatampa.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Booked this hotel for a one night stay as our condo rental wasn't until the next day. Great hotel, great location. Nice pool altho had to wait a VERY long time for towels at the pool despite repeat requests, this was very frustrating. Beds were hard (we thought) but rooms nicely reonovated. We had a nice bay view and high floor - as requested when I booked.

They have a free shuttle service within 3 miles of the hotel (not just for the airport) which is a nice touch as we weren't overly familiar with the area and didn't feel like driving - or walking!

Would definitely stay again (and ask for a mattress topper for the bed)

Room Tip: High floor and bay view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPTW5303, Director of Guest Relations at Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Dear OhioUKgirl,

Thank you for a great review of your recent stay at our hotel! We are so happy that you enjoyed the location of the hotel, the pool and the complimentary shuttle service. We do apologize that extra pool towels were not provided in a timely manner and we will address this issue to avoid a repeat occurrence. Thank you again for your review!

Sincerely,

Tiffany Steele
Director of Guest Relations
tiffany.steele@crowneplazatampa.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinsville, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

I was very pleased with this hotel. We stayed one night before a cruise. The hotel is located very close to the airport and my family loved watching all of the planes landing overhead while we were in the pool. We stayed in room 308 and this was perfect for the three of us. The hotel is absolutely beautiful on the inside and the bathrooms are large compared to other hotels. The staff was very friendly. I loved the pool area and the cabanas to get some shade from the sun. The only thing that wasn't perfect was that parking is definitely an issue. We got a space right up front when we arrived. Later that evening when we went out for dinner, we came back to find all the spaces filled due to a reception in the bar. There were many, oversized SUV's parked in the already small spaces, which left cars no room to open the door once you squeezed into a space. Other than that, great hotel in the upscale Westshore location.

Room Tip: Room 308 is an interior access, corner room that has a large window overlooking the pool and views o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPTW5303, Director of Guest Relations at Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Dear Lcdsp911,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Crowne Plaza Westshore! We are very happy to hear that your family had a great time at our hotel and got an opportunity to enjoy our updated pool area. Thank you so much for staying with us and providing room tips to other guests!

Sincerely,

Tiffany Steele
Director of Guest Relations
tiffany.steele@crowneplazatampa.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indian Land, South Carolina
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

This hotel was a quick pick and believe me we will back. The room was clean and the shower was exceptional, the water pressure was great and the bed was exceptional, one of the best nights sleep I had in a long long time...I have an extremely bad back and this was a great bed!! I am picky where that goes!!

The staff was friendly and helpful...we only stayed one night but the location is near a lot of restaurants and nightlife....and the bridge to St. Petersburg is right there, the view is spectacular form that bridge......needless to say we are hooked on this hotel and will be back!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPTW5303, Director of Guest Relations at Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Dear karenmits,

Thank you so much for the five star review of our hotel along with some amazing comments! We are so happy that your quick pick of our hotel resulted in an experience that you are now hooked on! We will be sharing your comments with our staff and we all look forward to your next stay!

Sincerely,

Tiffany Steele
Director of Guest Relations
tiffany.steele@crowneplazatampa.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore

Address: 5303 West Kennedy Boulevard, Tampa, FL 33609
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Tampa
#21 Business Hotel in Tampa
#43 Family Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Tampa's newest premier hotel. The new Crowne Plaza Hotel Tampa Westshore offers a uniqueness all its own that can perhaps be best described as modern and fresh but elegantly posh. The Crowne Plaza Hotel Tampa Westshore offers its guest complimentary shuttle service to and from Tampa Airport. The Crowne Plaza Hotel Tampa Westshore is located less than 2 miles from Tampa International Airport (TPA) and in the heart of the thriving Westshore business district. Our hotel is only a short walk from the Westshore Plaza Mall, offering the finest in shopping, dining and entertainment. Additionally, we are just minutes from the University of Tampa, Tampa General and the University of South Florida. While visiting the Crowne Plaza Hotel Tampa Westshore, you will find that our location is convenient to many attractions such as Busch Gardens, Adventure Island, Raymond James Stadium, George M Steinbrenner Field, Tropicana Field, Florida Aquarium, St. Pete Times Forum and the Port of Tampa located at Channelside.Local businesses include Bank of America, Humana, MacDill Air Force Base, Verizon, Wachovia, General Electric, Met Life and Cisco Systems. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, BookIt.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Odigeo, Otel, Agoda, Venere and HotelsClick so you can book your Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore Hotel Tampa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.