We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, would stay again” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore

Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5303 West Kennedy Boulevard, Tampa, FL 33609   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 25%
Ranked #35 of 159 hotels in Tampa
GreenLeadersGold level
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great hotel, would stay again”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Booked this hotel for a one night stay as our condo rental wasn't until the next day. Great hotel, great location. Nice pool altho had to wait a VERY long time for towels at the pool despite repeat requests, this was very frustrating. Beds were hard (we thought) but rooms nicely reonovated. We had a nice bay view and high floor - as requested when I booked.

They have a free shuttle service within 3 miles of the hotel (not just for the airport) which is a nice touch as we weren't overly familiar with the area and didn't feel like driving - or walking!

Would definitely stay again (and ask for a mattress topper for the bed)

Room Tip: High floor and bay view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPTW5303, Director of Guest Relations at Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Dear OhioUKgirl,

Thank you for a great review of your recent stay at our hotel! We are so happy that you enjoyed the location of the hotel, the pool and the complimentary shuttle service. We do apologize that extra pool towels were not provided in a timely manner and we will address this issue to avoid a repeat occurrence. Thank you again for your review!

Sincerely,

Tiffany Steele
Director of Guest Relations
tiffany.steele@crowneplazatampa.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

429 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    206
    141
    49
    19
    14
See reviews for
64
114
48
143
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Martinsville, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

I was very pleased with this hotel. We stayed one night before a cruise. The hotel is located very close to the airport and my family loved watching all of the planes landing overhead while we were in the pool. We stayed in room 308 and this was perfect for the three of us. The hotel is absolutely beautiful on the inside and the bathrooms are large compared to other hotels. The staff was very friendly. I loved the pool area and the cabanas to get some shade from the sun. The only thing that wasn't perfect was that parking is definitely an issue. We got a space right up front when we arrived. Later that evening when we went out for dinner, we came back to find all the spaces filled due to a reception in the bar. There were many, oversized SUV's parked in the already small spaces, which left cars no room to open the door once you squeezed into a space. Other than that, great hotel in the upscale Westshore location.

Room Tip: Room 308 is an interior access, corner room that has a large window overlooking the pool and views o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPTW5303, Director of Guest Relations at Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Dear Lcdsp911,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Crowne Plaza Westshore! We are very happy to hear that your family had a great time at our hotel and got an opportunity to enjoy our updated pool area. Thank you so much for staying with us and providing room tips to other guests!

Sincerely,

Tiffany Steele
Director of Guest Relations
tiffany.steele@crowneplazatampa.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indian Land, South Carolina
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

This hotel was a quick pick and believe me we will back. The room was clean and the shower was exceptional, the water pressure was great and the bed was exceptional, one of the best nights sleep I had in a long long time...I have an extremely bad back and this was a great bed!! I am picky where that goes!!

The staff was friendly and helpful...we only stayed one night but the location is near a lot of restaurants and nightlife....and the bridge to St. Petersburg is right there, the view is spectacular form that bridge......needless to say we are hooked on this hotel and will be back!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPTW5303, Director of Guest Relations at Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Dear karenmits,

Thank you so much for the five star review of our hotel along with some amazing comments! We are so happy that your quick pick of our hotel resulted in an experience that you are now hooked on! We will be sharing your comments with our staff and we all look forward to your next stay!

Sincerely,

Tiffany Steele
Director of Guest Relations
tiffany.steele@crowneplazatampa.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

Our family of 5 (3 teenagers) stayed in room 909 and were very pleased. I booked online, great price considering the location and it was 4th of July weekend. Chris checked us in, great customer service, simple check in. Room was nice and clean, roll away bed came right away. Enjoyed the pool area but it was crowded. Beds were way too firm. Room needs a microwave and fridge. Nice view of the Bay. Overall well worth it for the price. And free WiFi!

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPTW5303, Director of Guest Relations at Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Dear Crissy H,

We want to thank you and your family for choosing to spend your 4th of July weekend at the Crowne Plaza Westshore! We are very pleased to hear that Chris was able to provide you with a seamless and efficient check in and your room had a nice view of the bay! We are also happy to hear that the experience was overall well worth it for the price. Thank you for all of your feedback and we hope to see you again next year!

Sincerely,

Tiffany Steele
Director of Guest Relations
tiffany.steele@crowneplazatampa.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

We stayed at The Crown Plaza June of 2014. The service was good and the rooms comfortable with a great view from the 10th floor. Amy offered us a friendly welcome and her help was very personal. I owe her a big thank you with help printing my airline tickets at 1:45 in the morning.The pool was clean and fun to enjoy. We especially liked the pillows in our room. If we knew where to buy some we certainly would.

Room Tip: If you want a view of the bay ask for it. If you'd like to be by the pool it almost seems like a...
See more room tips
Green Features: Don't really care about "tree huggy stuff". However if it's important to you, that's your business.
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPTW5303, Director of Guest Relations at Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Dear Gregory R,

Thank you for rating us five stars! We are so happy to hear that Amy was able to assist you with your needs and we will make sure to let her know that you are thankful for her help! We are so glad that you enjoyed your room and we wanted to let you know that the pillows are by Pacific Coast brand. Thank you again for staying with us and we will see you in the future!

Sincerely,

Tiffany Steele
Director of Guest Relations
tiffany.steele@crowneplazatampa.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winston salem
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Second Time at this Hotel this year. Good Location and within walking distance of the West Shore Mall, that has a Movie Theater. Do upgrades very well, outdoor pool very good and I can't rave enough about the people, especially the GM, Joe.

Room Tip: Try to upgrade to the Cabans
See more room tips
Green Features: Pretty much what other Hotels are following.Outstanding effort by Hotel
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPTW5303, Director of Guest Relations at Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Dear william r,

Thank you so much for your review! We are thrilled that you have noticed as well as have enjoyed all of the upgrades that we have been working diligently on over the past several months. Our GM Joe is an amazing leader and he is very appreciative of your recognition of him! Thank you for continuing to stay at the Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore and we look forward to your third stay!

Sincerely,

Tiffany Steele
Director of Guest Relations
tiffany.steele@crowneplazatampa.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida, United States
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

At first I was happy with the hotel. It looked kind of old in the outside, but it has been remodeled in the inside. The staff was very friendly, and the room looked clean. But, for me a very important feature that a hotel has to offer is a comfortable bed. This bed was far from that. It was the hardest bed I have ever slept on. In fact, I couldn't sleep at all. I am sorry, but just because of the bed, I wouldn't come back. I need a comfortable bed after a long day. Also, the pipes in the shower (at least in the room I stayed) need to be fixed because the drainage is not working well.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPTW5303, Director of Guest Relations at Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Dear Mariana L,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent stay at our hotel. We are so glad that you had friendly encounters with our staff and enjoyed the inside appearance of the hotel. We are very sorry to hear that you did not receive a good nights rest as we know how important that is when travelling. We have just recently replaced all of our mattresses to Simmons Beauty Rest in order to comply with the Crowne Plaza standards across North America. These mattresses are considered top of the line and we are very excited to continue to present new and up to date product to our guests. We do hope that you change your mind about staying with us again in the future and we thank you for your feedback.

Sincerely,

Tiffany Steele
Director of Guest Relations
tiffany.steele@crowneplazatampa.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore

Address: 5303 West Kennedy Boulevard, Tampa, FL 33609
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Tampa
#21 Business Hotel in Tampa
#44 Family Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Tampa's newest premier hotel. The new Crowne Plaza Hotel Tampa Westshore offers a uniqueness all its own that can perhaps be best described as modern and fresh but elegantly posh. The Crowne Plaza Hotel Tampa Westshore offers its guest complimentary shuttle service to and from Tampa Airport. The Crowne Plaza Hotel Tampa Westshore is located less than 2 miles from Tampa International Airport (TPA) and in the heart of the thriving Westshore business district. Our hotel is only a short walk from the Westshore Plaza Mall, offering the finest in shopping, dining and entertainment. Additionally, we are just minutes from the University of Tampa, Tampa General and the University of South Florida. While visiting the Crowne Plaza Hotel Tampa Westshore, you will find that our location is convenient to many attractions such as Busch Gardens, Adventure Island, Raymond James Stadium, George M Steinbrenner Field, Tropicana Field, Florida Aquarium, St. Pete Times Forum and the Port of Tampa located at Channelside.Local businesses include Bank of America, Humana, MacDill Air Force Base, Verizon, Wachovia, General Electric, Met Life and Cisco Systems. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travelocity, Priceline, BookIt.com, Tingo, Booking.com, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore Hotel Tampa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.