We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Vacation Spot” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore

Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5303 West Kennedy Boulevard, Tampa, FL 33609   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 25%
Ranked #36 of 159 hotels in Tampa
GreenLeadersGold level
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great Vacation Spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

From the moment we walked into the lobby, I loved the place. The front desk clerk was very courteous and explained everything to us. It was speedy and nice. Our room was wonderful and even though there was not much of a view in the front it was still nice being on the 8th floor. I am always skeptical till I check out the bathroom and it was very nice. The bed was comfortable and the wifi worked great. Very roomy room. We had the king size bed. I would recommend this hotel to anyone, if you have family with you or just a nice vacation spot. The Mojito club that is in the hotel was very nice and the food was good. This hotel is located right across the street from the mall. There is also a nice Jazz spot next door. The shuttle service is also very good. NO complaints from me on this review and I do alot of traveling and take plenty of pics. I give it to you straight, the good the bad and the ugly. GREAT PLACE TO STAY!!! Oh and the pool is awesome!!! I took my first swimming lessons in it and now I think I am a pro. lol

Room Tip: For a great view, as for a room on the pool side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPTW5303, Manager at Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Wow, what a glowing review! Thank you so much for taking the time to share this on TripAdvisor. We are so glad you got to enjoy our helpful staff, your room, and Mojito! Our resort style pool is the highlight of our leisure traveler’s vacation. Thanks for sharing your first swimming lesson with us; I'm sure you are a pro now! We look forward to your next visit!

Sincerely,
Amanda Keyes
Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore
amanda.keyes@crowneplazatampa.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

428 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    206
    140
    49
    19
    14
See reviews for
64
114
48
143
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We arrived in a very bad storm and as we reached the shuttle transfer it had just departed.
We hopped in a taxi - flat rate us$15 and got to the hotel in approx 10 mins.
There was a short wait at checkin and we were given our room.
Large room, nice comfy bed - we were offered a choice and good amenities in the bathroom.
The bar and "happy hour" was super. The guy who was tending was brilliant - promoted the happy hour foods and we ended up eating there. For an "airport hotel" this represented amazing value for money. (And if the bartender had not told us we would not have known)
There was a nice pool - couldn't try it because of the weather.
Great location for airport and port.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPTW5303, Manager at Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about our hotel. Our proximity to the port and airport is great for our business and leisure travelers. I'm so glad you were able to take advantage of our happy hour specials. It's a shame that you missed out on the pool, but now you have a reason to come back! We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Tampa!

Best Regards,
Amanda Keyes
Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore
amanda.keyes@crowneplazatampa.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamstown, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

I see another reviewer has recently posted about our recent gathering at this hotel. First, I'll comment on the room. I had a suite on the second floor near the pool which was very nice. The room was well-kept and the decor is up-to-date. I think some of the reviewers may be right about the walls not being well-soundproofed, but fortunately, I had no immediate neighbors so I slept fine. The bigger problem noise-wise was the air conditioner which was kind of loud (did it really need to be in the bedroom so close to the bed? even smaller hotels have them farther away). Some people have commented that they didn't like the small windows in the suite's bedroom; they didn't really bother me and I tend to be claustrophobic. The bedroom's spaciousness makes up for it.

As the other reviewer has said, though, the handling of our convention was sub-par. There was another convention next door with club music blaring routinely making it hard for us to have our convention. And there were issues with the banquet afterwards (appetizers served late, no microphone for awards presentation, etc.). I thought the chicken dish was good, though.

Staff was all very nice and helpful - no problems in the service department at all.

Room Tip: Stayed in room 245 facing the pool - it was far away from the main building so it was pretty quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPTW5303, Manager at Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We appreciate how detailed your comments are about your experience in the cabana suite. I apologize that we missed an opportunity regarding the conference; your comments have been discussed with management. However, I'm glad you enjoyed the interaction with our staff as we pride ourselves on our superior level of service. We hope that you will join us again soon!

Sincerely,
Amanda Keyes
amanda.keyes@crowneplazatampa.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This property has gone thru a complete renovation/re-invention. Not only is the property spectacular but the folks who work here are super friendly and helpful. We were upgraded to a suite outside near the pool. At first, I was a little surprised as I hadn't stayed in a room with an outside access in quite awhile. But wow, when you open the door, you are blown away with an amazing leather couch, huge TV, nice working desk area, chair, etc. Very nice and upscale. The bath area has beautiful floor tiles, upscale sink and plenty of room. And the shower was terrific. Then you still have a large separate bedroom with small high window which is great for nice dark room while sleeping

But it's the people who make this place great. We spent some time in the lounge and the food and atmosphere were more like a club than any hotel bar I've visited. We also discovered the hotels best hidden gem in Samantha, the bartender several evenings we were there. She was very friendly, helpful with suggestions on where to go, so upbeat.

Front desk were friendly, remembered our names (I wish I could remember the name of the gentleman who was working the holiday weekend - he was really terrific and always said hello). Bellman was so friendly and fun to talk to and so was the restaurant staff.

Pool area was beautiful as was the outdoor lounge area and fountain.

Just can't say enough about how wonderful this hotel is, great location, just can't beat it no matter what your needs are.

Room Tip: If you can get an upgrade to a suite, go for it. Didn't see what a regular room was like but th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPTW5303, Manager at Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks so much for sharing these wonderful comments with us about your recent stay! Eric, Samantha, and the rest of our staff are what make us successful. I'm so glad you were able to experience how they go above and beyond for each one of our guests. Thank you again for given such a detailed review. This will help future leisure and business travelers know where to stay when they come to Tampa.

Best Regards,
Amanda Keyes
Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore
amanda.keyes@crowneplazatampa.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft. Lauderdale, FL
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We had a small club convention at this hotel. The hotel staff was overwhelmingly nice and accommodating. Our ball room/meeting room was next door to another meeting and their noise made conversation impossible in our room. Our dinner function, also in the ballroom, was badly put together... we ordered appetizers for our cocktail reception, which were served after the dinner started. There was no microphone for the large room, and the AV department was closed for the weekend. Service and food were lacking. SO unfortunately, good hotel for the price, NOT such a good meeting.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPTW5303, Manager at Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts with us about your recent stay. It's great to hear that the staff was so accommodating to you and your needs throughout the weekend. I would like to sincerely apologize for the opportunities we missed regarding the banquet services. There was a last minute change made by the group leader and all food preparation was pushed up by one hour. We consistently exceed our guests expectations in every department and hope that you will give us a chance to show you that in the future.

Best Regards,
Amanda Keyes
amanda.keyes@crowneplazatampa.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Needed a hotel for a night prior to flying out of Tampa, and decided to book this hotel due to it's proximity and shuttle to the airport. From the minute I arrived, I cant think of a single thing to complain about or nit pick on. Check in staff were very friendly and helpful, the shuttle driver was just as friendly and helpful, the rooms were spotless and modern, and the price I paid was great. The hotel is just across from the Westshore Plaza Mall, five minutes from the International Plaza Mall, and about five minutes from the airport. This area of Tampa doesnt really cater to tourists, so I'm not sure this hotel would be ideal for tourists staying in the area looking for a beach location, but it's absolutely great for anybody on business in the area or looking for a great hotel prior to flying out of TPA. I look forward to staying there again on my next flight out of the airport.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPTW5303, Manager at Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with us about your recent stay! We are so glad you left with such a positive view of our hotel. Our shuttle is extremely convenient for our business and leisure travelers. Next time you are here we can take you to a small beach area that is within our shuttle range or arrange transportation for you to the beaches on the Gulf. We look forward to your next stay with us and thanks again for the great review!

Sincerely,
Amanda Keyes
Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore
amanda.keyes@crowneplazatampa.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

This weekend, my husband and I stayed at the Crowne Plaza. We had the most wonderful time and were amazed at the quality of service this hotel provided us. It was our first anniversary and the staff made us feel extremely welcome. We were delighted by a bottle of wine and a cheese and fruit plate in our room (which was upgraded to suite!). I have worked in customer service for a good part of my life and have never encountered the quality of service the staff provided us. Some of the staff members which made our stay very special included Butch, the driver, and Samantha and Bry from Mojitos. Our first anniversary was one we will never forget.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPTW5303, Manager at Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for celebrating your wedding anniversary with us! We are so glad we were able to "wow" you and make it a memorable experience. Our staff loves to go above and beyond for our guests. It's great you were able to see that level of service from our driver, Butch and the girls in Mojito. We wish you all the best and look forward to having you back soon!

Warm Regards,
Amanda Keyes
Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore
amanda.keyes@crowneplazatampa.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore

Address: 5303 West Kennedy Boulevard, Tampa, FL 33609
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Tampa
#20 Business Hotel in Tampa
#44 Family Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Tampa's newest premier hotel. The new Crowne Plaza Hotel Tampa Westshore offers a uniqueness all its own that can perhaps be best described as modern and fresh but elegantly posh. The Crowne Plaza Hotel Tampa Westshore offers its guest complimentary shuttle service to and from Tampa Airport. The Crowne Plaza Hotel Tampa Westshore is located less than 2 miles from Tampa International Airport (TPA) and in the heart of the thriving Westshore business district. Our hotel is only a short walk from the Westshore Plaza Mall, offering the finest in shopping, dining and entertainment. Additionally, we are just minutes from the University of Tampa, Tampa General and the University of South Florida. While visiting the Crowne Plaza Hotel Tampa Westshore, you will find that our location is convenient to many attractions such as Busch Gardens, Adventure Island, Raymond James Stadium, George M Steinbrenner Field, Tropicana Field, Florida Aquarium, St. Pete Times Forum and the Port of Tampa located at Channelside.Local businesses include Bank of America, Humana, MacDill Air Force Base, Verizon, Wachovia, General Electric, Met Life and Cisco Systems. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Priceline, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Tingo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore Hotel Tampa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.