We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay as far as Airport Hotels go” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5303 West Kennedy Boulevard, Tampa, FL 33609   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 25%
Ranked #32 of 159 Hotels in Tampa
Chicago
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Wonderful Stay as far as Airport Hotels go”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Needed a hotel for a night prior to flying out of Tampa, and decided to book this hotel due to it's proximity and shuttle to the airport. From the minute I arrived, I cant think of a single thing to complain about or nit pick on. Check in staff were very friendly and helpful, the shuttle driver was just as friendly and helpful, the rooms were spotless and modern, and the price I paid was great. The hotel is just across from the Westshore Plaza Mall, five minutes from the International Plaza Mall, and about five minutes from the airport. This area of Tampa doesnt really cater to tourists, so I'm not sure this hotel would be ideal for tourists staying in the area looking for a beach location, but it's absolutely great for anybody on business in the area or looking for a great hotel prior to flying out of TPA. I look forward to staying there again on my next flight out of the airport.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPTW5303, Manager at Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with us about your recent stay! We are so glad you left with such a positive view of our hotel. Our shuttle is extremely convenient for our business and leisure travelers. Next time you are here we can take you to a small beach area that is within our shuttle range or arrange transportation for you to the beaches on the Gulf. We look forward to your next stay with us and thanks again for the great review!

Sincerely,
Amanda Keyes
Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore
amanda.keyes@crowneplazatampa.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    217
    149
    51
    18
    14
See reviews for
67
120
48
149
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

This weekend, my husband and I stayed at the Crowne Plaza. We had the most wonderful time and were amazed at the quality of service this hotel provided us. It was our first anniversary and the staff made us feel extremely welcome. We were delighted by a bottle of wine and a cheese and fruit plate in our room (which was upgraded to suite!). I have worked in customer service for a good part of my life and have never encountered the quality of service the staff provided us. Some of the staff members which made our stay very special included Butch, the driver, and Samantha and Bry from Mojitos. Our first anniversary was one we will never forget.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPTW5303, Manager at Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for celebrating your wedding anniversary with us! We are so glad we were able to "wow" you and make it a memorable experience. Our staff loves to go above and beyond for our guests. It's great you were able to see that level of service from our driver, Butch and the girls in Mojito. We wish you all the best and look forward to having you back soon!

Warm Regards,
Amanda Keyes
Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore
amanda.keyes@crowneplazatampa.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkland, Florida
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Just come home from a 2 night stay at this property to attend a conference held there.

Requested a King room...Given a 2 double, not a huge deal, but it was a foreshadow of things to come.

The hallway- 6th floor- was low- a funny dropped ceiling going down to about 6"6'- made the space feel cramped.
Got into the room, found my 2 double beds- again, not a huge deal but.....The property as others have said is near the airport- Jet noise, plus noisy A/C= not a good sleeping environment. Also, there was no room darkening shades on the window..... room was light regardless of the time of day.

Breakfast Buffet.... EH... Cold food, stale pastries and an arrogant host pouring coffee.... Glad it was included as part of my conference stay, as it wasn't worth what they were charging.

NOW>>> I CANNOT BLAME THE HOTEL FOR THE ACTIONS OF ITS GUESTS.... BUT, they should be responsible for the actions of their staff in response to the guests.

There was a large party of young folks occupying several rooms on my floor, and their party carried into the hallway at approx. 1am.... No security roaming the building. At 3:30 AM a young man in is jockey shorts was banging on my door in an attempt to get in. It took THREE calls to the front desk to get someone up to my hallway outside my room to escort this youth (QUITE INTOXICATED) to the desk. By this time(4AM ) I was wide awake with no hope of sleep.

The desk staff did not intervene towards myself at any time, not even an apology for the inconvenience. Even the ASST GM was quite useless in any explanation to the lack of security or the delayed response to the incident overnight. All she offered was a weak apology and that she would speak to the overnight staff.

The hotel itself is in major need of an overhaul... Trash needed to be emptied and fixtures outdated.

For the price, there are many other options near the Tampa airport that will suit your needs in a much nicer environment with Friendlier staff.

Room Tip: To find a good room, look for a different property
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear IKE954,

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to leave a review. We strive to provide the best possible service and experience and it is always great to hear from our guests on how we are doing. We are very sorry to read that you experienced inconvenience because we did not meet your expectations. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

This hotel is a little slice of heaven! I managed a conference at the Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore and can't say enough good things about my experience. My client was thrilled and raved about the hotel and it's staff from beginning to end. It is only 2 minutes from the airport, but you would think you at a tropical resort. The hotel staff is phenomenal - friendly, helpful and always professional. The rooms are clean, modern and beautifully appointed. I came for business but felt like I was on vacation!

Room Tip: Pick a Cabana Suite - huge and luxurious, right next to the pool (but quiet)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPTW5303, Manager at Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear JPWren,

Thank you so much for sharing that glowing review of our hotel! We are so glad to hear that you loved the resort style feel with the convenience of being so close to the airport. We hold conferences of all sizes and are so glad we were able to accommodate your group so well. We look forward to having you and your team visit us again soon!

Best Regards,
Amanda Keyes
Sales Coordinator
Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore
amanda.keyes@crowneplazatampa.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

I stayed here during a business visit to Tampa. It is located close the airport and the hotel offered a free shuttle service from the airport. I received a warm welcome by the friendly and cheerful hotel staff. I requested for a room in the quiet zone. I had a sound sleep on the plush and comfortable beds. The rooms also offered views of the bay and the city. It was relaxing after spending a long day of enjoying the popular Tampa Bay attractions. I enjoyed the hot breakfast of egg benedicts and a warm cup of tea with a cool and refreshing juice in their stylish and relaxed Mezzo restaurant. If you are looking to celebrate life and indulge this is the perfect place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPTW5303, Manager at Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear Becky H.,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us! We are so glad you were able to "celebrate life and indulge" here at the Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore. It's always nice to be able to relax and enjoy the local attractions while still attending to needed business. We will see you on your next visit to Tampa!

Sincerely,
Amanda Keyes
Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore
amanda.keyes@crowneplazatampa.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

We spent 3 nights in this hotel early August 2013. Overall statement is far below what we expected from a Crowne Plaza and far below average. The hotel is pretty noisy being located close to the airport and so close to the freeway. Regrettably you won't find a peaceful rest in your rooms just because the A/C is so noisy that you feel sleeping close to a jet. Staff is not kind and breakfast is pretty poor (the last day there was not even the buffet as the staff was too late - or too lazy - to set it up. Unbelievable!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPTW5303, Manager at Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. Please accept our sincere apology for the shortcomings you experienced during your stay. We have taken note of your valuable comments and have shared these with our management team to ensure that similar incidents won't happen again in the future. We value your feedback as they enable us to further improve the quality and services we offer and to surpass the very high standards our guests expect. Please contact me directly with any further questions or concerns.

Sincerely,
Amanda Keyes
amanda.keyes@crowneplazatampa.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

My husband and I really enjoyed our stay at Crowne Plaza Westshore in Tampa. I loved that there was a kurig in the room (Only wish there were two regular and no decaf). The hotel staff was friendly and personable. Elle was great and welcoming when we checked in after our flight came in late and suggested somewhere we could grab a quick bite. The location of the Crowne plaza was right downtown and there were plenty of food options. The rooms were clean and up- to date. The room seemed to have modern decorations. The bed was pretty comfortable and the comfortable was very Fluffy! I loved all the relaxing sleep extras they had by the bed! There was a calming lotion and face balm to put on with chamomile smells- I believe. From our room we could see the bay- So we had the best of two worlds downtown and the water! I could not imagine a better location and better service! I was so impressed I would definitely stay there again. The breakfast downstairs was a great and quick too (Elle suggested we eat there instead of going out for breakfast when we checked in)! Check out was a breeze too- the bill was under our door with an itemized list of what we spent!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPTW5303, Manager at Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you so much for that glowing review of your recent stay with us! We are thrilled you were able to utilize all the amenities of the hotel and that Elle provided excellent service. Our Executive Level Rooms do have an amazing view with many additional amenities. Our sleep amenity kit and bedding makes for an amazing night of sleep! We hope that you will be returning to the area soon to enjoy more relaxation!

Warm Regards,
Amanda Keyes
Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore
amanda.keyes@crowneplazatampa.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore

Address: 5303 West Kennedy Boulevard, Tampa, FL 33609
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in Tampa
#32 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#39 Family Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore 3.5*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Tampa's newest premier hotel. The new Crowne Plaza Hotel Tampa Westshore offers a uniqueness all its own that can perhaps be best described as modern and fresh but elegantly posh. The Crowne Plaza Hotel Tampa Westshore offers its guest complimentary shuttle service to and from Tampa Airport. The Crowne Plaza Hotel Tampa Westshore is located less than 2 miles from Tampa International Airport (TPA) and in the heart of the thriving Westshore business district. Our hotel is only a short walk from the Westshore Plaza Mall, offering the finest in shopping, dining and entertainment. Additionally, we are just minutes from the University of Tampa, Tampa General and the University of South Florida. While visiting the Crowne Plaza Hotel Tampa Westshore, you will find that our location is convenient to many attractions such as Busch Gardens, Adventure Island, Raymond James Stadium, George M Steinbrenner Field, Tropicana Field, Florida Aquarium, St. Pete Times Forum and the Port of Tampa located at Channelside.Local businesses include Bank of America, Humana, MacDill Air Force Base, Verizon, Wachovia, General Electric, Met Life and Cisco Systems. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, IHG, Booking.com, AAA Travel Services, BookIt.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore Hotel Tampa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.