We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for business travel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5303 West Kennedy Boulevard, Tampa, FL 33609   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #37 of 159 Hotels in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Jacksonville, Florida, United States
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great for business travel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

I stayed at the Crowne Plaza for three nights while working in Tampa. The hotel is located within walking distance from great restaurants. Only a 5 mile drive to Ybor city. I had a cocktail every night at Mojitos the lounge/restaurant located in the hotel. The rooms were nicely decorated and the bed was extremely comfortable. I enjoyed working under the tiki hut near the pool. I will definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPTW5303, Manager at Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are happy to hear you enjoyed our hotel during your past business trip. Thank you for posting your comments about your stay as we have many business travelers coming through the hotel weekly. It assures them that we have all the amenities they are looking for during their travels. We look forward to your next visit with us!

Best Regards,
Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    224
    163
    59
    23
    14
See reviews for
71
128
56
159
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, MB Canada
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Needed a room for one night pre-cruise. Got in late evening on day prior to departure so weren't able to utilize any amenties other than the room.

Most impressed with the service starting with the shuttle from the airport. Called the hotel for pick-up and they were there minutes after we retrieved our luggage. Had a bit of a mix-up on beds (wanted 2 doubles/queens versus 1 king) and couldn't switch rooms as hotel was full. Jorge went out of his way to find a cot for our daughter. Next morning, shuttle driver (Bob?) dropped us off at his favourite restaurant for Easter breakfast and picked us up an hour and a half later. Hotel also made arrangements for us for Blue One shuttle to the cruise terminal. Great service!

Room was very nice - clean, spacious and modern (flat screen, free wifi, work station). Bathroom appeared to have been recently renovated - very nice walk-in shower with rain showerhead. Only thing the room needs to complete it is a mini fridge.

Can't beat the location. About a 10 minute drive from the airport, about a 15 minute drive to the cruise terminal and less than a 10 minute walk from the WestShore Plaza (great stores and restaurants).

Definitely recommend this hotel and will stay again on our next visit to Tampa.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPTW5303, Manager at Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay as your feedback means a great deal to our team and future hotel guests. We are so pleased that Jorge and Bob went out of their way to make your stay more enjoyable. Your detailed notes about the area and services we offer will most definitely help future cruise travelers. We hope your cruise was enjoyable as well and we look forward to seeing you on your next vacation!

Sincerely,
Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raeford, North Carolina
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

I just recently stayed at the Crowne Plaza. I had been there before but they have done some upgrades that were pleasant.

Rooms: stayed in the 2 double bed room. The rooms are relatively spacious with a work station with a wireless keyboard. The rooms come equipped with a flatscreen TV. The beds are extremely comfortable and the renovations to the bathrooms were nice. I'm glad they took out the tub and installed a walk-in shower with a rain showerhead.

If you are a Priority Club member, they now provide free wi-fi in your room and a free hot breakfast buffet.

The on-site bar/restaurant was great. The bartenders and wait staff were extremely friendly and the food was delicious. During the week, they have happy hour until 8pm so drinks are reduced and I think the happy hour appetizers were half priced.

Overall a great stay and will definitely return.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPTW5303, Manager at Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for being a loyal Priority Club Member! We appreciate that you took the time to comment on your stay and noticed the upgrades around the hotel. We pride ourselves on exceeding your expectations with our accomodations and guest service. Thank you again for your comments; we look forward to your return!

Best Wishes,
Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bandung
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

Service was excellent, all staff was friendly and helpful. Location was great. Everything was clean. But the food need to be improved. Need more variety and more tasty. Thank you to jorge, chris, driver and waiter you are awesome.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPTW5303, Manager at Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We appreciate you recogizing several of our outstanding associates; it's great that they were able to leave a lasting impression with you! Your comments about the food services will be directly relayed to the department head. Thank you again and we hope you see you back soon.

Sincerely,
Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

This hotel lives up to the expectation of the Crown. The staff was friendly and efficient. The room was very clean, well furnished, and spacious.
The in house restaurant has a good reasonably priced breakfast.
The room did not have a mini fridge but there was a space for one, hopefully coming soon.
Overall a great stay and a good value.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPTW5303, Manager at Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts about our hotel! It is wonderful to know that your overall experience here was great. We were proud to be awarded a Torch Bearer Award this past year which is a top honor within our IHG family. We are so pleased you were able to experience our staff upholding that award and striving to exceed your expectations at every turn. We look forward to your return!

Best Regards,
Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We stayed here over the Easter holidays and the hotel is excellent, with spacious, clean modern rooms and facilities not to mention the efficient and very friendly staff along with the more than ample parking.

The one thing that knocks it down from a 5 star experience to a 3 star is the fact that the soundproofing in the rooms are shocking.

I can normally sleep through anything but you can hear every little thing that goes on in the rooms either side of you and everything that goes on the the hallways. This resulted in the worst three nights of sleep I have had staying in a hotel. Which is a real shame as everything else was wonderful.

If they can soundproof the rooms then I'd have no hesitation in giving this hotel the 5 stars it deserves, until then it's a case of great hotel for a visit but just don't stay for the night.

Room Tip: Bring earplugs, avoid rooms close to elevators, stairs and ice machines.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPTW5303, Manager at Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

On behalf of our entire staff we would like to sincerely apologize for the inconveniences you endured throughout your stay. Your experience has been shared with the Executive Committee as an effort to improve the services we provide. Thank you for your patience and understanding and we hope you do try us again soon.

Sincerely,
Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

The hotel is not a four star hotel. A three at best. Very dimly lit room and hallways. Very hard to read or see. Shuttle service was excellent to and from airport. Always on time.
The lounge area was also dark. We ordered food and it was quite expensive. Maybe this is how it is close to the airport. Room was clean but needed some bathroom renovations

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPTW5303, Manager at Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your experience with us as your feedback means a great deal to our team and future hotel guests. We are so glad you were able to utilize our shuttle services to and from the airport. Your comments about the restaurant are extremely helpful as we are always looking for ways to improve our services. We hope you do give us another chance in the future to show you how great our hotel and Mojito can be.

Best Regards,
Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore

Address: 5303 West Kennedy Boulevard, Tampa, FL 33609
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Tampa
#41 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore 3.5*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Tampa's newest premier hotel. The new Crowne Plaza Hotel Tampa Westshore offers a uniqueness all its own that can perhaps be best described as modern and fresh but elegantly posh. The Crowne Plaza Hotel Tampa Westshore offers its guest complimentary shuttle service to and from Tampa Airport. The Crowne Plaza Hotel Tampa Westshore is located less than 2 miles from Tampa International Airport (TPA) and in the heart of the thriving Westshore business district. Our hotel is only a short walk from the Westshore Plaza Mall, offering the finest in shopping, dining and entertainment. Additionally, we are just minutes from the University of Tampa, Tampa General and the University of South Florida. While visiting the Crowne Plaza Hotel Tampa Westshore, you will find that our location is convenient to many attractions such as Busch Gardens, Adventure Island, Raymond James Stadium, George M Steinbrenner Field, Tropicana Field, Florida Aquarium, St. Pete Times Forum and the Port of Tampa located at Channelside.Local businesses include Bank of America, Humana, MacDill Air Force Base, Verizon, Wachovia, General Electric, Met Life and Cisco Systems. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, EasyToBook, BookIt.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore Hotel Tampa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.