We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore

Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5303 West Kennedy Boulevard, Tampa, FL 33609   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #39 of 159 hotels in Tampa
GreenLeadersGold level
Colts Neck, New Jersey
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Disappointed!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

I booked a four star hotel. After a long day of traveling, we arrived at the hotel in the late evening. Nothing was open to have a bite to eat in the hotel. The front desk could not recommend a place nearby. Thank goodness for Yelp! When we arrived at our room we were appalled! Cinder block walls! View of the roof! Two double beds .......not the queens that were advertised.... Mini bathroom... Yikes!!! This was not a four star hotel!! It was not even close!

Room Tip: Choose another hotel! There are many nearby!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPTW5303, Manager at Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking a moment to review your recent stay with us. Please allow me to apologize for the inconveniences that you experienced during your night with us. Despite your disappointment with the room type and view, we hope that the world- class service you experienced was able to shine through. We appreciate your feedback as this is the best resource for improving our hotel. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Best Regards,
Amanda Keyes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

413 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    196
    137
    48
    18
    14
See reviews for
62
112
47
134
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Maria, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Good place to stay In a secluded location just south of the airport and near great restaurants like Seasons 22 and near the mall. Breakfast buffet is usually included and is hot standard American. However one drawback ~ no washer and dryer on site.

Very friendly staff.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPTW5303, Manager at Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We welcome feedback as we are always interesting in hearing how we can improve the experience for our guests. We are so glad you were able to interact with our friendly staff; we strive to provide exceptional customer service to all our guests. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Tampa!

Warm Regards,
Amanda Keyes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston Ontario
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

The shuttle was fast from the airport and checkin was fast and easy. Our room was at the end, so probably a bit smaller. We had a king bed that was comfy. The bathroom had a shower where the bathub used to be. Water pressure was OK but not great. The hotel provided a shuttle for a 3 mile radius and it was great, allowed for a selection of restaurants not within walking distance of the hotel! Breakfast buffet was plentiful, slightly different selection for the 2 mornings. Staff was friendly. Within walking disance to a good mall! Hotel provided a shutte to the cruise port at 10$ per person. I would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munster, Indiana
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We only stayed one night, needing somewhere close to the airport. This worked very well for us. We had a room on the 9th floor, which was quiet, clean, the bed comfortable and the room size generous. The staff member at the reception desk was courteous. The waitstaff in the restaurant were pleasant.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daytona Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

If you don't mind water bugs I think the hotel and room are great. The rooms were well cleaned daily, the hotel staff were great, the beds and linins were comfy, hotel is a short ride to the airport, and breakfast was satisfactory. Now the only issue I encountered...

During my stay I stayed in one of the Cabana suites on the first floor. Unfortunately every night I would hear light movements along or in the wall which I assumed were some the numerous water bugs I've found daily throughout my stay. I called the front desk and notified them of the problem, and they transferred me to a superviosor who stated they could move me the next available evening (a Wednesday night). When I showed up Wednesday night, they had no record of me switching rooms and they could not move me until the following week because everything was booked.

In conclusion, if you do decide to stay here don't stay on the first floor if you can't deal with the water bugs.

Room Tip: Don't stay on the 1st floor in the Cabana Suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santo Domingo
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

I found a very good deal using LMT Club, and even though the breakfast wasn't included I decided to use it because it was conveniently located near to airport and other main places that I needed to go because it's in the center of the city.

I went to Tampa to take an exam in the University of Tampa, and Crowne Plaza is around 5 to 10 minutes away. So for me was great, and it's also 5 to 7 minutes away from the airport but what I loved is that isn't that closed that you hear the planes.

It's also close to Ybor City, which is a great place to enjoy very good foods and drinks, and the buildings amazing.

The hotel was very clean, the staff was very welcoming and friendly. I arrived late because a delay in the airport, and I received my bedroom as soon as I arrived. They have a very nice restaurant/bar called "Mojito", that many people from the city goes there to hang out. I ate there, and the service was excellent, the food was good although I think it was a lil bit expensive).

The hotel has a very nice pool, I didn't use it but I was crazy to use it. I was confused about the gym, because it seemed that it's required to pay $7.00/day, but you should ask because I forgot to do it.

They have free Internet and parking.

What I didn't like is that at least my bedroom didn't have a refrigerator, and most of the hotels have one (and for the daily rate they should). Also, the standard bedroom with two beds, the beds aren't size Queen, but Full. This won't matter if the two people will sleep separately, but in my case there weren't bedrooms available with 1 King bed, so they gave me a standard room with two beds.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whiteville, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Upon arrival was pleasantly surprised by upgrade to a very nice Suite (as a Priority Club Platinum Member) with view of the pool. During business I had to travel back and forth to St. Petersburg. After staying in mediocre hotels in St. Petersburg on previous trips I decided to try the Crowne nearest to the airport. The workout room was small but at least there were free weights. The restaurant onsite had good food which kept me from having to drive around searching for a restaurant. I will be staying here again in a few weeks.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore

Address: 5303 West Kennedy Boulevard, Tampa, FL 33609
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Tampa
#24 Business Hotel in Tampa
#35 Family Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Tampa's newest premier hotel. The new Crowne Plaza Hotel Tampa Westshore offers a uniqueness all its own that can perhaps be best described as modern and fresh but elegantly posh. The Crowne Plaza Hotel Tampa Westshore offers its guest complimentary shuttle service to and from Tampa Airport. The Crowne Plaza Hotel Tampa Westshore is located less than 2 miles from Tampa International Airport (TPA) and in the heart of the thriving Westshore business district. Our hotel is only a short walk from the Westshore Plaza Mall, offering the finest in shopping, dining and entertainment. Additionally, we are just minutes from the University of Tampa, Tampa General and the University of South Florida. While visiting the Crowne Plaza Hotel Tampa Westshore, you will find that our location is convenient to many attractions such as Busch Gardens, Adventure Island, Raymond James Stadium, George M Steinbrenner Field, Tropicana Field, Florida Aquarium, St. Pete Times Forum and the Port of Tampa located at Channelside.Local businesses include Bank of America, Humana, MacDill Air Force Base, Verizon, Wachovia, General Electric, Met Life and Cisco Systems. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore Hotel Tampa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.