We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you don't mind the water bugs...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5303 West Kennedy Boulevard, Tampa, FL 33609   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #33 of 159 Hotels in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
Daytona Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“If you don't mind the water bugs...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

If you don't mind water bugs I think the hotel and room are great. The rooms were well cleaned daily, the hotel staff were great, the beds and linins were comfy, hotel is a short ride to the airport, and breakfast was satisfactory. Now the only issue I encountered...

During my stay I stayed in one of the Cabana suites on the first floor. Unfortunately every night I would hear light movements along or in the wall which I assumed were some the numerous water bugs I've found daily throughout my stay. I called the front desk and notified them of the problem, and they transferred me to a superviosor who stated they could move me the next available evening (a Wednesday night). When I showed up Wednesday night, they had no record of me switching rooms and they could not move me until the following week because everything was booked.

In conclusion, if you do decide to stay here don't stay on the first floor if you can't deal with the water bugs.

Room Tip: Don't stay on the 1st floor in the Cabana Suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

517 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    239
    178
    63
    23
    14
See reviews for
79
137
56
170
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santo Domingo
Level Contributor
56 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

I found a very good deal using LMT Club, and even though the breakfast wasn't included I decided to use it because it was conveniently located near to airport and other main places that I needed to go because it's in the center of the city.

I went to Tampa to take an exam in the University of Tampa, and Crowne Plaza is around 5 to 10 minutes away. So for me was great, and it's also 5 to 7 minutes away from the airport but what I loved is that isn't that closed that you hear the planes.

It's also close to Ybor City, which is a great place to enjoy very good foods and drinks, and the buildings amazing.

The hotel was very clean, the staff was very welcoming and friendly. I arrived late because a delay in the airport, and I received my bedroom as soon as I arrived. They have a very nice restaurant/bar called "Mojito", that many people from the city goes there to hang out. I ate there, and the service was excellent, the food was good although I think it was a lil bit expensive).

The hotel has a very nice pool, I didn't use it but I was crazy to use it. I was confused about the gym, because it seemed that it's required to pay $7.00/day, but you should ask because I forgot to do it.

They have free Internet and parking.

What I didn't like is that at least my bedroom didn't have a refrigerator, and most of the hotels have one (and for the daily rate they should). Also, the standard bedroom with two beds, the beds aren't size Queen, but Full. This won't matter if the two people will sleep separately, but in my case there weren't bedrooms available with 1 King bed, so they gave me a standard room with two beds.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whiteville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Upon arrival was pleasantly surprised by upgrade to a very nice Suite (as a Priority Club Platinum Member) with view of the pool. During business I had to travel back and forth to St. Petersburg. After staying in mediocre hotels in St. Petersburg on previous trips I decided to try the Crowne nearest to the airport. The workout room was small but at least there were free weights. The restaurant onsite had good food which kept me from having to drive around searching for a restaurant. I will be staying here again in a few weeks.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

I have stayed at a number of crowne plazas and they are inconsistent. This one seemed renovated but not done well. The window covering was a translucent pull shade that fit with a sleek modern theme but it didn't block the light. It was so bad I had to say something. The bed was comfortable and the bedding was adequate but my experience of the facility was more in line with a budget motel rather than an upscale property.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear Michael C,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate your nice comment regarding the bed.

However, We’re sorry we fell below your expectation regarding the window covering. We will look at this point. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to ensure complete guest satisfaction. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgantown, West Virginia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

The hotel was okay. The rooms were fine although varied greatly in style and size at the same price point. The front desk staff were slow to help and not very friendly while doing so. The shuttle drivers and bar staff were incredibly friendly and helpful in contrast. Also the banquet food wasn't very good as opposed to the bar restaurant food which was delicious.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear eestell,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. Please accept our apologies for the service you encountered at the front desk and the food in our banquet room did not live up to your expectations. We are hospitality professionals who pride ourselves on delivering world class experience. Rest assured that your feedback will be reviewed by our team and take actions accordingly. Thank you for staying and we hope you give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niceville, Florida
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Wrong beds, were told there were no king's available. Sheets were so scratchy they left marks. Loud a/c units, but you had to use it as the room was so stuffy. The toilets were loud, we got to listen to ours as well as our neighbors for a long time as they ran on and on. Loud loud loud from the Mohito lounge on Saturday night. Numerous complaints did nothing, at 0130 my husband finally stormed down there only to be told that they would be quiet in an hour but they could give us another room if we wanted to pack up and move. I was so glad to be out of there we went to the airport 2 hours earlier than necessary just to get away.

Room Tip: Make sure you are not over the bar/lounge
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear AnnTed4,

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to leave a review. We strive to provide the best possible service and experience and it is always great to hear from our guests on how we are doing. We are very sorry to read that you experienced inconvenience because we did not meet your expectations. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

I want to extend my personal apology, and to thank you for helping us improve our hotel and services. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to our hotel and replace your bad experience with one that reflects our true standards.

Without your guest feedback we cannot continue to improve our services. We look forward to your return.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savage, Minnesota
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We recently stayed at the Westshore for two nights prior to a cruise, and I wouldnt hesitate to stay there again. The rooms were large, contemporary, and really comfortable. The pool area is really nice too. There is a large mall nearby if you're into shopping, but the hotel is really centrally located to a lot of other attractions as well. The VERY BEST part is that the hotel offers a free shuttle to anywhere w/i three miles and that includes some great restaurant and beach areas. It meant we didnt have to hassle with renting a care, and that saves some nice vacation cash. Lastly, the staff was really great.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Tampa Westshore
0.5 mi away
InterContinental Hotel Tampa
0.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Airport Westshore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Westin Tampa Harbour Island
0.9 mi away
Hyatt Place Tampa Airport/Westshore
2.8 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Tampa Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore

Address: 5303 West Kennedy Boulevard, Tampa, FL 33609
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in Tampa
#39 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#41 Family Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore 3.5*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Tampa's newest premier hotel. The new Crowne Plaza Hotel Tampa Westshore offers a uniqueness all its own that can perhaps be best described as modern and fresh but elegantly posh. The Crowne Plaza Hotel Tampa Westshore offers its guest complimentary shuttle service to and from Tampa Airport. The Crowne Plaza Hotel Tampa Westshore is located less than 2 miles from Tampa International Airport (TPA) and in the heart of the thriving Westshore business district. Our hotel is only a short walk from the Westshore Plaza Mall, offering the finest in shopping, dining and entertainment. Additionally, we are just minutes from the University of Tampa, Tampa General and the University of South Florida. While visiting the Crowne Plaza Hotel Tampa Westshore, you will find that our location is convenient to many attractions such as Busch Gardens, Adventure Island, Raymond James Stadium, George M Steinbrenner Field, Tropicana Field, Florida Aquarium, St. Pete Times Forum and the Port of Tampa located at Channelside.Local businesses include Bank of America, Humana, MacDill Air Force Base, Verizon, Wachovia, General Electric, Met Life and Cisco Systems. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore Hotel Tampa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.