We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's like home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5303 West Kennedy Boulevard, Tampa, FL 33609   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 25%
Ranked #32 of 159 Hotels in Tampa
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“It's like home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Whenever I'm in Tampa I stay at the Crowne Plaza on Kennedy. Joe the GM runs a great hotel and his staff is excellent. It's very convenient to everything and the staff is very friendly and make you feel at home and they handle any request quickly and efficiently. It's very clean and well appointed. The service is outstanding and I would recommend to any of friends or business associates.
Thank you Jorge for you great service!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    148
    49
    18
    14
See reviews for
65
119
48
146
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Louis, MO
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Several staff of my company stayed in this hotel for a conference Jan. 11-13. I was on the 4th floor. Hotel was clean and comfortable, staff was friendly and shuttle service was quick to/from the airport as well as local malls and restaurants. We had our conference in the business rooms and the staff were wonderful about keeping the area clean and picking up empty glasses/plates from the attendees tables. The food was good and the room setup worked well. The pool area was large and clean. We didn't have time to swim but the pool looked nice. We had a party at Mojitos with drink tickets and the service was pretty quick. I would recommend this hotel to businesses for a conference.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

My husband and I stayed in this hotel for one night in late December. The front desk staff was very helpful and friendly, and our room was clean and comfortable. Because we flew to Tampa and had several delays along the way, we decided to eat a quick meal and have a drink at Mojitos before going to bed. The wings and hummus were both delicious! Breakfast in the morning was also quite good. We usually have good experiences with Crowne Plaza hotels, and this was no exception. We would stay here again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lady Lake
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

This Hotel is listed as a 3.5 star hotel on most travel sites. The rooms are very small and the hotel is old and one can see that. The closet is tiny, and I could not imagine spending a long vacation there. Although it has been pretty well maintained, and has a very nice outdoor area in the back by the pool, I was not impressed at all. I have stayed at the Hilton on Westshore, the Hyatt Place, and Sheraton Suites and all are far better in my opinion. This is a bit off the path as well and not really walkable on Westshore. I have seen very good reviews but I must disagree. I would choose a 3 or 2.5 star Hyatt, Springhill, ect. over this. Overall, I would give it 2.5 stars. If you can get a good deal and are staying for a night or two then it is fine. Otherwise, would look elsewhere. Have not been impressed with Crown Plaza in general, they are usually old and run down. And to me, Marriott, all hotels, have the best customer service hands down.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear wrthster,

Thank you for your recent stay and taking the time to write feedback of our property. We strive to provide the best possible service and experience and it is always great to hear from our guests on how we are doing. I am sorry that you found your stay less than satisfactory on this day due to the room accommodations. We take all reviews positive and negative very seriously, and your feedback will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit.

Sincerely,

Pam G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012 via mobile

Great service, near to two decent malls, a movie theatre and some restaurants. Rooms were good sized and clean.

Only complaints, the Mojito Bar staff were a bit cold, and the machines in the weight room need some maintenance.

Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cocoa, Florida
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Stayed on the 10th floor at this property for one night. Free parking is a plus, restaurant and bar on the property another plus. The room we had was a handicap room, rather small, but okay. The building appears to be old but well maintained. The staff was pleasant and helpful through out the hotel. It is close to the interstate and airport so it can get a little noisy at time. Seems the government has a contract with this property as we saw many uniformed military members from several different countries during our stay. Many of the rooms were occupied on most floors. Depends on what sort of money you spend as to whether this is a good value or not??

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPTW5303, Director of Rooms at Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at the Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore. We appreciate you taking the time to write a detailed review.

While the exterior of our building is older, we completed a full remodel and were given the 2009 Renovation Award from Intercontinental Hotels Group. Our hotel was designed to offer many different room types to accommodate our guests needs. We hope that upon your next visit we can accommodate a different room type to better suit your needs with ample space.

Once again, thank you for your review and we look forward to a future visit.

Best Regards,

Melissa Golub
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

Recently hosted business meeting at this location. Very close to Tampa International Airport and both Westshore Mall and International Plaza. Westshore is in walking distance and offers plenty of dinner options (Maggiano's, PF Changs Three Palms, Grill 52). The hotel staff and facilities were very good. The guest rooms were decorated in a black/gray/white theme (think West Elm). The suites were spacious and the regular rooms we're pretty comfortable too. The poolside area reminds me of older Florida motels - a little cheesy and pretty basic but clean and functional. (btw - the hotel is no where near Busch Gardens, so you'd be well advised to either have a rental car or stay at one of the hotels around Busch Blvd or Fowler Ave.)
The parking's a bit tight but it's free.
The food provided for our breakfasts, lunches and breaks was pretty darn good ( no complaints from our attendees which says a lot-we're picky eaters!).
Good place for a small to mid-sized meeting!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPTW5303, Director of Rooms at Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for hosting a business meeting and writing a review on Trip Advisor. Our hotel has several meeting rooms designed to accommodate small to large events. We are happy to hear your meeting was a success, as your success is ours as well. Most importantly we are glad to hear your attendees loved the food which is critical when holding a meeting.

Thank you again for your review and we hope to host another meeting for you in the future.

Best Regards,

Melissa Golub
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore

Address: 5303 West Kennedy Boulevard, Tampa, FL 33609
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in Tampa
#37 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#41 Family Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore 3.5*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Tampa's newest premier hotel. The new Crowne Plaza Hotel Tampa Westshore offers a uniqueness all its own that can perhaps be best described as modern and fresh but elegantly posh. The Crowne Plaza Hotel Tampa Westshore offers its guest complimentary shuttle service to and from Tampa Airport. The Crowne Plaza Hotel Tampa Westshore is located less than 2 miles from Tampa International Airport (TPA) and in the heart of the thriving Westshore business district. Our hotel is only a short walk from the Westshore Plaza Mall, offering the finest in shopping, dining and entertainment. Additionally, we are just minutes from the University of Tampa, Tampa General and the University of South Florida. While visiting the Crowne Plaza Hotel Tampa Westshore, you will find that our location is convenient to many attractions such as Busch Gardens, Adventure Island, Raymond James Stadium, George M Steinbrenner Field, Tropicana Field, Florida Aquarium, St. Pete Times Forum and the Port of Tampa located at Channelside.Local businesses include Bank of America, Humana, MacDill Air Force Base, Verizon, Wachovia, General Electric, Met Life and Cisco Systems. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, AAA Travel Services, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Reservation Counter, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore Hotel Tampa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.