We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“better this time around...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore

Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5303 West Kennedy Boulevard, Tampa, FL 33609   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 25%
Ranked #34 of 159 Hotels in Tampa
GreenLeadersGold level
VA
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“better this time around...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

During this stay, the rooms were cleaner and the noise was down. The bar service with Misty was top notch and noted! Everything about the establishment seemed to be better maintained including the service and food (although one of the lifts was out of service during the entire stay). The wifi was rockin and the staff were very helpful both in providing help and hints of food joints. I would like to stay here again when in town...!

Room Tip: Get the upgrade and stay in the cabanas!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPTW5303, Director of Room at Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at the Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore. We appreciate you giving us a shot a redemption by staying with us a second time. While we are not perfect, we take all reviews as an opportunity to continue to improve upon our product and service. It's feedback from our guests that helped us to become a 2012 Torchbearer Award Winner which is given to the top 6 hotels in the country from Intercontinental Hotel Group based on guest satisfaction.

We are happy to hear that our one of our Award Winning employees aided in your positive stay. Our Wifi speed is one of fastest in the area which helps our guests be successful.

Thank you for reviewing your stay once again and we look forward to future visits.


Best Regards,

Melissa Golub
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    207
    143
    49
    19
    14
See reviews for
64
116
48
143
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lyndonville, New York
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

My stay at the Tampa Westshore Crowne Plaza was very enjoyable. I was there from 11/13-11/16/12. My room was very spacious. The room was kept clean. The bar (Mojitos) had a great happy hour with good drink and food specials, I liked being able to sit outside. The staff was courteous and helpful.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPTW5303, Director of Rooms at Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review from your recent business trip. We appreciate your feeback and are happy you had a great stay.

We hope to see you again.

Best Regards,

Melissa Golub
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsboro, North Carolina
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

I stayed at the Crowne Plaza while in Tampa on business for a week, and was very pleased with the accomodations as well as the staff.

The room was quite comfortable, with WiFi and HDTV. I was a little disappointed in the channel lineup (no Comedy Central?) but the picture was excellent. At one point the TV lost signal on a couple channels, but a call to the front desk brought a guy up to fix it immediately. The WiFi seemed as though it was a little overtaxed, particularly in the early evenings. The bed was very comfortable and the shower was a nice stand up (no bath) arrangement with sliding glass door rather than a curtain. Maid service was reliable and excellent, with loads of towels every day.

I was surprised to find that the refrigerator sized section in the dresser was empty, but the staff informed me that there are rooms which have them, for five dollars a night extra. I would have liked to have had that option prior to checking in, but it wasn't too bothersome.

Mojitos, the bar in the lobby of the hotel, serves good food at hotel prices, and the drinks are well made. There is also a little grab-n-go counter with yogurts, candy bars, and that sort of snacks. Also hotel prices, but they are fresh, and they will charge it to the room as well as take payment. The complimentary breakfast offered each morning is excellent. Great service, good food, and good variety.

I really enjoyed the stay and recommend it. I'll be back in December, looking forward to it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a refrigerator, or there won't be one, just a lonely void mocking your pain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPTW5303, Director of Rooms at Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of your recent business trip stay. We are excited you felt at home while away from home. Our hotel was awarded the 2012 Torchbearer Award from Intercontinental Hotel Group based on guest service and feedback from guests like you. The award is given to only 8 Crowne Plazas in North America.

We sincerely apologize for the minor service requests during your stay but we greatly appreciate your feedback as it helps us continually improve upon our service. We are pleased to hear you felt the service recovery was timely and efficient.

Your feedback is extremly important to us as well as fellow travelers as it helps them decide where to stay while in Tampa. Thank you again for your detailed review and we look forward to your next trip.


Best Regards,

Melissa Golub
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Stayed here in November 2012 in advance of cruise which was leaving from Tampa. Had stayed in Crowne Plaza in Orlando the previous week. This hotel is very nice. Food in he bar in lovely and there is regular entertainment in it. Bar man/waiter provided excellent service. Also there is a happy hour every most evenings. We asked for a deal and got a free upgrade on the 11th floor - we were honeymooners who just arrived at the hotel - walk ins. Chris was the staff member who gave us the upgrade - tks very much - the room was lovely, lots of space, huge bed, massive flat screen TV. The pool at the hotel is very nice and clean. Drawbacks are the cost of renting a movie from your room, same as in Crowne Plaza Orlando. However I reccommend this hotel particularly the rooms on the 11th floor. Hotel is also close to shopping area - 10 minute walk, you cannot go wrong - its not 5 star luxury but is nevertheless very comfortable. Its like being at home.

Room Tip: ask for an upgrade - hotel was half empty when we stayed and we got it for 114 dollars pp which inc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPTW5303, Director of Rooms at Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Tampa Westshore as your home away from home and congratulations on your recent nuptials. We greatly appreciate you taking the time to review your recent stay. It was our pleasure to have you as our guest and we are happy to hear our service made your stay as comfortable as if you were at home.

Once again, thank you for your review and we hope to have you as a guest again during your next trip to Tampa.

Happy Holidays,
Melissa Golub
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South New Berlin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Never stayed in a Crowne Plaza before but it exceeded expectations.
Very comfortable and well detailed rooms.
Most impressed with the service for dinner at the bar.
It was really busy but Misti behind the bar was in top form, covering all the bases.
Definitely a good place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPTW5303, Director of Rooms at Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at our Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore. We appreciate you taking the time to write feedback from your recent experience. We are thrilled your expectations were exceeded and are happy to hear your recognition of one of our Award-Winning Team members. We look forward to seeing you again on future travels.


Warm Regards,

Melissa Golub
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
278 reviews 278 reviews
153 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
434 helpful votes 434 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Date of stay: November 2, 2012-1 night in Room #242

This was our second stay at this location, and this time was even better. (see prior review for more details) When I checked in, I asked if Melissa Golub was there. She came out from her office, and we shook hands. I thanked her for her personal email responses, and she thanked me for returning. The room had the exact same layout as our prior room #235 and was perfect with no issues. There was a note from the General Manager, Joe Ruiz, along with 2 bottles of water in the room. We showered and changed for the fancy party for which we were in town. We stopped by the bar and had our complimentary drinks that I receive because of my Platinum status. Doug, the friendly, graduate school shuttle driver, took us to our party and gave us a card in case we needed a ride back from his co-worker, but we received one from someone at the party so not necessary. Good luck, Doug, in your future accounting career! The bed was comfortable, and provided a great night’s sleep. Breakfast, included in my rate, was good the next morning. They made me 3 eggs over medium as they did the prior time. I had bacon and sausage sandwiches as well plus coffee. We checked out, and all was good. I had a prepaid rate so there were no additional charges. The lady at the desk thanked us and we said we would be back.

Room Tip: Include breakfast in your rate-it's a good value!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPTW5303, Director of Rooms at Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your second stay with us. It is always a pleasure to see you at the hotel and we appreciate your loyalty to our property. I am happy to hear that your party was a success and that you enoyed your second stay as much as the first. We strive for consistency to ensure our guests receive the same WOW factor experience with every stay.

We appreciate you recognizing members of our Award Winning Team for going the extra mile. Once again thank you for your loyalty and we look forward to your return.

Warm Regards,
Melissa Golub
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walla Walla, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

This was like the most super awesome place i have ever spent the night at. Every one was super awesome they would like shave your back if you wanted them too. Everyone at the front desk was amazing and had beautiful eyes. Even the bar and lounge they have there the "mojito" was really coool. I brought my portable dvd player down there and we watched disney movies all night. They even have a pool but FYI (I dont like to swim)! I wish there were more crowne plazas like this one.If you are looking for a Hotel that will give you a hug when you are crying this is your place.

Room Tip: Get an odd ended room it faces the BAAAYYYYYY!!!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPTW5303, Director of Rooms at Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so very much for your review of your recent stay with us. Your sincere words regarding our Award Winning Staff are touching and greatly appreciated. We believe in providing excellent service that makes our guests feel at home while away from home.

Once again, thank you for your review. We hope you had safe travels home and look forward to your next visit.

Best Regards,
Melissa Golub
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore

Address: 5303 West Kennedy Boulevard, Tampa, FL 33609
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Tampa
#21 Business Hotel in Tampa
#34 Spa Hotel in Tampa
#34 On the Beach Hotel in Tampa
#43 Family Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Tampa's newest premier hotel. The new Crowne Plaza Hotel Tampa Westshore offers a uniqueness all its own that can perhaps be best described as modern and fresh but elegantly posh. The Crowne Plaza Hotel Tampa Westshore offers its guest complimentary shuttle service to and from Tampa Airport. The Crowne Plaza Hotel Tampa Westshore is located less than 2 miles from Tampa International Airport (TPA) and in the heart of the thriving Westshore business district. Our hotel is only a short walk from the Westshore Plaza Mall, offering the finest in shopping, dining and entertainment. Additionally, we are just minutes from the University of Tampa, Tampa General and the University of South Florida. While visiting the Crowne Plaza Hotel Tampa Westshore, you will find that our location is convenient to many attractions such as Busch Gardens, Adventure Island, Raymond James Stadium, George M Steinbrenner Field, Tropicana Field, Florida Aquarium, St. Pete Times Forum and the Port of Tampa located at Channelside.Local businesses include Bank of America, Humana, MacDill Air Force Base, Verizon, Wachovia, General Electric, Met Life and Cisco Systems. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore Hotel Tampa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.