We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Place to Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5303 West Kennedy Boulevard, Tampa, FL 33609   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 25%
Ranked #32 of 159 Hotels in Tampa
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Lovely Place to Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Stayed here in November 2012 in advance of cruise which was leaving from Tampa. Had stayed in Crowne Plaza in Orlando the previous week. This hotel is very nice. Food in he bar in lovely and there is regular entertainment in it. Bar man/waiter provided excellent service. Also there is a happy hour every most evenings. We asked for a deal and got a free upgrade on the 11th floor - we were honeymooners who just arrived at the hotel - walk ins. Chris was the staff member who gave us the upgrade - tks very much - the room was lovely, lots of space, huge bed, massive flat screen TV. The pool at the hotel is very nice and clean. Drawbacks are the cost of renting a movie from your room, same as in Crowne Plaza Orlando. However I reccommend this hotel particularly the rooms on the 11th floor. Hotel is also close to shopping area - 10 minute walk, you cannot go wrong - its not 5 star luxury but is nevertheless very comfortable. Its like being at home.

Room Tip: ask for an upgrade - hotel was half empty when we stayed and we got it for 114 dollars pp which inc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPTW5303, Director of Rooms at Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Tampa Westshore as your home away from home and congratulations on your recent nuptials. We greatly appreciate you taking the time to review your recent stay. It was our pleasure to have you as our guest and we are happy to hear our service made your stay as comfortable as if you were at home.

Once again, thank you for your review and we hope to have you as a guest again during your next trip to Tampa.

Happy Holidays,
Melissa Golub
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    148
    50
    18
    14
See reviews for
65
119
48
147
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South New Berlin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Never stayed in a Crowne Plaza before but it exceeded expectations.
Very comfortable and well detailed rooms.
Most impressed with the service for dinner at the bar.
It was really busy but Misti behind the bar was in top form, covering all the bases.
Definitely a good place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPTW5303, Director of Rooms at Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at our Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore. We appreciate you taking the time to write feedback from your recent experience. We are thrilled your expectations were exceeded and are happy to hear your recognition of one of our Award-Winning Team members. We look forward to seeing you again on future travels.


Warm Regards,

Melissa Golub
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
280 reviews 280 reviews
153 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
436 helpful votes 436 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Date of stay: November 2, 2012-1 night in Room #242

This was our second stay at this location, and this time was even better. (see prior review for more details) When I checked in, I asked if Melissa Golub was there. She came out from her office, and we shook hands. I thanked her for her personal email responses, and she thanked me for returning. The room had the exact same layout as our prior room #235 and was perfect with no issues. There was a note from the General Manager, Joe Ruiz, along with 2 bottles of water in the room. We showered and changed for the fancy party for which we were in town. We stopped by the bar and had our complimentary drinks that I receive because of my Platinum status. Doug, the friendly, graduate school shuttle driver, took us to our party and gave us a card in case we needed a ride back from his co-worker, but we received one from someone at the party so not necessary. Good luck, Doug, in your future accounting career! The bed was comfortable, and provided a great night’s sleep. Breakfast, included in my rate, was good the next morning. They made me 3 eggs over medium as they did the prior time. I had bacon and sausage sandwiches as well plus coffee. We checked out, and all was good. I had a prepaid rate so there were no additional charges. The lady at the desk thanked us and we said we would be back.

Room Tip: Include breakfast in your rate-it's a good value!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPTW5303, Director of Rooms at Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your second stay with us. It is always a pleasure to see you at the hotel and we appreciate your loyalty to our property. I am happy to hear that your party was a success and that you enoyed your second stay as much as the first. We strive for consistency to ensure our guests receive the same WOW factor experience with every stay.

We appreciate you recognizing members of our Award Winning Team for going the extra mile. Once again thank you for your loyalty and we look forward to your return.

Warm Regards,
Melissa Golub
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walla Walla, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

This was like the most super awesome place i have ever spent the night at. Every one was super awesome they would like shave your back if you wanted them too. Everyone at the front desk was amazing and had beautiful eyes. Even the bar and lounge they have there the "mojito" was really coool. I brought my portable dvd player down there and we watched disney movies all night. They even have a pool but FYI (I dont like to swim)! I wish there were more crowne plazas like this one.If you are looking for a Hotel that will give you a hug when you are crying this is your place.

Room Tip: Get an odd ended room it faces the BAAAYYYYYY!!!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPTW5303, Director of Rooms at Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so very much for your review of your recent stay with us. Your sincere words regarding our Award Winning Staff are touching and greatly appreciated. We believe in providing excellent service that makes our guests feel at home while away from home.

Once again, thank you for your review. We hope you had safe travels home and look forward to your next visit.

Best Regards,
Melissa Golub
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We came to visit Tampa FL (bus & pleasure) and we were very careful which hotel to pick since we are spending at least eight days. Frankly we feel we have made an excellent choice by picking the west shore crown plaza. Extremely friendly staff, during booking Chris was very helpful and pleasant on the phone. Latasha and Jeff helped us in picking the right suite. The hotel is clean with great internet service, NO connectivity problem and good breakfast too. Our next trip to Tampa FL will certainly be at the west shore crown plaza.
Tarek Hussien
Rochester NY
October 21, 2012

Room Tip: Corner suites are large and has good space. (Pick towards the end thrid floor is the best for suites...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPTW5303, Director of Rooms at Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore for your 8 night stay. We are so happy to hear that you had an excellent stay and our Award Winning staff made you feel at home. It was our pleasure to have you as our guest and we look forward to your next trip to Tampa.

Warm Regards,
Melissa Golub
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memramcook
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Well ... my husband and I travel quite a bit and have stayed at many hotels over the years and I can honnestly say that I have never stayed at a hotel with friendlier staff !!! EVERYONE we met during our stay were wonderful ! From the front desk .. do the drivers ... restaurant staff .. we just couldn't get over how friendly and helpful everyone was. I would DEFINATELY recommend the Crowne Plaza. We most definately will be staying there on our next visit to Tampa. The only reason I have rated them a 4 instead of 5 was I was awaken by the music from the club ... but had no trouble getting back to sleep.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPTW5303, Director of Rooms at Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear Guest,

Wow! Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. Your kind words regarding our team are very touching. I am thrilled that our Award Winning staff went above and beyond to make sure your stay was a success.

We thank you again for your feedback and look forward to future stays to come.


Warm Regards,
Melissa Golub
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pace, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012 via mobile

Had an amazing stay in Orlando, Fl and to finish up our vacation we decided to go to Bush Gardens. We booked our room 2 weeks in advance and asked for a king bed. Walk into the main lobby and the hotel is bright and airy, and staff was friendly. Good start. However, that was the best part of this hotel. We were given a room on 4th floor. We get off the elevator to a completely different hotel...the carpet is dark black, the ceiling has been lowered with the original ceiling painted black, and the newer lower ceiling white, and walls were gray....YUK...just what I like to do walk down a dark gloomy hallway in a hotel. We get to our room...it doesn't get any better. The walls are gray, the carpet it gray, the lighting is all filtered and tile is black. Dark and dingy, Awful! The carpet looks to have been wet because most of it is no longer stuck to the floor, and the musty smell of the room. Then to add insult to injury there is no refrigerator, the cabinet is bare. Great. We call the front desk and say this is unsatisfactory, and they tell us the have no other king size rooms available. We say fine, we will take full beds, carpet that not coming off the floor, and a refridgerator. They send us to the 10th floor. To a room that two people cannot walk around without bumping into each other, and a queen size bed, that's right just one, but we did have a fridge. Apparently, the carpet was just shoddy workmanship, because this room too had carpet no longer stuck to the floor. It's one night whatever we can handle it for one night. Same dingy color scheme and filtered light. I walk over to the roll up window screen, to at least let some light into the room, gave it a tug.....crash it falls to the floor. REALLY...UGH! Reinstall the shade and it will not roll up, it is froze....again...whatever...let's get out of this room and go have some fun. Have a great time at the park, we get back around 10:30pm, time to go to bed we have a long drive home tomorrow. Apparently We Should have went to the great bar they had in the hotel.....because we got to listen to EVERY song they played until 2am when they finally closed. Get up tired and cranky in the morning to find that we have only enought coffee for one cup. Just proving this is not a room for two people. We will NEVER stay at this hotel again, nor would we ever recommend it to anyone.. Oh did I mention that I'm a platinum member of this chain.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPTW5303, Director of Rooms at Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.
Our hotel is recently renovated and was awarded the IHG Renovation award in 2009. We value our product and sincerely apologize our decor wasn't what you were looking for.

The team at the Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore is the proud recipient of the 2012 Torchbearer Award which is given to the top 6 Crowne Plaza hotels in North America based on guest satisfaction and feeback. While our product may have minor issues, we believe our team is what enhances the guest experience.

Once again, we appreciate your feedback as it helps us improve upon our services and product. We do hope that you give us another opportunity to earn your loyatly.


Best Regards,

Melissa Golub
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore

Address: 5303 West Kennedy Boulevard, Tampa, FL 33609
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in Tampa
#38 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#41 Family Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore 3.5*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Tampa's newest premier hotel. The new Crowne Plaza Hotel Tampa Westshore offers a uniqueness all its own that can perhaps be best described as modern and fresh but elegantly posh. The Crowne Plaza Hotel Tampa Westshore offers its guest complimentary shuttle service to and from Tampa Airport. The Crowne Plaza Hotel Tampa Westshore is located less than 2 miles from Tampa International Airport (TPA) and in the heart of the thriving Westshore business district. Our hotel is only a short walk from the Westshore Plaza Mall, offering the finest in shopping, dining and entertainment. Additionally, we are just minutes from the University of Tampa, Tampa General and the University of South Florida. While visiting the Crowne Plaza Hotel Tampa Westshore, you will find that our location is convenient to many attractions such as Busch Gardens, Adventure Island, Raymond James Stadium, George M Steinbrenner Field, Tropicana Field, Florida Aquarium, St. Pete Times Forum and the Port of Tampa located at Channelside.Local businesses include Bank of America, Humana, MacDill Air Force Base, Verizon, Wachovia, General Electric, Met Life and Cisco Systems. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, AAA Travel Services, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Reservation Counter, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore Hotel Tampa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.