We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't bother with a Suite in the summer” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Westin Tampa Bay

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Westin Tampa Bay to your Saves list
Westin Tampa Bay
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7627 W Courtney Campbell Causeway, Tampa, FL 33607   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #43 of 160 Hotels in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
67 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Don't bother with a Suite in the summer”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2010

This review is of the Suite only and is intended for Starwood Platinum's and those booking a Suite outright...don't bother with the west facing suite rooms. Although this is a newer property and very nice, the AC can not cool the West facing suites properly in the hot Florida summer. A small single 11 inch air vent in the living and bedroom coupled with the sensor that turns the AC off if u leave your room is a disgrace for this 4 star property.

Opt for a regular non West facing room in summertime and enjoy this property.

Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

491 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    230
    150
    55
    25
    31
See reviews for
94
135
35
157
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clearwater, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2010

Everything at the hotel was AMAZING!! My husband and I chose this hotel for our wedding weekend. Both our families commented on how nice & beautiful everything was, and that the staff was excellent!! We worked with Jennifer, and she was simply the best!! She allowed me to bring welcome bags for my guests 2 days before my guests arrived and insured that each would receive theirs. I was able to check with most of the family and they all received their bags with everything still inside the way I left them!! Jennifer was extremely helpful & definitely put my mind at ease :) so thank you very much!! Some of my guests were even able to get an early check-in, which was extremely helpful. We have eaten in the Aquanox a few times now... the food was delicious and the service was excellent!! We had brunch the morning after the wedding, and had no problems with the food or service. They even brought out plates and silverware to help serve left over wedding cake I had :) The shuttle was a great touch (takes you anywhere within 3 miles)!! They took us out to International Mall where we continued the party after the wedding! Also, they have live entertainment on the weekends (and Thursday nights) I think, which consists of a piano player in the bar (which they may have more but that’s what I've seen so far...), which is a nice touch. We will definitely use this hotel again if/when the need arises!!

  • Stayed June 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisiana
Level Contributor
107 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2010

Very convenient to airport. Great restaurant, a little pricey, food is great. Very comfortable beds. Very clean. Quiet.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2010

The view from your bedroom window can be quite stunning overlooking the city behind the lakes but it is a way from most things, shops etc so without a car you ares tuck. With a car nothing is too far, 20 minute drive and in the main "shopping mall" area and 10 minutes if that to the airport.

Service in the hotel was so so, forgot I was in "tip culture land" and the boy who served my breakfast got more than a little angry I did not tip on an 18 dollar breakfast which was not all that anyway. Rooms a little dated but clean and roomy, found the room service a little slow after being out all day and getting back at 4 and still my bed not made or the room cleaned.

Not a bad place but I am sure there are better, maybe got unlucky.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Virginia, VA
Level Contributor
76 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2010

This newer Westin is one of the nicer hotels we've stayed in. Our room seemed brand new - the bath was big with an oversized glass shower and the bed was indeed heavenly. Our room had a spectacular view of the sunset over the bay.

The front desk staff were friendly and professional. The Westin Tampa Bay is located just off the causeway and was very convenient to the airport without having that airport hotel feel.

We'll definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, CA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2010

I know this is long overdue, but I felt like I had to review this wonderful hotel! The staff members at the Westin Tampa are what make this place stand out to me. Pardon the absurd length of the review :-)

The first time I stayed at the hotel, it was actually for a photography shoot, in preparation for my wedding day. Because the hotel was pretty much brand new, it was fairly empty. The manager personally came to show the photographer and me almost the entire premises! The bar was really chic, and fun to hang out in.... amazing colorful pictures. The "beach", is a great place to soak in the sun... but only during the early moments of the day! The beach faces due east, so once the sun falls behind the hotel itself, you're sitting in the shade. It also faces the causeway... so the sight and sound of cars are not far away. Nonetheless, you have beautiful clearwater beach not too far away, so don't decide on the hotel based on the beach. My favorite aspect of the hotel is, by far, the terrace. It has the most amazing sunset views!!!!!!! Got great pictures there. Perfect perfect perfect for outdoor receptions of any kind!

My husband and I were married nearby (last August, mind you... we were thinking of using the Westin and the terrace, but it was not open at the time yet and didn't want to risk it. Boy if I knew then what I know now) and had a bayview suite the whole day (for preparation and the night stay). With the hotel being new, I was quite afraid that the service would be sub-par. However, it was the complete opposite! The staff did everything they could to make my bridesmaids and I have the perfect environment in preparation for the big day. They brought up extra robes for all the girls extra coffee, and wine glasses for us. A concierge came up at least twice to make sure that everything was taken care of for us.

The night of, we ordered room service. It, as expected, was quite expensive, but fairly good. We just needed something to eat as we were so busy at the wedding we barely had anything!

Hope this helps. If you have any further questions about the Westin not hesitate to ask! Although it is secluded from the rest of Tampa (which some people would see as a plus) I highly recommend it for its proximity to the airport, and its service!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanibel, FL
Level Contributor
221 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2010

Great view of Tampa Bay. Nice staff. Nice gym. The rooms were SUPER QUIET, nice, clean and have a huge window with nice blackout curtains. Large flat screen TV. Starbuck's on site. Pool is indoors and not so inviting due to the chlorine smell, they should have a salt water pool. The private beach is not great. This is not a resort, it caters to business travels and it feels like it. If you traveling with a car (free parking) and can leave the hotel for meals this might work for you. We just wanted a nice, quiet room with a great view...the price was right, $111, so this Westin was perfect for us.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Le Meridien Tampa
#19 of 160 in Tampa
4.5 of 5 stars 168 reviews
Downtown
Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westin Tampa Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Tampa Bay

Address: 7627 W Courtney Campbell Causeway, Tampa, FL 33607
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Tampa
#7 Luxury Hotel in Tampa
#29 Business Hotel in Tampa
#34 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Tampa Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Tampa Bay on Rocky Point Island, this airport hotel's waterfront location offers both incredible bay views and easy access to the area's attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Starwood, TripOnline SA, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Westin Tampa Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Tampa Bay Hotel Tampa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westin Tampa Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.