We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New, Clean, Elegant hotel with very friendly staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Westin Tampa Bay

Save Saved
You added Westin Tampa Bay to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Westin Tampa Bay
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7627 W Courtney Campbell Causeway, Tampa, FL 33607   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #40 of 159 Hotels in Tampa
New Port Richey, FL
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“New, Clean, Elegant hotel with very friendly staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2009

Me and my wife just got back from a weekend at the Westin Tampa Bay. We actually live locally and decided to stay there just to get away from the house for our first anniversary. We were greeted by a friendly valet and front-desk staff upon arrival. Upon check-in we were informed that we were the lucky SPG (Starwood Preferred Guest) guest of the day and that we were going to receive a free upgrade to a bay view Suite instead of the bay view Deluxe room we had reserved. The suite had a great view and was extremely clean with modern decor. This was the first hotel we've stayed at with LCD televisions that actually had HD TV stations! Most other's we've stayed in have the HD TVs but all standard-definition stations. We valeted the car the first night as we weren't aware there was another option. The next day we realized you can self-park for free which we ended up doing the second night. Valet for the first night only cost $7 but the self-parking lot was right outside the entrance so it didn't make sense for us to valet. We would definitely stay here again. The location is great if you want to be close to Tampa, Clearwater, St. Pete, and the local airports!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    112
    40
    19
    24
See reviews for
73
96
34
121
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2009

We were lucky enough to get some super low airfare and thought we would do a mini getaway to Florida - We selected Tampa because we never stayed there before, only flew in and went directly to Clearwater so we thought it would be something different. We booked 4 nights at the Westin Tampa Bay - I called the hotel and asked if there were things to do and was told that there were. Not True - at least, not within walking distance anyway. The hotel is beautiful, our room was lovely and we had a view of the bay. The bathroom was large with a separate shower and soaking tub. The room had very nice furnishings and was pretty soundproof. The only noise was the A/C going on and off - it was loud and the indoor pool is really weird especially in Florida. The rooftop bar isn't finished (although they do advertise that its open) and doesn't appear to be getting finished anytime soon. Without a car, you are pretty much a prisoner of the hotel (although they do have a shuttle bus and a wonderful driver named Mark who took us anywhere within a 3 mile radius of the hotel) but that didn't help. The "private beach" is the size of a postage stamp and as others have said, it is right next to the highway. The closest convenience store is about 2 miles away, the only place to walk is across the street and then you run out of sidewalks. Now that doesn't mean I wouldn't recommend it - for business people its great, for one maybe two nights it would work (nice bar and restaurant down the street) but for a mini-getaway I think I'll travel to Clearwater. We checked out after 2 nights and went to downtown Tampa.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2009

We chose the Westin due its location. We spent 2 nights here as we were going to the NFL game. The hotel is about 10 minutes away from the stadium in a taxi.

The room we were given was a junior suite, we had booked a double room but the hotel had overbooked. No fuss was made at check-in, we were simply informed an error had occured and we would be upgraded.

The suite was great, a separate living/dining/kitchen area from the bedroom with a great view.

We ate in the restaurant (there is only one) and the meal was ok. Not great but not horrible either, very average. The service in the restaurant was very good. We also chose the hotel for breakfast, this was not so good. The service was dreadful. No butter given with the toast and when I requested some butter, the waiter took 15 minutes to deliver it to the table. My cup of tea was served without a saucer and my husbands cooked breakfast was luke warm. The second morning we got a coffee and muffin from the onsite Starbucks.

Apart from the breakfast fiasco, the hotel was very good, it is very clean and the service at reception, door, valet and housekeeping were excellent.

The only downside is you have to drive if you want to eat anywhere other than the hotel.

If we ever visit Tampa Bay again, I would return to the Westin as overall it was very good.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kubskin
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2009

The Westin Tampa Bay is a great hotel! It is close to the airport but not right on top of it with easy access to 275 and 75. Everyone was helpful and friendly the second we pulled in. The room was beautiful and we got there just in time to see the sun set from our room overlooking the bay. The bed was so comfortable with the soft pillows and sheets. They have a shuttle that takes you the the International Mall which has 16 restaurants to choose from. We were familiar with 90% of them and they are all great - it just depends on what you are in the mood for. See Hannah at the bar at the Blue Martini. She makes a great drink and don't forget the happy hour food. When we came back, we sat on the patio outside the bar. We only stayed one night but we would stay there again in a second.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2009

The hotel offers but does not meet, neither up to their own statements or to our expectations from the website information.
My friend and I booked the Westin in Tampa Bay for a 2 night stay, while traveling to see the U2 concert at the Raymond James.
We chose the hotel because of it's proximity to the airport, the stadium and the beach, also because of the rooftop lounge that seemed perfect for the after/concert getogether. It was closed, and they didnt tell us until we asked how to get there. The shuttle was not put to service the event, something surprising given that almost every hotel in town was full because of the concert, and providing free transport in and out of it, even from downtown locations, much farther away (much cheaper hotels too...) We called to ask for help in getting a cab after the event as we, along a bunch of other Westin guests, where stuck looking at traffic and waiting for a cab for almost 2 hours. They were flat out rude and non helpful.
They claim to be close to everything, yet when we get there and ask HOW TO, they say "well, from our location you really need to get a cab to go get a meal or anything..." so close to what did they mean?
The late night menu has too few options, pretty much just salads, nothing that would actually provide a decent meal to a tired, hungry traveler. All overpriced too... Needless to say we were happy we had left open the rest of the trip to stay pretty much anywhere else.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2009

Had a stopover in Tampa, and stayed in the Westin Tampa Bay for the night. Had the hotel's free shuttle pick me up from the airport, which was quick and effective.

The Westin Tampa Bay is a newer property in the area, but it's right off the main causeway, which has nothing available within walking distance. It's a good thing that the hotel has a Starbucks, and a decent restaurant and lounge, because any other services are at least a 5 minute drive away.

The amenities are pleasant and nice. There is a substantial workout facility, and a small but nice indoor pool. It's a pity that the rooftop bar was still not ready to open. The front desk was professional.

If you've been in a new Westin before, the rooms are furnished identically. Same bathroom facilities (though, in my case, I had a shower stall *and* a bathtub in the room, which was nice), the Westin Heavenly Bed, and the standard desk area and green furniture. It was scorching in Tampa that evening (it was in the 100's Fahrenheit during the afternoon (~38 degrees C)), so it was good to see that ventilation and air conditioning were decent.

I wanted an airport shuttle for my next morning flight, but was told that there would be no shuttle until 6 am. Which is unfortunate, as my flight was around that time. But I was able to arrange a favour from front desk to get one of the early drivers to take me there. Great service!

Unfortunately, not all their staff was equally friendly. I asked for a taxi from the valet/bellboys at the front, but it never came, and to this day I doubt that they actually made the call. (I eventually hailed a cab myself.) Furthermore, these same valets were trashtalking each other, and were steps away from having a fist-fight in front of a dozen guests at the front door! They had to be separated by the senior valet. How professional.

Even though that incident left a bad taste, the rest of the hotel demonstrates that this is a good enough property. It is an airport hotel, so if you need to get closer to downtown, you may want the *other* Tampa Westin (Westin Harbour Island), and if you're looking for better beachfront properties, you may wish to drive further out. But this is still a decent spot by the airport. In about a year, once the hotel has worked out its service kinks (and opened the rooftop bar!), I would start recommending this as a Tampa airport hotel.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, MA
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2009

The hotel was beautiful as expected from a Westin. However at check in at 9:30pm, I was informed that the club level I booked was not serving food over the weekends until further notice. In addition to this the water was turned off in the hotel at 11am ish without notice. I was told it was due to an emergency. The restrooms in the lobby were working, thank goodness. However, this put a damper on showers. The gym was ok, but cable reception on the machines was aweful, bring your ipod loaded with programs to watch. The beds were small. Location of the hotel was nice, but no outdoor pool. The indoor pool is like a lap pool, very dark and dreary in the pool area.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Westin Tampa Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Tampa Bay

Address: 7627 W Courtney Campbell Causeway, Tampa, FL 33607
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Tampa
#7 Luxury Hotel in Tampa
#25 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#33 Business Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Tampa Bay 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Tampa Bay on Rocky Point Island, this airport hotel's waterfront location offers both incredible bay views and easy access to the area's attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your Westin Tampa Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Tampa Bay Hotel Tampa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westin Tampa Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.