We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Crazy weekend at the hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Westin Tampa Bay

Save Saved
You added Westin Tampa Bay to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Westin Tampa Bay
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7627 W Courtney Campbell Causeway, Tampa, FL 33607   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #41 of 159 hotels in Tampa
Taunton, MA
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Crazy weekend at the hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2009

The hotel was beautiful as expected from a Westin. However at check in at 9:30pm, I was informed that the club level I booked was not serving food over the weekends until further notice. In addition to this the water was turned off in the hotel at 11am ish without notice. I was told it was due to an emergency. The restrooms in the lobby were working, thank goodness. However, this put a damper on showers. The gym was ok, but cable reception on the machines was aweful, bring your ipod loaded with programs to watch. The beds were small. Location of the hotel was nice, but no outdoor pool. The indoor pool is like a lap pool, very dark and dreary in the pool area.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    174
    109
    38
    19
    23
See reviews for
71
91
34
116
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, GA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2009

I travel to Tampa weekly, on business, and have stayed at this hotel every week for about 3 months now - along with 7 or 8 other colleagues. So I feel like I can speak with some level of "authority" on the pros and cons.

The pros:
- New hotel, located right on the water - so you will have some WOW factor.
- Room decor is awesome: flat screen tvs, upgraded bathroom/shower heads, Westin signature Heavenly Bed, and great views of the Bay
- Upscale restaurant (semi-pricey, but not over the top)
- GREAT gym, for a hotel (individual tvs on cardio equipment, free weights, stand-alone machines - lat pulldown, chest press, shoulder press, leg extension, leg curl)
- Awesome morning concierge
- Fab location (close to the airport, 5-10 min drive to International Plaza, proximity to beaches)

The cons:
- Poor Management/Service (excluding one of the evening bellmen) - If you have an issue at the hotel, do NOT expect for the management to express a sense of sincere regret or to be concerned with providing you with adequate/relevant compensation
- Poor Housekeeping - I've had a room had visible urine stains (pics provided). My colleague and I have had personal items thrown out. Another colleague returned at 10pm to find housekeeping left her door ajar ALL DAY. It's up in the air on whether you'll have water, soap, other ammenities replaced.
- Self-parking is EXTREMELY limited. And more than half of the spaces are labeled as "compact" and they are in fact tiny. There are about 20-30 spaces marked as 15 minute parking, although I struggle with understanding the purpose. They aren't even near the Starbuck's which might make SOME sense to me. And if you park in these, you will be told to move your vehicle - even if the lots are all full.
- Food - the only restaurants in walking distance are Bahama Breeze and Landry's. So you'll have to travel off-site by car/shuttle if you want more options. The Renaissance International Plaza is a great option if you want convenience (stayed there for 2-3 months too).
- Concierge's lounge - They only serve food until 8pm - if you work the hours that I work, that might not be late enough. One upside, they finally started serving a dessert (cookies). But the food isn't prepared by the hotel restaurant (like at the Renaissance). You'll be served reheatable items, likely bought from the freezer section of the local grocery store. And no hot items for breakfast, unless you count the instant oatmeal. They OFTEN run out of bottled water.
- The hallways don't seem to be air-conditioned.
- The elevator's work "most" of the time. But the key readers work only "some" of the time - which is an issue if you have Executive level access.
- Attitudes of the front desk staff/management is highly variable.
- As a person with allergies, I also find it disturbing that they allow dogs...and you can hear barking if you're within 2 rooms of them.

My overall opinion is that the Renaissance International Plaza is a better hotel, overall. The only things the Westin has above it would be the view and the Heavenly Bed (which is one of the MAIN reasons I stay here). The other reason I haven't moved is because I'd like to have enough Starwood points to stay at some of the BETTER Starwood properties in other cities. But if things don't improve quickly, dramatically, I may have to sacrifice. I tell you this so you don't wonder why I stay there if I wouldn't recommend it to a friend. For me, it's business...not pleasure.

Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, IN
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2009

Just got back from a 2-night stay at this fine and very new hotel that sits on the bay near the Tampa airport and was both pleased and frustrated by it. It's got beautiful architecture and is very welcoming from the outside, but a few not-so-pleasant surprises await when you get there.

Among the hotel's many positives:
-Westin beds, showerheads, amenities and magnificent televisions built into the wall on swivels and extenders are really awesome.
-Great picture windows that truly let you enjoy your bay views and good darkening shades for when you need to nap during daytime.
-A friendly Starbucks and a very nice and elegant restaurant, Aquaknox on the premises.
-Solid workout facility, with good equipment, a tiny whirlpool and a pretty small L-shaped indoor pool (MORE ON THIS LATER!)
-Quiet halls and good sound insulation from outside noises, which is a good trademark of the Westin folks.
-Small, private beach for hotel guests only. Beach is man-made and sits right next to a highway, so it's NOT quiet. However, it IS only for hotel guests and offers lounge chairs and wave runners for rent.
-Good quality coffee, Tazo tea and bottled water in rooms. Coffee and tea are complimentary and water is $3, which isn't bad for a hotel.

With all this said, somebody was truly asleep at the wheel when this hotel was designed!! A couple oversights that I found truly astonishing for a purported "top-of-the-line" brand like Westin:
-Okay, it's Tampa. It's 92 degrees and sunny. I have on my swimsuit. WHERE'S THE OUTDOOR POOL!!!!!!!! The Hyatt about a mile away has a gorgeous outdoor pool and tropical gardens area with a nature trail to a stunning gazebo overlook of the bay, but the Westin doesn't even have a KIDDIE POOL!! The indoor pool is small and has no decorative or atmospheric feel to it. At first I thought it was simply my inability to locate the thing, so I went to the front desk to confirm, and they nope, there's no outdoor pool. The in-room guest services menu even SAYS in black and white there's an outdoor pool. Can you say, somebody in the design department needs a new line of work!?
-There's allegedly a rooftop nightclub called "Blu-Vu" on top of the hotel. However, when you try to go there, you realize it's not open! EVER! They've even taped over the words on all the elevators in silver tape (pretty tacky!)
-No saunas, no steam rooms, no locker room, no showers for those working out unless they return to their rooms.
-I thought Westin used to put bathrobes in their rooms, didn't they? Maybe it's a cutback,....or maybe it's just this Westin.
-VERY DANGEROUS walk from the free parking lot to the front lobby. I hope I'm wrong, but mark my words, there's a totally blind sharp corner where people walk around a corner and are exposed to those driving OUT of the parking garage with ZERO WARNING. An accident is going to happen!! Westin needs to put up a warning light for pedestrians IMMEDIATELY or something very sad could happen. I say this with no sarcasm, it's going to happen!

All in all, I got a good rate at this hotel, slept well and enjoyed most of my stay. However, had I brought my wife and daughters along and discovered there was no outdoor pool, we'd have immediately checked out and gone to a hotel that had been thought out far better. Stay here if you're on business and you'll be in good shape, but it's NOT for fun family weekends!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tallahassee, Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2009

I stayed at this hotel 4 times during June and July. The rooms were great. the front desk personnel were rude and moreover were incompetent. They charged me for a stay that I never booked, nor stayed. When I confronted the GM he told me I was wrong and that I had been credited for the erroneous night. In fact I had not been credited, and I have disputed the charge on my credit card. They are sloppy, arrogant and unprofessional. I would never ever recommend anyone stay at this hotel. In addition, there customer service motto seems to be "screw the customer whenever you can." Do not stay here. There is a Hyatt and a Doubletree nearby, both of which will offer you much better customer service, care, and value for your money.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2009

Stayed here one night at end of vacay in St. Pete. Great hotel. The Heavenly bed was amazing, bathroom cool (neat shower stall), refreshments available in room, staff was very courteous, Starbucks on site, restaurant and bar on site, own private beach (where you can rent jet skis). All around great.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Garden, FL
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2009

We stayed at the Westin Tampa Bay for one night as an overnight stay after we visited Busch Gardens. Overall we had an excellent stay! This hotel is pretty new and the rooms were extrremely clean and very well taken care of. I particularly liked the spacious bathroom with the double shower head. Of course it came with the Westin Heavenly Bed too. Not sure how occupied the hotel was, but it was very quiet, which was nice.

The Westin offers both a valet parking and self parking. If you do the valet service they actually park your car in a garage underneath the hotel. We just did the self parking as the surface parking lots are right there at the site of the hotel and there was plenty of parking available. We were not flying, but I believe they offered an airport shuttle too.

We also brought a small dog with us. It was nice because there was no pet deposit required (just a document stating you're responsible for any damages) and there was a nice park across the street where we could walk her. They also brought the Westin Heavenly Pet Bed and some bowls for her to eat out of.

Location is excellent in that there is easy access from the Interstate and it's pretty centrally located near the major sites including downtown, the airport, Clearwater, Busch Gardens, International Plaza Mall, Raymond James Stadium, etc. (all within a 15-20 min drive)

All in all, I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone staying in the Tampa area. And if you have a small dog, it's a great option!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2009

The rooms: New, clean. quiet and Westin standard.
The bar: Good
The location: Very isolated.

During my 5 days stay the minibar was never refilled. After 2 days I ran out of shampoo which was never replaced. There was no breakfast buffet and the a la care breakfast is overpriced. American breakfast 12 USD plus Orange juice 2.50 USD plus coffee 3.50 USD plus tip adds up to 25 bucks. There is an invitation for "Relax with your favorite beverage between 5pm and 7pm at the lobby" from the General Manager in your room. However when you go to the lobby at 5 pm, the receiptionist will tell you, that this service was stopped weeks ago. I stayed at an "Executive Room" with "free Club Access" featuring breakfast and snacks: Closed on the weekends. You will be given a voucher for "2 Starbucks Beverages" instead - for your entire stay! The hotel beach is less than 15 feet away from one of the busiest causeways of Tampa bay and you feel like sitting on a highway. Internet access is an extra 10 USD per day and the free WiFi access at Starbucks only worked for 2 hours during my stay. There are bottles in your minibar but there is not bottle opener. The express bill given to me on my last day had totally different positions than the one emailed to me a few hours later. Caution: The final bill is emailed to you by "GALAXYHOTELS" and not by Westin Tampa Airport, so you might trash the bill without looking at it. On Saturday and Sunday there is practically no housekeeping and they cleaned my room around 3 pm. The "Retail Store" at the lobby was out of Coke/Pepsi for 4 days and only featured water and Mist.
You can get a room for the same price or less at the Hyatt or the Renaisance or the Intercontinental Hotel, which are much better managed.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Westin Tampa Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Tampa Bay

Address: 7627 W Courtney Campbell Causeway, Tampa, FL 33607
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Tampa
#26 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#28 Business Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Tampa Bay 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Tampa Bay on Rocky Point Island, this airport hotel's waterfront location offers both incredible bay views and easy access to the area's attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood, Expedia, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Venere, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Westin Tampa Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Tampa Bay Hotel Tampa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westin Tampa Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.