We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Westin Tampa Bay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Westin Tampa Bay to your Saves list
Westin Tampa Bay
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7627 W Courtney Campbell Causeway, Tampa, FL 33607   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #47 of 159 Hotels in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
Ocoee, Florida
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
26 hotel reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Good hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Went for 4th of July weekend and even though hotel was pretty busy check in and check out was quick. Hotel staff were great but on-site restaurant Aqua leaves a lot to be desired. We opted for the buffet BBQ dinner for the 4th of July and ended up eating a hamburger with chips as most of the other choices were gone. Thinking that it was still early about 8:30 and it was supposed to stop at 10:00 they would still replenish the food. Alas, we were disappointed when they did not. That was a pretty expensive hamburger!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    217
    141
    53
    24
    30
See reviews for
85
125
35
151
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

We drove up and staff was immediately attentive.
Carlos at the front desk found out that it was a romantic trip planned and took the lead.
He,upgraded us to the Club floor where the views were amazing
We got to see 6 sets of fireworks from the windows..
The comfortableness that was at the Westin will be remembered at as a great way to have started a romance.

It is now our secret place!

Room Tip: High floor facing the Bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron A, General Manager at Westin Tampa Bay, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Hello PhHyllis C,

Please allow me this opportunity to say thank you for your loyalty and for taking the time out of your schedule to share your recent experience at The Westin Tampa Bay. We all appreciate your kind words and high rating! Of course it pleases the entire Staff to read your comments and it is even more pleasing to know that we were able to provide you with the level of service which you have come to expect from Westin Hotels and Resorts. We look forward to providing you with personal and instinctive service again soon.
Be well,
Ron
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

We booked this hotel through Orbitz.com for 4th of July and we had a great experienced. The location was perfect ( close to a lot great restaurant) and has its own full size Starbucks coffee shop to hang out , view was amazing ( we stayed in 9th floor has already great view ), service in valet and check in , bar ( margarita was awesome compare to a lot of bar i went to , restaurant ( c/o Kevin ) was excellent, food was excellent, room was perfect size and very clean ( no distinct odor, smells fresh) bathroom was modern and clean and the whole property was awesome. They give you $5 gift card that you can use towards any purchase within the property if you don't want them to clean your room.The only downside was no complimentary internet access , no complimentary breakfast and cant access the refrigerator bec if you touch the content you will be charged but they can provide one if you need refrigerator just call the front desk. Valet parking or self parking charged you $5 , a lot better than other hotel , they charge more than that although some hotel are free if you are a guest. Over all, we had excellent experience and we definitely recommend this hotel

Room Tip: Higher floor the better, we stayed in 926 perfect to see enough great view on the south side with o...
See more room tips
Green Features: They practice an environmentally-friendly. Everything in the property was in placed and organized, observe cleanliness
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron A, General Manager at Westin Tampa Bay, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear Beth,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience. Your kind words and gracious score are greatly appreciated and have been shared with our entire team. Comments such as yours provide additional inspiration to all of our Associates and certainly make us all happy to know that our efforts have paid off. Providing you with the rest and rejuvenation that you are entitled to is our goal and we hope that you will be back to visit us in the very near future.
Stay well,
Ron
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oreogn
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

We stayed one night pre-cruise. Loved this hotel and the free airport shuttle. They also provide a complimentary shuttle within a few miles. We ate dinner at the Bahama Breeze, which was excellent.

My ONLY complaint was our neighbors. We had a connecting room door so you could hear EVERYTHING that was going on in the room next door. By 11:00pm, after traveling ALL day from the West Coast, we had had enough of the music and extracurricular noises and called the front desk. Security came and asked them to be quiet but as soon as the security guard left, we could hear them mocking him and the noise started up again shortly after. I had ear plugs but my friend didn't. Not much sleep that night.

I mentioned this when we checked out and although the gal was apologetic, her response was, "Oh, you were on the floor with all the wedding parties...not a quiet place to be, for sure." Gee, thanks.

Room Tip: Make sure they don't put you by the wedding parties!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron A, General Manager at Westin Tampa Bay, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Hello eeyoregon,

Allow me this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to share both your compliments and concerns regarding the noise problem during your recent visit with us. It is great to hear that you enjoyed and appreciated certain aspects of your stay. However it appears that we fell short in some others. Although we strive to achieve our goal to provide personal and instinctive service for every guest there are times when do not meet all expectations. Please accept my apologies for the noise coming from the room next door and hopefully you will give us another chance.
Be well,
Ron
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevierville, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

I stayed at the Westin while in Tampa for a wedding. The hotel was beautiful, the view of the bay was awesome, and the hotel staff - the front desk, the valet parking, and every other staff member with whom I came into contact - were friendly, helpful, polite, and welcoming. The room was luxurious, with very comfortable beds and plenty of pillows. Temperature control in the room was easy to manage and there was no noisy air conditioner to contend with. It was quiet, which made sleeping very easy. After a long drive from TN, it was wonderful to arrive and have such a comfortable room. The restaurant and bar downstairs were very nice, and the food was excellent.

Room Tip: A room on an upper floor (mine was on the 10th floor) provides a great view.
See more room tips
Green Features: As an avid recycler and committed environmentalist, I greatly appreciated the fact that the Westin has a policy of NOT changing sheets every day.
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron A, General Manager at Westin Tampa Bay, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear Kathy S,
Please allow me this opportunity to say thank you for your loyalty and for taking the time out of your schedule to share your recent experience at The Westin Tampa Bay. We all appreciate your kind words and high score! Of course it pleases the entire Staff to read your comments and it is even more pleasing to know that we were able to provide you with the level of service which you have come to expect from Westin Hotels and Resorts. We look forward to the opportunity of providing you with personal and instinctive service again soon.
Be well,
Ron
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014 via mobile

Our rooms were on the club floor. Could not check into our room til 2 hours after check in time. The club room was a bit disappointing. The food was just very basic and not much of it. Although we LOVED the club attendant at night she was AMAZING!!! Made our whole trip. Bar was cute and the resturant manager even made drinks for us the hotel is a green hotel so at night the a/c would shut off and it was soo hot. Did not know this til check out. We could of called and they would of overridden the system. Very clean with huge bathrooms. Sad they charge 5 a day per car to park just a normal lot.


Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Top Contributor
191 reviews 191 reviews
26 hotel reviews
241 helpful votes 241 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Had a series of business meetings here. The property is excellent. Nice restaurant in the lobby along with a starbucks. The rooms are nice with excellent views of the bay. Very close to Tampa Airport and convenient if you need to head to Clearwater. Walking distances to Bahama Breeze. The staff here was pretty good too.

Room Tip: Get a high floor. The views are amazing. I prefer to face to the East. You will see water, downto...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron A, General Manager at Westin Tampa Bay, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Hello jderb,

Please allow me this opportunity to say thank you for your loyalty and for taking the time out of your schedule to share your recent experience at The Westin Tampa Bay. We all appreciate your kind words and high rating! Of course it pleases the entire Staff to read your comments and it is even more pleasing to know that we were able to provide you with the level of service which you have come to expect from Westin Hotels and Resorts. We look forward to providing you with personal and instinctive service again soon.
Be well,
Ron
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Westin Tampa Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Tampa Bay

Address: 7627 W Courtney Campbell Causeway, Tampa, FL 33607
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Tampa
#7 Luxury Hotel in Tampa
#31 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#34 Business Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Tampa Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Tampa Bay on Rocky Point Island, this airport hotel's waterfront location offers both incredible bay views and easy access to the area's attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Westin Tampa Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Tampa Bay Hotel Tampa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westin Tampa Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.