We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ordinary at best” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Westin Tampa Bay

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Westin Tampa Bay to your Saves list
Westin Tampa Bay
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7627 W Courtney Campbell Causeway, Tampa, FL 33607   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #47 of 159 Hotels in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Ordinary at best”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

I've stayed at this property multiple times. I am a SPG Platinum member and this is the only property that never has upgrades. The usual line of we are fully booked and it's a busy time of the year.
The executive lounge is small and it's offering is minimal and disappointing. The Aqua restaurant is the only restaurant on the property and is ordinary, also food is not served at the water/beach area overlooking outdoor restaurant area.
Only Tampa Bay hotel with no outdoor pool, only an indoor pool. There is also an indoor hot tub but it was not working when I tried it. The outdoor beach area is small for such a big hotel, lounge chairs are fully occupied and even some non-guest can drive up and use the beach area and lounge chairs (no hotel staff is there to check).
Their self-parking spaces are limited, and yes valet is offered but self is more convenient for in and out of the hotel.
There are two elevators and the third is around the corner and does not have a floor display so your luck to wait for either elevators bays.
Positive items include Starbucks in the lobby, a small retail store for quick beverages in the lobby and a quick check-in process.

I would rate this a 4 star property at best.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westintampabaygm, General Manager at Westin Tampa Bay, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Allow me this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to share both your compliments and concerns regarding your recent visit with us. It is great to hear that you enjoyed and appreciated certain aspects of your stay. However it appears that we fell short in some others. Those areas have been addressed and thanks to your feedback we will be able to make the necessary corrections. Although we strive to be perfect in every aspect of our goal to provide personal and instinctive service for every guest there are times when do not meet all expectations. Please accept my apologies for any area where you may have been underwhelmed and hopefully you will give us another chance.
Be well,
Ron
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

467 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    141
    53
    24
    30
See reviews for
87
125
35
151
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Level Contributor
154 reviews
150 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

I got to copy this shower design. Someone actually spent time putting the heavenly shower in a tile enclosure that has very nice design. Ok beyond the shower, the room was standard Westin and comfortable. The room and shower where clean. Staff at the front desk were helpful and friendly. Amble parking out front for those prefer to park it yourself. Valet is available. Right on the bay with a beach. Will stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westintampabaygm, General Manager at Westin Tampa Bay, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Please allow me this opportunity to say thank you for your loyalty and for taking the time out of your schedule to share your recent experience at The Westin Tampa Bay. We all appreciate your kind words and high rating! Of course it pleases the entire Staff to read your comments and it is even more pleasing to know that we were able to provide you with the level of service which you have come to expect from Westin Hotels and Resorts. We look forward to providing you with personal and instinctive service again soon.
Be well,
Ron
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, FL
Level Contributor
62 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014 via mobile

As a business traveler, I love staying here! Carlos and Heather at the front desk always greet me by name, and know which room I prefer. It's the perfect place to unwind, overlooking the waters of Tampa Bay! Westin has great beds, great linens which make for a great nights sleep. Another plus is the Aqua restaurant - not your typical hotel food.. Fabulous! My favorite Starwood property in Florida!

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
143 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

Located a few minutes by car from the airport, this hotel sits on the Bay front with vast wonderful waterviews and its own private beach. This feels more like a resort hotel with a nice bar area that opens to the outdoor sitting area and restaurant with bay views.
The restaurant serves up a very interesting menu and what location is complete without a Starbucks. Within walking distance are some outdoor restaurant and drinking areas including Bahama Breeze and multiple other hotels with facilities.
The rooms are beautiful and the property still has that new built feel, while the hotel Club Lounge offers stunning views over the surrounding waterfront and was a great place to get some work done. The food was nice and the the staff in the Club was fantastic. The airport was a 5 minute drive...The International Mall and some of the Cities best restaurants within 7 - 10 minutes drive.

Room Tip: Upper Floors towards the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westintampabaygm, General Manager at Westin Tampa Bay, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
KahRou W,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience. Your kind words and gracious score are greatly appreciated and have been shared with our entire team. Comments such as yours provide additional inspiration to all of our Associates and certainly make us all happy to know that our efforts have paid off. Providing you with the rest and rejuvenation that you are entitled to is our goal and we hope that you will be back to visit us in the very near future.
Stay well,
Ron
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeLand, Florida
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

This hotel located on a causeway has great water views on its east side. The decor is contemporary but already showing some wear and the finishes may look high end but aren't as evidenced by doors that won't shut lack of sheers behind the drapes , not quite comfy bed, etc . Hvac worked well though and the large floor to ceiling window was nice. View of the terrace with one lone tiny table and sad potted plants was a distraction . We stayed one night in a suite on the 9th floor. Personnel were very friendly and service w as quite good. Toiletries were a bit above average. We had a complimentary breakfast with our package in the Aqua Grill. Eggs benedict was nicely done. Good coffee. There's a Starbucks, pool and workout room on site. There are concierge levels I did not see and many meeting rooms. To earn another star they'll have to paint the marks on walls, fix the wrinkled carpets and tears in the upholstery , up the towels and mattress top,and use better toiletries. Decorating that patio would help too.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westintampabaygm, General Manager at Westin Tampa Bay, responded to this review, April 12, 2014
Luxurytraveler100,

Allow me this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to share both your compliments and concerns regarding your recent visit with us. It is great to hear that you enjoyed and appreciated certain aspects of your stay. However it appears that we fell short in some others. Those areas have been addressed and thanks to your feedback we will be able to make the necessary corrections. Although we strive to be perfect in every aspect of our goal to provide personal and instinctive service for every guest there are times when do not meet all expectations. Please accept my apologies for any area where you may have been underwhelmed and hopefully you will give us another chance.
Be well,
Ron
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
153 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

This hotel has everything you want. Great location and nice views of the bay. Valet service is available. Check in was so easy. Starbucks and a great restaurant called Aqua is located in the lobby. Give the cocktails and raw bar a try. You can rent a boat or jet ski for some fun in the bay. A heated swimming pool and fitness center is available on the lobby level.

The room is very nice, comfy, and stylish. The bathroom has a standing shower with a great shower head that feels like a strong rain shower. The bed was so comfy and there are snack and drinks available in the fridge.

The staff here was very helpful and friendly. I will definately be staying here again next im in town.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westintampabaygm, General Manager at Westin Tampa Bay, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Hello Mike M,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience. Your kind words and gracious score of 5 out of 5 are greatly appreciated and have been shared with our entire team. Comments such as yours provide additional inspiration to all of our Associates and certainly make us all happy to know that our efforts have paid off. Providing you with the rest and rejuvenation that you are entitled to is our goal and we hope that you will be back to visit us in the very near future.
Stay well,
Ron
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

This has to have been the worst hotel stay ever in a Westin !
For startes the so called Jr. Suite was nothing more than a room with a couch on the lowest floor of the hotel. Then no safe in the room, took an act of congress & extensive complaints to have one put in the room (where it was supposed to have been) then the handset on the phone never worked despite it being "fixed". Last but worst of all, the room was not cleaned A SINGLE DAY OUT OF OUR 4 DAY STAY until we complained to the hotel manager who then tried to imply we had left the Do Not Disturb sign on the door, which of course we did not ! After numerous complaints the mgr broke down & gave us a big $100 credit of a $1200 bill, whopty.
In any event, do urself a favor & go elsewhere when in Tampa !!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westintampabaygm, General Manager at Westin Tampa Bay, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
GA Biker,
Thank you for taking the time to make us aware of your recent and less than pleasant stay, I would like to sincerely apologize for our shortcomings and I can honestly assure you that based upon your feedback, steps have been taken to guarantee there will not be a repeat experience as the one you encountered. We are also sorry that you did not like being on the 8th floor of the hotel. I would like to explain the compensation provided. When discussing the issues you encountered with your wife the day before your checkout, she was very happy with the compensation we offered, so I am sorry to hear that is not now the case. None the less, it is only through comments such as yours that we are able to continue to improve until we achieve our goal of 100% satisfaction for every guest every time. Thank you again and I hope that you will consider giving us another chance to prove ourselves.
Stay well,
Scott
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Westin Tampa Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Tampa Bay

Address: 7627 W Courtney Campbell Causeway, Tampa, FL 33607
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Tampa
#7 Luxury Hotel in Tampa
#31 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#34 Business Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Tampa Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Tampa Bay on Rocky Point Island, this airport hotel's waterfront location offers both incredible bay views and easy access to the area's attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Westin Tampa Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Tampa Bay Hotel Tampa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westin Tampa Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.