We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel, Nice Location - But Avoid the Cave” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Westin Tampa Bay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Westin Tampa Bay to your Saves list
Westin Tampa Bay
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7627 W Courtney Campbell Causeway, Tampa, FL 33607   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #47 of 159 Hotels in Tampa
Orlando, Florida
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel, Nice Location - But Avoid the Cave”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

First time staying at this hotel. Need to first say that I stayed using Starwood points; so it was free...usually you can't beat free. First the good; this hotel is out in the bay...so water views (assuming you have a view - more about that below) on all sides. There's a Starbucks off the lobby and the hotel has a nice Bar as well. The rooms are Westin nice...although my wife complained that the bed was too hard to be called a "Westin Heavenly Bed". The room itself was standard, clean, nice TV, etc.. Near the elevator - but still quiet. The one thing....and the main reason for the 3 (versus a 4) rating was the "window/view" in the room (room 812 - see the attached picture). One of the smallest windows I've ever seen in a hotel room - and I travel all the time for work. Ironically....I guess that's the word...the hotel has a curtain covering all of the blank wall....when we first walked into the room, I actually thought the window was much larger and just covered by the curtain....which, I guess is the idea. What a shame, given the potential views of the ocean/city. I probably shouldn't complain...at least there was a window and, since we were on the 8th floor - there was no view of a dumpster. Plus, I did mention it was free.

Room Tip: Don't get excited when you get a room on the 8th floor...it's essentially the floor above th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    125
    44
    20
    28
See reviews for
81
107
35
130
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Coast, USA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

My husband and I stopped for the night on our way overseas. We arrived late and got the free shuttle to the hotel at 11:00 pm. The front desk was super helpful, room service was available and friendly, the beds were comfy ( as usual). I had a few quibbles in the morning with the restaurant hostess who insisted I couldn't order breakfast but had to eat their (2 star) breakfast buffet. But when I went to the front desk asking for a restaurant recommendation for breakfast, the front desk person marched back to the restaurant and arranged to get me fabulous service AND a fabulous meal. She made my morning and I was thrilled at the outcome. The concierge also printed all my boarding passes without a fuss and we hopped the free shuttle back to the airport.

Altogether an pleasant and uneventfully stay, the way it should be.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that does NOT overlook the noisy causeway if you want peace and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

First class service right from the beginning. I hadn't been in Tampa in awhile and the Front Desk person was very helpful in recommending a local restaurant. Immediately surprised at the reasonable parking rate of only $5. I had just paid $25 at another hotel in Orlando. The room was fine. The bed was great. I had a drink outside the bar overlooking the water. Really nice.
Worked out in the gym in the morning. While not fancy it was fine. (Only downside no free weights.) Went to their in-house Starbucks before leaving. Again, good service. I definitely will be staying at this hotel in the future.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kissimmee
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

If you are planning on booking a stay at this hotel DO NOT book through there site, they are a complete rip off.
First of all I went to there site, put in the information (dates,how many adults/kids) it directs you to a page for booking, the first result was fine 2 double beds, so continued to book and booking was made. The next morning not even 12 hours later my son falls ill, I call them immediately and ask if i can change the date, I was told no as this rate is a fixed rate and non refundable - the person on the phone told me A Special rate, this is not correct i am a FL resident and that rate is $ 20 less and you can change/cancel at any time without any penalty. Since our stay was not for another 3 days I thought we may be able to go if my son gets better but no my other two children and husband got sick.. I gave them notice and begged and pleaded even to just change the date the answer is no, funny I received an email stating that the website is confusing and it lists the non refundable one first, why would I want that first I would rather pay more and be able to cancel/change than to pay less and something happens where me and my family are not able to go. This Place is A BIG BIG rip off, it is so unethical that they can do this I will NEVER book a stay, I understand they may of held the room, but I called no more than 12 hours just to change it, so now they are up $200.00 its robbery.. go stay somewhere else because god forbid you or a family member falls ill they will just pocket the money... SCAMMERS

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

Went to Tampa for a work trip and ended up staying here.

Great location, close to the airport but still in a fairly quiet area and about 25 mins from Clearwater Beach.

Starbucks onsite was super nice to have.

The private beach was great.

Rooms were clean.

I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room as high up as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

My husband and I stayed 2 nights for Valentines Day. The Club Level is on the 15 floor. Its private, you need to put your room key in the elevator to get to that floor. There is a private area for breakfast (continental) and a light snack every evening. Great location near Bahama Breeze and close to the airport. There is a resturante called Aqua we ordered room service from there and it has a great menu, the burger was great, the fries were so-so.

The indoor hot tub is very small and not a lot of seating, so its more for a quick workout swim or just relaxing in the hot tub. The gym was getting all new equipment and it is very spacious.

There is a small beach and some jet skis for rent. It was cool and rainy so we did not see how much it was. There is a nice fire pit outside by the beach as well.

This was my first stay with Starwood Hotel properties. I just loved the Westin. I am usually a Marriott customer, but this hotel had a great rate and deal for Valentines Day and we thought we would give them a try, so glad we did. The service is amazing. Doormen always there to greet you and open the door. Stay here if you get the chance, you will not regret it,

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westintampabaygm, General Manager at Westin Tampa Bay, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Hello alisa,

Thank you for taking the time to share your pleasant thoughts regardarding your recent stay with us. They have been shared with our entire team and provided more inspiration than you could imagine. It is feedback such as yours which that makes what we do every day all that much more rewarding!!!

Stay well,
Ron
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

The rooms were very clean and the amenities were perfect. Service was pleasurable with a smile. centrally located. Starbucks and the restaurant were a nice addition. Would definately stay again. 10 out if 10!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westintampabaygm, General Manager at Westin Tampa Bay, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Hello megthompson58,
Your extra-nice compliments are very much appreciated and have been shared with all of the appropriate staff members. They too asked me to share their gratitude for your kind words and your 10 out of 10 rating. We look forward to serving you again very soon and hope that we can exceed your expectations once again!!
Be well,
Ron
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Westin Tampa Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Tampa Bay

Address: 7627 W Courtney Campbell Causeway, Tampa, FL 33607
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Tampa
#7 Luxury Hotel in Tampa
#31 Business Hotel in Tampa
#32 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Tampa Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Tampa Bay on Rocky Point Island, this airport hotel's waterfront location offers both incredible bay views and easy access to the area's attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Starwood, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Westin Tampa Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Tampa Bay Hotel Tampa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westin Tampa Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.